FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Michelin Power Protection Plus Tire

MichelinPower Protection Plus Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(50%)
(25%)
(13%)
(13%)
(0%)
Bulletproof so far
rating
by jonj
Cycling Enthusiast
Brenham, TX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced Conti 4 Seasons with these. Much quieter. Holds pavement well. About 400 miles thus far over rough pavement, country paved roads with lots of extra lose gravel on them, occasional sections (half mile to mile) of gravelcaliche. Holding up very well, no issues. No problems getting on my Zipp wheels. Like the block lettering as well. Running 23mm and possibly a bit harder than previous Vittoria tires, but they were not the same flat protection at all. Going to move up to 25mm after these wear out.

Reviewed 10/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Difficult to mount-would not enjoy changing this tire on the road if I got a flat.
rating
by Eyebike
Cycling Enthusiast
Mesa, AZ
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Will not order again-very difficult to mount on my 700 Velocity A-23 rim. It did not seat well either-I finally got it to seat properly by pumping the tire up to 160 PSI and let it set overnight-magically it was seated the next morning.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value, great flat protection
rating
by AZrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ

I'm coming from a set of Michelin Krylons which were great, but for some reason developed dry rot within a year. Guess they were old tires my LBS had on the shelf. Tires do expire!

Anyway, these tires roll well, don't have excessive noise (looking at you Gatorskins), and weren't that hard to mount (I did it without tools). I have put a little over 1,000 miles on them and had one flat but it was a huge staple. The road hazards in central Arizona are legendary and these tires are doing great. I'd strongly recommend them.

I didn't give 5 stars due to the tread pattern. After a few hundred miles they are basically slicks. I like a little bit of tread in case the road is wet. However in the few chances I've been on wet roads they stick fine.

Reviewed 12/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Until Michelin again evolves their tire line, these are my commuting choice
rating
by Mike N
Daily Commuter
Arlington VA

I commute about 20 miles round trip weekdays - I don't track miles closely but I have more than 1,000 miles on the set of these I bought (25 mm). As others have written, I found them more difficult than previous Michelins with Kevlar bead to get on the rims, which seemed an unpleasant surprise. However I have had one flat from a wire and getting the tire off and on after some use was not that bad - not as difficult as I thought it might be.

I guess this isn't the endurance tire in this series - I too am tired of Michelin's evolution of the names they give these products - but nevertheless they seem to be wearing quite well. These come with some dimples just off center that are supposed to be wear indicators - if you can't find any of them, I guess, then that means it is time to get new tires! I have decided that they don't hurt anything and hey, per the dimples, I don't need new tires! Yay!

These are basically slick tires but there are some widely spaced lines that suggest tread - I don't understand what the point is of having this except as a design feature, and in the photos on this site you can't see them. I don't have a way of telling if these have more or less rolling resistance then the earlier Michelins - they seem fine.

Plus - durability seems excellent, and the price while not low is not bad for tires that last a long time.

Negative - initially difficult to get mounted on the bike.

Reviewed 11/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Difficulty in getting on rim detracts
rating
by Mike N
Daily Commuter
Arlington VA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these for my usual daily commuter bike, to replace some Michelin Krylion tires that I still had in my stash. (I have decided stashing tires for long periods of time after purchasing a bunch is not a good idea but that's a different problem.) The Krylion is now the Michelin ProRace 4 Endurance, I guess - I wish Michelin would stop changing up the names of these. Anyway, I got confused and thought the Endurance tires were being replaced by these Power tires.

I don't regret buying these too much since I expect them to last well enough, but as another reviewer wrote, I don't look forward to making a roadside tire change when one of these flats, they were not easy to get on the rim. This surprised me, since I have used various versions of Michelin 700 x 23 and 700 x 23 road clinchers since I started commuting on road bike going back to ProRace2 tires and I don't recall having this much trouble with any others. I would have thought they were wire beaded, but they came folded up, so that isn't the deal. Odd.

Reviewed 4/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Michelin Power Protection
rating
by Rick
NYC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tires on my NYC street riding Cannondale Caad12 Durace...I have the 700x28 with the Michelin a2 airstop tubes, which makes for a nice plush ride with much better grip !

They have been on for a whole season and not 1 flat !

I recommend these tires & tubes !!!

Reviewed 12/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Good tires
rating
by LPW
Cycling Enthusiast
Harrisburg, PA

So far they have been very good, cut resistance has been excellent compared to the Power Competition

Reviewed 10/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Tire
rating
by Anonymous
NYC
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Im a casual street rider & occasional velodrome rider in Queens,NY...I like these Michelins along with the Michelin tubes, nice grip confident riding and tubes hold pressure for days...

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.