FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Michelin Country Rock 26 Inch Tire

MichelinCountry Rock 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(83 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(59)
(21)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(25%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great trail/street tires
rating
by Steve
Casual Cyclist
Prescott, Arizona
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I put these on my KHS Mountain bike that had Cheng Shin knobbies on it which were good too, but these are so much nicer in that they have way less drag, yet work great on dirt trails and hard surfaces. I am 62 and NOT a super aggressive rock-hopper, just nice Rails-To-Trails type riding with some street too. My old bones like the full suspension KHS bike and soft ride these tires deliever, just don't run the max 73 PSI, try 50-60 PSI. Great tires from a great source, Western Bike Works, they rock, so do the tires. Oh that's right, Country Rock, oh yeah!

Reviewed 12/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, low rolling resistance, good price, but soft compound can lead to flats.
rating
by Dave R.
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I used this tire on the rails-to-trails system, with crushed limestone surface.

The tire has very low rolling resistance, and has just a bit of bite on this surface, so perfect in those respects.

It's very flexible, and easy to install on the bike rims, without tools, which is great for fixing flats in the field.

Unfortunately the rubber is very soft and i got a cut in the main tread after perhaps 6 rides. Sharp rock ?

The cut was 12 wide and forced me to pitch the tire, while still new.

Never got a flat on this trail, in 3 years of riding there, prior to this.

That being said i've purchased a replacement for it.

They were on sale, which helped me make up my mind.

Have not installed it yet.

I purchased a more robust set of tires (harder thicker) while waiting for the replacement to come.

Dave

Reviewed 11/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Performs well on pavement and minor hard-pack
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Denver, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Used for around-town commuting, with occasional light trail use. Works great, rolls easy, all around good tire.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Roll much nicer than knobbies on asphalt.
rating
by Anonymous
Northern Minnesota
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My wife chose these to replace a pair of knobbies on her old mountain bike. Tbey showed up at our door in a timely manner. They were easy to mount. My wife is pleased with the way they roll on asphalt, very little rolling resistance. We spend most of our time on paved trails these days, but i think these will work well when we ride forestry roads and easy off road trails.

Reviewed 5/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth with great wet traction
rating
by DogFather
Cycling Enthusiast
Near Memphis
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

For what I got, I'm stunned at the low price. I replaced some old knobby tires on a MTB that I inherited and hated. Now I love it and I'm using it as a bad weathertouring bike for the days I don't want to risk using my road bike. I made four different enhancements to make the MTB a better street performer, but these tires have proven to be the 1 difference maker. I've taken them through some short patches of rough gravel and they handled it well. They obviously do well on wet grass, which they see a lot of. No problem cornering on pavement in the rain, I have a lot of confidence in them. Fully inflated they pose much lower rolling resistance than I had before, I've had no problem hitting 30mph, which is a big deal for me. Drop the pressure to 40 psi and you'll get a really soft, comfortable ride, if that's what you want.

Reviewed 8/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Perfect Commute Tire???????
rating
by Tommy (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
88 of 95 customers found this review helpful.

Best way to turn a mountain bike into a street bike. Fast rolling and great puncture resistance. Surprisingly high traction rubber and great tread. When commuting on asphalt gets monotonous, this tire is perfect for the trails on the long way home.

-The Country Rock Is Awesome-

Reviewed 5/8/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great All-purpose tire for the price
rating
by Joe
Casual Cyclist
Michigan and Florida

Replaced the original tires on my Schwinn Sierra with these tires a couple years ago. Immediately noticed a significant reduction in rolling resistance. No noticeable loss of traction in wet conditions, sand, etc. I added heavy-duty tubes about a year ago and have had no flats to date. I usually try to keep them inflated to around 65 psi and only need to re-inflate every three to four weeks. I would recommend these tires for anyone who needs a good all-around tire for a reasonable price.

