Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Michelin Protek 26 Inch Tire

MichelinProtek 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(9)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(23%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great all around tire - pavement - pathways - dirt
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Rocky Mountain foothills
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

We ride on combinations of street, crusher paths and some dirt. These tires are high pressure so they roll fast on the street. The tread works well in dirt and on crusher fines. The reflective stripe on the sides is a nice touch. We've had the tires for a few months and so far, they ride great with no signs of wear. Very happy with this tire. Would choose it again.

Reviewed 7/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires for any type of surface.
rating
by DCrides
Cycling Enthusiast
Aston, PA

I put these tires on my touring bike so that I'd have a wider tire to ride the Erie Canal from Buffalo to Albany. We rode it last week, at times in really bad downpours and the tires didn't let me down. We rode on paved trails, packed gravel, some not so packed gravel, dirt, mud and good & bad roads. I rode with a loaded front handlebar bag and a combo back truck bag with side panniers. Not so much as one flat. I definitely recommend these tires.

Reviewed 8/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Versatility
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Chesapeake, VA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire! Bought a pair for an old Bridgestone City Bike, low rolling resistance and a smooth ride, enough tread and durability for dirt and gravel trails.

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth with grip
rating
by The Golfnut
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest Canada
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced 1.95 Kenda Knobbies with the 1.85 Protek on my Giant MTB. What a difference in comfort , speed , & little rolling resistance. Very quiet in comparison . I'm 79 & I am done with off road trekking. I ride 15-20 KMS per day mostly on hard top , light gravel paths. These tires are good quality at a great price.

I don't sound like a siren driving down the road anymore. These tires are not as fast as my Trek Domane 700 x 32mm tires but just as smooth !! Love them.

Reviewed 4/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
amazing
rating
by Jeff Volk
Gwynedd Valley, PA

although these tires dont appear to be well-suited to touring (slickish tread), they really proved themselves on a recent 3-month cycling trip in Brazil on all surfaces: asphalt, gravel, dirt and even sand roads, Very satisfied, Very durable and puncture-resistant Highly recommended for price to quality ratio.

Reviewed 5/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice road tire for mountain bike
rating
by Dana
Missoula MT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are nice. Low rolling resistance and comfortable ride. I ride knobbys in the winter and these the rest of the year around town on my old mountain bike. The reflective stripe is a plus.

Reviewed 3/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great urban and trail tire
rating
by GrixG
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid-Hudson Valley
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I put Protek 1.85 tires on my go-to bike, a 1983 Trek 850 Rough Terrain bicycle. That bicycle has been with me consistently since '83 though another 20 bicycles have come and gone since I bought it new. This bike has been used for single track, multi-use trails, bush whacking, around town and on 3,100 mile self supported tour. I've worn out a lot of tires on this bike (as well many other components!). I also have special purpose tires for the bike for bush whacking and riding on ice (Schwalbe Ice Spikers). Through all of that I've found that these Protek tires have proven to be the most versatile, comfortable, and safest tires I've used in urban, rural and rough rail trail conditions. Gone for me are the days when riding tubulars was the way to go!

Reviewed 10/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smoother & are quieter than my old Kenda knobbies, but...
rating
by JafC
Casual Cyclist
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased these to replace the old Kenda 26-inch tires that were on my old mountain bike.

Wanted something that would give a more comfortable ride & were not as noisy.

They definitely ride smoother & are quieter than the old Kenda knobbies, BUT have more rolling resistance and are slower. Think that this is from more rubber on the road.

Fortunately this is not my primary bike, so the mountain bike w/ thees Michelins will be just fine for the 3 mile ride to my local gym...guessing that now I'll arrive thoroughly warmed up.

Reviewed 10/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride smoother & are quieter than my old Kenda knobbies, BUT...
rating
by JafBiker
Casual Cyclist
NYC
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased these to replace the old Kenda K-831 26-inch tires that were on my old mountain bike.

Wanted something that would give a more comfortable ride & were not as noisy.

They definitely ride smoother & are quieter than the old Kenda knobbies, BUT have more rolling resistance and are slower. Think that this is a function of more rubber on the road.

Fortunately this is not my primary bike, so the mountain bike w/ the Michelin Proteks will be just fine for the 3 mile ride to my local gym...guessing that now I'll arrive thoroughly warmed up.

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect cross between road & mountain
rating
by veloface

Replaced original tires on a specialized vita, and had a hard time finding just the right tread configuration & price. These were a good choice - the ride is more confident, and they look great as well.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Robust road comuter !
rating
by frankfx
Daily Commuter
San Francisco Bay Area
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
I put these tires on my old Schwinn High Sierra (34 year old) that I use exclusively for commuting. The bike is 30 pounds and has rear bags. The tire are not light, but they are tough and smooth rolling.They are very resistant to puncture and very quiet.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality Product
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
san juan capistrano

smooth riding tires

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quiet and low resistance
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride on both paved and dirt bike paths. These tires work great for me. Higher pressure really lowers rolling resistance. I would not use these for mountain biking of course. But for trekking over hill and dale these are perfect.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
awesome tire
rating
by williemakeit
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento,Ca
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Smooth ride , great rolling resistance , no flats ,works great. 4 stars on value rating because we all know everything is way to expensive.

Reviewed 2/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
rating
by Lngbrd55
Casual Cyclist
s.c.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Quite ,fast rolling, looks good

Reviewed 2/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good city tire
rating
by PW Mike
Long Island

26x1.85. They look great. They have a nice soft compound. Good grip on pavement and absorbs bumps and potholes nicely. Well made and precision. Not a lot of Rolling resistance. The cons are they are terrible on loose gravel and they are Really heavy. I like them For city but not so much for suburban riding. I would get 26x1.40 for that. I bet those are great.

Reviewed 7/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Turn your beach cruiser into something almost as fast as a road bike without sacrificing comfort
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Most of the time the original equipment tires that come with cruiser-style bikes, or any 26 tire bike, are JUNK. Replacing the stock tires with something like these makes a massive difference when it comes to cycling efficiency. These tires can take a higher PSI compared to stock cruiser tires. I took a chance on these since I couldn't afford Schwalbe tires - I got lucky! I think these tires have been replaced with Protek Cross.

Reviewed 4/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these
rating
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tires. Smooth roll, durable and stable.

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tire, smooth running
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
upstate New York

This tire performs better with a seemingly lower rolling resistance than my previous tire.

Easy fit on my rear wheel.

Reviewed 9/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice grip.
rating
by Mike M
Eugene
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The Protek has good roll while having great grip. Feels like a larger tire as far as feeling protected goes.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page