FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Michelin Protek 26 Inch Tire

MichelinProtek 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(8)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(25%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great all around tire - pavement - pathways - dirt
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Rocky Mountain foothills
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

We ride on combinations of street, crusher paths and some dirt. These tires are high pressure so they roll fast on the street. The tread works well in dirt and on crusher fines. The reflective stripe on the sides is a nice touch. We've had the tires for a few months and so far, they ride great with no signs of wear. Very happy with this tire. Would choose it again.

Reviewed 7/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires for any type of surface.
rating
by DCrides
Cycling Enthusiast
Aston, PA

I put these tires on my touring bike so that I'd have a wider tire to ride the Erie Canal from Buffalo to Albany. We rode it last week, at times in really bad downpours and the tires didn't let me down. We rode on paved trails, packed gravel, some not so packed gravel, dirt, mud and good & bad roads. I rode with a loaded front handlebar bag and a combo back truck bag with side panniers. Not so much as one flat. I definitely recommend these tires.

Reviewed 8/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Versatility
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Chesapeake, VA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire! Bought a pair for an old Bridgestone City Bike, low rolling resistance and a smooth ride, enough tread and durability for dirt and gravel trails.

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smoother & are quieter than my old Kenda knobbies, but...
rating
by JafC
Casual Cyclist

Purchased these to replace the old Kenda 26-inch tires that were on my old mountain bike.

Wanted something that would give a more comfortable ride & were not as noisy.

They definitely ride smoother & are quieter than the old Kenda knobbies, BUT have more rolling resistance and are slower. Think that this is from more rubber on the road.

Fortunately this is not my primary bike, so the mountain bike w/ thees Michelins will be just fine for the 3 mile ride to my local gym...guessing that now I'll arrive thoroughly warmed up.

Reviewed 10/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quiet and low resistance
rating
by Anonymous

I ride on both paved and dirt bike paths. These tires work great for me. Higher pressure really lowers rolling resistance. I would not use these for mountain biking of course. But for trekking over hill and dale these are perfect.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride smoother & are quieter than my old Kenda knobbies, BUT...
rating
by JafBiker
Casual Cyclist
NYC

Purchased these to replace the old Kenda K-831 26-inch tires that were on my old mountain bike.

Wanted something that would give a more comfortable ride & were not as noisy.

They definitely ride smoother & are quieter than the old Kenda knobbies, BUT have more rolling resistance and are slower. Think that this is a function of more rubber on the road.

Fortunately this is not my primary bike, so the mountain bike w/ the Michelin Proteks will be just fine for the 3 mile ride to my local gym...guessing that now I'll arrive thoroughly warmed up.

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tire, smooth running
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
upstate New York

This tire performs better with a seemingly lower rolling resistance than my previous tire.

Easy fit on my rear wheel.

Reviewed 9/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great urban and trail tire
rating
by GrixG
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid-Hudson Valley
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I put Protek 1.85 tires on my go-to bike, a 1983 Trek 850 Rough Terrain bicycle. That bicycle has been with me consistently since '83 though another 20 bicycles have come and gone since I bought it new. This bike has been used for single track, multi-use trails, bush whacking, around town and on 3,100 mile self supported tour. I've worn out a lot of tires on this bike (as well many other components!). I also have special purpose tires for the bike for bush whacking and riding on ice (Schwalbe Ice Spikers). Through all of that I've found that these Protek tires have proven to be the most versatile, comfortable, and safest tires I've used in urban, rural and rough rail trail conditions. Gone for me are the days when riding tubulars was the way to go!

Reviewed 10/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Robust road comuter !
rating
by frankfx
Daily Commuter
San Francisco Bay Area
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
I put these tires on my old Schwinn High Sierra (34 year old) that I use exclusively for commuting. The bike is 30 pounds and has rear bags. The tire are not light, but they are tough and smooth rolling.They are very resistant to puncture and very quiet.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good city tire
rating
by PW Mike
Long Island

26x1.85. They look great. They have a nice soft compound. Good grip on pavement and absorbs bumps and potholes nicely. Well made and precision. Not a lot of Rolling resistance. The cons are they are terrible on loose gravel and they are Really heavy. I like them For city but not so much for suburban riding. I would get 26x1.40 for that. I bet those are great.

