1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Michelin Country Rock 26 Inch Tire

MichelinCountry Rock 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(103 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(77)
(23)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(22%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great trail/street tires
rating
by Steve
Casual Cyclist
Prescott, Arizona
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I put these on my KHS Mountain bike that had Cheng Shin knobbies on it which were good too, but these are so much nicer in that they have way less drag, yet work great on dirt trails and hard surfaces. I am 62 and NOT a super aggressive rock-hopper, just nice Rails-To-Trails type riding with some street too. My old bones like the full suspension KHS bike and soft ride these tires deliever, just don't run the max 73 PSI, try 50-60 PSI. Great tires from a great source, Western Bike Works, they rock, so do the tires. Oh that's right, Country Rock, oh yeah!

Reviewed 12/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, low rolling resistance, good price, but soft compound can lead to flats.
rating
by Dave R.
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I used this tire on the rails-to-trails system, with crushed limestone surface.

The tire has very low rolling resistance, and has just a bit of bite on this surface, so perfect in those respects.

It's very flexible, and easy to install on the bike rims, without tools, which is great for fixing flats in the field.

Unfortunately the rubber is very soft and i got a cut in the main tread after perhaps 6 rides. Sharp rock ?

The cut was 12 wide and forced me to pitch the tire, while still new.

Never got a flat on this trail, in 3 years of riding there, prior to this.

That being said i've purchased a replacement for it.

They were on sale, which helped me make up my mind.

Have not installed it yet.

I purchased a more robust set of tires (harder thicker) while waiting for the replacement to come.

Dave

Reviewed 11/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome for Road and Dirt
rating
by Artie
Casual Cyclist
Auburn, CA

We ride on a mixture of asphalt and graveldirt and the Michelin Country Rock is perfect for both. I bought a pair for my son and my wife and then I changed out these on my vintage Bridgestone mountain bike too. These nice looking tires are a much smoother ride on asphalt (than with my old mtb knobby tires), with good grip in dirt and gravel. Great deal through Western Bike Works too!

Reviewed 11/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great choice for a gravel bike
rating
by JGee
Traverse City MI

Converted my rigid mountain bike to gravel / city use and I selected these. Roll really well and mount easily. Good quality and reasonable weight�and a great price! Highly recommended.

Reviewed 9/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuter
rating
by Shaun
palos verdes

My son uses these to bike to high school and around the neighborhood. They are lighter weight and a bit narrower than his old tires. He is riding packed gravel and paved roads. Great buy.

Reviewed 9/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good
rating
by Kilken
Louisiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Perfect tires for touring,pressurewise perfect threads for road and gravel and grass no surprises with losing traction while pulling gear on bike and attached Bob single wheel trailer,also long lasting no flats with Mr tuffy heavy duty tire liners,definitely my favorites.

Reviewed 7/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Perfect Commute Tire???????
rating
by Tommy (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
99 of 107 customers found this review helpful.

Best way to turn a mountain bike into a street bike. Fast rolling and great puncture resistance. Surprisingly high traction rubber and great tread. When commuting on asphalt gets monotonous, this tire is perfect for the trails on the long way home.

-The Country Rock Is Awesome-

Reviewed 5/8/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Second time I purchased these tires. Reccomend converting from nobby tires for road and off rd
rating
by Road Side Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased a second set of these tires when I replaced my Raleigh after the other bicycle was stolen. I ride a M60 for pavement and hard trails off road. M60 is no longer available but i found one that was nos. These tires are superior to keeping the knobby tires that come stock with the bike and others like it. I cannot add anything I don't like as the feed back instructions request. I am completely satisfied and i believe others would be too.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's a good tire for light duty dry or wet tarmac/grass/dusty stuff!
rating
by PeenerOneAlpha
Daily Commuter
Seattle

I prefer to use the WTB Gravel tires in the winter, but they were sold out and I tried these instead. My riding consists of wet and dry pavement, grass, and light dirty spots (single track, non-racing), and general city commutes. I'm impressed and have no complaints. I got a slightly wider tire to run lower pressure, and this thing really feels nice. It helps confidence in fast sections of my commute in the rain or slow places where I cross grassy wet fields.