Reviewed 4/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really great tires
rating
by Anonymous
Seattle WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires turned an old mountain bike into a super commuter.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Great Commute Tire
rating
by GerryQ
Daily Commuter
Rural North Idaho
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My wife uses these on her commute bike ('92 Bridgestone MB-2) riding mostly on pavement, but about a mile each day on gravel. She generally gets 4-6K on them if I rotate. Lately, I've just been replacing the rear when the tread gets thin enough to make broken glass an issue. Stan's No Tubes works really well even though these are not rated as tubeless.

For gnarly riding, we switch wheel sets to Richey off road rubber.

Reviewed 1/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1000 miles on em
rating
by Northern rider
Daily Commuter
Michigan
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have put 1000 miles on my Michelin CR's with excellent results in quality of ride and handling riding 5050 Dirt gravel asphalt concrete. They look and perform as brand new.

Reviewed 11/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great upgrade for old mountain bike
rating
by Paddlefoot
Casual Cyclist
Northern WI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced knobby tires with Country Rocks wife cannot believe improvement in ride and rolling distance

Reviewed 10/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire! Great price!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wash, DC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Low rolling resistance, handles pretty high pressure, grippy rubber. reasonably light, carefully made. What's not to like? The junker bike I ride to work just got a lot easier to pedal. For 50% of the original msrp, I'm not too worried about it if these tires don't last forever. As others have pointed out, they may not resist flats as well as a more expensive tire with a kevlar layer. I'll take that chance though as my rides are on pretty good roads and close to home.

I fully expected to buy Kenda Kwest 193s (which the local bike share uses, very good very tough tires!), but then I saw these, and I've never been disappointed by Michelins, so that's what I got.

No regrets!

Reviewed 3/1/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast, smooth and cost efficient.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are the perfect tires to change your mtb to a street ride.

Reviewed 2/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gives a mountain bike road manners
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Incredibly low rolling resistance compared to the old knobby tires, yet still provides enough traction on grass and soft dirt. At maximum PSI these tires do great on the road, at normal/average PSI they soften out the rough spots-take your pick. Sidewall is a little thin and flimsy, so I wouldn't recommend going much below 50 PSI, my tube got pinched on some rough gravel.

Reviewed 4/13/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The real deal for a right price!
rating
by thepiratemorgan
Casual Cyclist
Utica, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Changed out deep aggressive knobby tires on my wife's Cannondale for something a little less aggressive and considerably less rolling resistance so the gal doesn't have to pedal her behind off. Well, her bike isn't quite a hybrid quite yet! These work perfectly for sidewalk riding and some light trail use. I wouldn't have go down a single track with these, but if you need to turn that monster, ahhhhh..... mountain (LOL), bike into something a little less mountainy and a little more streety, then these will work well and are priced right. I'm considering adding them to my Gary Fisher Tassajara as I'm not riding as much dirt mud trails much these days either, but I don't mind the extra pedal power required for the knobs, I need the exercise...LOL.

Reviewed 4/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
rating
by franksj
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tires. Low rolling resistance, and very good traction on wet & dry pavement and dirt. Replaced a hybrid tire that was slick with side knobs. This is quieter, with better traction. With lower pressure a very comfortable ride. Couldn't be more pleased with this upgrade.

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rolls nicely. Decent grip during turns.
rating
by Metr4
Oklahoma
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

New tires for a 30 year old DiamondBack mountain bike. The ride is smooth. Grips nicely during turns. Off-path is ok but tread plugs quickly if muddy.

Reviewed 3/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Tire for City Street Riding
rating
by Tballance74
Casual Cyclist
Baltimore, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased a pair of these tires to replace some stock knobby tires on a full-size folding mountain bike that I use to commute to work. They make a huge difference in ride and comfort. Long lasting also. Will definitely buy another pair when it's time to replace the current pair.

Reviewed 11/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This tire delivers what it promises.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Willows,CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I needed a tire to hit the paved trails, open roads, and graveled roads that are common where I live. Bought a set and ended up buying a second set for my wife's bike since they worked out so well for me.

Reviewed 9/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Installed easily. A good quality tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Salt Lake City, UT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tire was easy to install on the rim and is a good quality tire for on-road and off-road use. So far, I've used it only for commuting about 25 miles tofrom work. I'm happy with the tire at this point!

Reviewed 9/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page