Reviewed 7/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great pair of tires
rating
by Anonymous

I got these tires to transform my old MTB into a City bike, and they are just great. My MtB behaves like an actual rodie bike.

Reviewed 8/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Turn your beach cruiser into something almost as fast as a road bike without sacrificing comfort
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Most of the time the original equipment tires that come with cruiser-style bikes, or any 26 tire bike, are JUNK. Replacing the stock tires with something like these makes a massive difference when it comes to cycling efficiency. These tires can take a higher PSI compared to stock cruiser tires. I took a chance on these since I couldn't afford Schwalbe tires - I got lucky! I think these tires have been replaced with Protek Cross.

Reviewed 4/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very secure,stable and smooth ride
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Put these on a 1997 Gary Fisher Marlin....hardtail!....were very difficult to get on the Weinman 519 rims...needed to use a lot of tire lube to install. Once on, they rode like a dream...very stable in turns and on all but the very loose stuff....great bike pathpavement tire. They ride the best at very high pressure, near max about 80-85 psi. Excellent wet weather tire. could not ask for anything better...fantastic tire for the money.

Reviewed 8/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice grip.
rating
by Mike M
Eugene
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The Protek has good roll while having great grip. Feels like a larger tire as far as feeling protected goes.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice smooth ride with 55-65 psi
rating
by JET
Casual Cyclist
Chicagoland, IL
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I went from mountain tires to these & I'm glad I did. I mainly ride on roads so, I don't know about grip on trails.

That being said, the 55-65 psi seems top me to be the best compromise of rolling resistance vs smooth ride.

My friend was amazed on how illuminating the reflective part of the tires were. For me, these tires are great.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are a best buy for the cost
rating
by Api
Casual Cyclist
Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Is this a 5 star tire? No. Is this a 5 star value? Absolutely! Don't misunderstand, this is a very good tire. It features low rolling resistance and some puncture resistance. I would buy these all day as an all around best buy if you're just looking for something for casual riding. Not sure about long term durability or professional use? Maybe. I was very impressed. Smooth riding on pavement, even took these on a 30 mile ride on gravely fire road. They dont grab the loose road but they roll over it well and didn't feel loose. If that road were wet, I would have been S O L, but they held up well the low rolling resistance makes the riding much better. This is a great buy.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good!
rating
by Duane
Leaf Ms
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

As far as the source, Tires were delivered on time, packaged well, and cost effective...

And so far so good on the quality...What I liked especially about the Michelin Protek is how easy it was to setcenter the bead when installing, they fit so well that they basically centered themselves when adding the air and it seems to easily handle the 87 Lb max air pressure because of the very strong tire beads...It holds up my 250 lb frame easily and seems to have VERY LOW rolling resistance on my Trek Navigator aired all the way up....Only time will tell on the puncture resistance but So Far they seem to be a very well made tire for the price......Now time to put on the miles and really test them out.....

Reviewed 3/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
attractive with narrow white wall
rating
by bike foe exercise
Casual Cyclist
north Mississippi
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Installed on mtn bike, ride rough asphalt and some gravel road. Seem stable and good ride, feel safe

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Michelin protek 26
rating
by Anonymous
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire great service great price

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very smooth ride
rating
by rullborn
Casual Cyclist
austin, tx
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

after mtb tires on my bike these tires are like a cloud. so smooth and easy to pedal. the mtb tires wore me out, a real struggle. i mainly ride on cement and smooth grass and these tires are perfect for both and the price can not be beat. also has reflective white stripe around tires for night safety. a great deal all round.

Reviewed 12/19/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page