FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Michelin Power Competition Tire

MichelinPower Competition Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(78%)
(9%)
(9%)
(0%)
(4%)
Great training and racing tire!
rating
by damselfly
Competitive Racer
Santa Fe, NM

I wanted to try these tires since they had strong reviews from others and the description of the tire sounded good. I already use the Pro 4's and love them but now I really love the Power tires. The real test for them was in a criterium that I recently raced in. Lining up for the crit to begin, rain started. However, as advertised, the tires had great grip around tight corners. I've also been very pleased with them in climbing. I can't comment on wear since there's only a few hundred miles on them, but it's really helpful to have the wear indicators on the tire.

Reviewed 10/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire... IF you are racing on smooth, well cared for pavement.
rating
by Sean
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have enjoyed training and racing on the Michelin Pro 4 Service Course in past seasons. I decided to treat myself to a set of the new Power Comps for my spring target race. I wish I had done a recon ride. The pavement condition was sketchy at best. The Power Competitions have very thin sidewalls. I cut a sidewall at some point during the race and it finally exploded one mile before the finish. Ultimately, I fault myself for not using the right tire (but I will forever HATE this tire). I not sure they actually felt all that great. They are light, but not super light. Traction was fine, but nothing spectacular. And yeah, the sidewalls are an issue unless you are racing them (and only racing) on really nice pavement. I'm back on Conti GP 4000 2S. I will say that WBW was phenominal. They refunded my purchase of the used (unpunctured) tire. Seriously great service always!

Reviewed 5/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy
rating
by Anonymous
WPB, Florida
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Reasonably quick and they look cool.

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No issues - seems like a great tire
rating
by Tony from Philly
Cycling Enthusiast
Phila. PA

250 miles a lot on marginal roads. No flats no issues. Seems fast, durable and no problem mounting the tire. Will get more

Reviewed 8/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I tried
rating
by Anonymous
portland, or
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Decided to break out of my usual yearly gp4000 order and am writing this stranded after about 200 miles on the tires (had two tubes). They are fast, feel great around corners but are not strong enough for where I ride it seems. Recommend for smooth pavement. Will probably keep the fronts on but order another continental for the rear.

Reviewed 7/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast and grippy tires!
rating
by ryan_m
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas

These tires roll nice and quick. If you read some of the rolling resistance tests they are among the fastest rolling tires available. They are also incredibly grippy. On a hot day the rubber is noticeably stickier than Continental GP4000's. They hold extremely well in turns and are not prone to skidding when you get a bit over aggressive on the brakes. I was a bit concerned about flats with them, but have ridden over 1000 miles on them now and have not had any problem with getting flats like I thought I might. I was also a bit concerned about durability given the stickiness of them, but there again I was surprised. With 1000 miles on them now I still have about 12 of the wear left according to the wear indicator. Overall very pleased with these tires.

Reviewed 10/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast and grippy tires!
rating
by ryan_m
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas

These tires roll nice and quick. If you read some of the rolling resistance tests they are among the fastest rolling tires available. They are also incredibly grippy. On a hot day the rubber is noticeably stickier than Continental GP4000's. They hold extremely well in turns and are not prone to skidding when you get a bit over aggressive on the brakes. I was a bit concerned about flats with them, but have ridden over 1000 miles on them now and have not had any problem with getting flats like I thought I might. I was also a bit concerned about durability given the stickiness of them, but there again I was surprised. With 1000 miles on them now I still have about 12 of the wear left according to the wear indicator. Overall very pleased with these tires.

Reviewed 10/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MELBOURNE, FL

Fast, turns well, tougher than I thought for a light race day like tire. Works well with latex tubes. Feels close to my tubulars.

Reviewed 10/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Compared to the Pro 4 the Power competition are amazingly faster with far less flats
rating
by Bill K
Cycling Enthusiast
Bluffton SC
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

At 70 I'm not racing anymore, but still do some fast group rides, I have been using Michelin tires for 20 years

These Power competition tires are fast, they help me hang on with less rolling resistance , a must have for anyone wishing to ride faster.

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love how they feel on the road
rating
by D Soul er man Bikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Great State of NJ

These tires are very supple and give great confidence when descending. They are very smooth in a straight line. However the do wear quickly, this set was bought in middle of June and they are starting to show signs of dry rot.

You may have to replace these MPCT at least once a year. The flat protection seems go away after 2000 miles.

As you know there will always be a give and take when you buy high performance products.

Good Luck

Reviewed 8/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great wearing tire, handles well
rating
by Scott
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC

Another good tire in a long line of quality Michelin products. I've gotten good wear out of the Power Competition tire. And, it handles well. I've been using the Pro Series for the past 12 years, they always handle better than a harder tire, and this model seems to wear better.

Reviewed 7/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast Rubber
rating
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I run these on my TT bike only. Was riding Specialized S-Works Turbos. Tried these last fall and set some new PRs. Was it the tires? Dunno, but now my brain thinks it was, so they are staying on. And a decent value when you can catch them on sale.

Reviewed 7/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't recommend these
rating
by krbish
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
11 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

The day after I ordered these tires, one of my riding buddies told me he had two sidewall cut incidents in a single week while running the Power Comps. Thinking (hoping) that was just bad luck, I installed mine and was really pleased (smooth, fast, great cornering) but then, 10 days later-you guessed it-I flatted and upon further inspection discovered a 1.5-inch cut in the sidewall. Three (irreparable) sidewall cuts in 3 weeks by two different riders tells me something's wrong with these tires. I can't recommend them.

Reviewed 7/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire, less effort to produce higher speeds
rating
by plang
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Used PRO Race 4 in past, this tire definite improvement.

Reviewed 8/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
rating
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle

Love these tires! I have used all early versions of the pro race series and the competition is by far the best. I used to think the Vittoria open Corsa was the fastest feeling tire but I way the competition rolls better...and it is super smooth. I have athese in a 25c on Enve 3.4 wheelset with a BMC TEAMMACHINE!

Reviewed 5/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Fast Tires
rating
by Burlem
brooklyn

These are great race tires!

Reviewed 5/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The new Michelin Power Compettion Tire 700x25
rating
by Bill K
Cycling Enthusiast
Bluffton SC & Savannah Ga
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Used one week approx 185 miles in fast group rides plus recovery days, there light and fast you can really feel the difference in watt savings over the pro 4. there race tires so i don't expect super milage.

These tires rock so far helping a 70 guy keep up

Reviewed 8/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Little spendy, but speed increase is noticeable
rating
by Fast Felt
Cycling Enthusiast
MN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

For use on my Felt Z85. Original Felt tires lasted 1600 miles. I have 500 miles on the newer Michelin set now. Rear tire cutpunctured last night - first flat this year. Ordered another - because are just so much lighter and quicker accelerating..perhaps trade-off is puncture resistance. These are prolly meant for race only, no debris conditions...2100 mile on the bike this season so far - loving it. Next step, better wheelset.

Reviewed 8/19/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Michelins power comp tire
rating
by Edward johnson
cherry hill nj
1 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Been riding on these tires for close to eight years without failure truly a great product, fast and subtle

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Tires Are awesome
rating
by dsoleman
Cycling Enthusiast
Wayne NJ
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

No flats on bad jersey roads. The ride is supple not squishy.

Also makes the the tires make my Mavic Carbon wheels look nicer than the stock Mavic tires.

I have ridden them for about 400 miles.

Reviewed 10/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page