Reviewed 2/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Flats
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Before getting these tires and matching Michelin C4 tubes I had two flats in two weeks. With these tires and tubes I've had no flats in 2,000 miles of bike trails, gravel, rocks, and occasional dirt.

I replaced 2.1" MTB tires. These are definitely better for the type of riding I do. The somewhat rounded 1.75" rides well on all surfaces. I haven't had any traction issues on gravel or damp asphalt. I'd like to try something similar in a 1.65" or maybe even a 1.5", but if you're on MTB tires and looking for something a bit more gravel/adventure-friendly, these tires are highly recommended.

Reviewed 10/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth with great wet traction
rating
by DogFather
Cycling Enthusiast
Near Memphis
28 of 28 customers found this review helpful.

For what I got, I'm stunned at the low price. I replaced some old knobby tires on a MTB that I inherited and hated. Now I love it and I'm using it as a bad weathertouring bike for the days I don't want to risk using my road bike. I made four different enhancements to make the MTB a better street performer, but these tires have proven to be the 1 difference maker. I've taken them through some short patches of rough gravel and they handled it well. They obviously do well on wet grass, which they see a lot of. No problem cornering on pavement in the rain, I have a lot of confidence in them. Fully inflated they pose much lower rolling resistance than I had before, I've had no problem hitting 30mph, which is a big deal for me. Drop the pressure to 40 psi and you'll get a really soft, comfortable ride, if that's what you want.

Reviewed 8/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Upgrade to my old MTB
rating
by Stereoman
Casual Cyclist
Rockaway Beach
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Really great replacement to the larger Cruiser type tires I had. These are much better, smoother, quieter, more comfortable and faster. Sounds crazy but these tires made a huge improvement. Using on concrete boardwalk and the street.

Reviewed 12/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires!
rating
by Kirk005
Daily Commuter
San Jose

Terrific price on a great general purpose tire. These were added to my Trek 990 Single Track (HT) to convert it to a gravel bike. Great option! They roll well, no flats, and can go pretty much everywhere. I really like them.

Reviewed 12/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are excellent multi purpose tires.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Appalachia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are great all purpose tires. Air them up higher for pavement. Lower pressure for gravel, and off road. These are great gravel tires. Fast, while still having great traction. These are the best bang for the buck tire I have used.

Reviewed 12/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Soft rubber, Fast Rolling, good grip
rating
by 80''s BMX
Texas

I replaced a set of 26"x 2.4" Radio tires off a 26" Radio Asura Dirt Jumper with a set of Michelin Country Rock Tires 26" x 1.75" I ride these on dirt jumps around berms and loose, powder dirt. Such a better tire. Good Job Michelin.

Reviewed 11/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very satisfied
rating
by Anonymous

excellent

Reviewed 1/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast rolling tire for pavement and hardpack
rating
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding these tires for over a year now, got them when I purchased a used steel frame rigid MTB from my local bike shop. These tires are fantastic! I run 60psi for the pavement and drop it down to 45psi for rougher dirt and gravel roads. They roll very easily on pavement, and are incredibly light compared to other 26x1.75 tires. Traction on hardpack dirt is great too. Handling starts to get sketchy in mud or wet sand though.

My only issue with these tires is the lack of puncture protection. The tread tends to pick up road debris in the grooves, and on several occasions I had a small piece of glass puncture the tire. A set of heavy duty tubes and a tire liner for the rear eliminated flats. Overall a great tire for using an old MTB as a commuter.

Reviewed 3/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent MTB upgrade
rating
by bruceweiser
Cycling Enthusiast
Rockaway Beach

Very significant upgrade to the cruiser tires on my MTB.

The bike rides like new, smoother, quieter and faster.

Reviewed 1/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for my old trek 930 singletrack
rating
by Old skcool rider
Lumberton NC

Smooth ride with good traction just a little noisy. Good deal all around

Reviewed 11/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really great tires
rating
by Anonymous
Seattle WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These tires turned an old mountain bike into a super commuter.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.