FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Maxxis Rambler Tubeless

MaxxisRambler Tubeless(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(0)
(71%)
(14%)
(0%)
(14%)
(0%)
Rolls smooth on pavement and good on gravel
rating
by Larry
Iowa

This tire was the easiest of any tubless tire i have tried.rolls great fast also good on iowa gravel. I would definitely recommend these

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires are great for gravel road
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use these tires on my gravel bike and they roll well on hardtop and grip well in dirt

Reviewed 12/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tire profile but too loose on 700c rim to run tubeless
rating
by Todd
SF Bay
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these as a gravel-specific tubless tire for my go-anywhere bike. They were a very loose fit onto a set of 700c Velocity Dyad rims that I've run tubeless for years. I couldn't get them to seat at all. I finally gave up and threw tubes in them for now. I like the tire profile and have ridden them over a variety of terrain. I'm really not happy that I can't run them tubeless.

Reviewed 9/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
rating
by Darren
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, OK
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires came spec'd on a gravelcross bike I recently bought. Put some serious gravel miles on them training for the Dirty Kanza 200. They are light, roll well on both pavement and gravel, and seat well when running them tubeless. I did have a pinch flat 67 miles into the 206 mile DK but I don't know that any tire would have held up to the big hit the rear tire took when I hit an expected wash out after bombing down a hill. Put a tube in and finished the race with no other tire issues. If I were to note any cons it would be the somewhat thin sidewalls, but that's a trade off I'll take for the weight savings on the tire. Bought a new tire from WBW at a great price to replace the rear tire that I just couldn't get to hold air after my best effort at patching the multiples holes caused by the pinch flat.

Reviewed 8/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are great tires.
rating
by Susan
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The tires respond well in sand and gravel.

Reviewed 5/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable light weight tire
rating
by Anonymous
Winston Salem

I was originally using the Kenda Flint Ridge tires. I definitely appreciate those tires for rougher gravel rides however you doing Incur somewhat of a weight penalty compared to the Rambler tires. I have riden the Rambler tires over quite rough surfaces and after a few hundred miles have had no issues. I am running them tubless with an average pressure of between 25 and 35 PSI. For most uses I would definitely recommend the Rambler

Reviewed 10/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for mixed terrain
rating
by Ihoogendam
Minneapolis, Mn

These are a great tire for gravel and trails. Road these at the Heck of The North, which is a gravel race in Two Harbors, Mn. They were perfect. Supple, lightweight, decent rolling resistance, and most importantly, good traction in the mud.

Reviewed 8/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great gravel road tire
rating
by Vo
Orange

Easy to mlm install and it is tubeless. It provide good tractiion on dirt road.

Reviewed 6/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Maxxis Quality
rating
by Anonymous
San Luis Valley, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Typically run maxxix tires on my mtb, and is my go to choice. So when I saw these for gravel And read a couple of reviews, seemed like a good way to go. Pretty supple and good traction in dry conditions. Havent had them wet and muddy.

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Highly recommended tire if you have some patience.
rating
by Ninermark
Competitive Racer
susanville, Ca
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I used these tires at the Lost and Found race with great success. It is billed as a gravel grinder but had sections of rutted out jeep roads and dirt ranch roads. There were also many rocky washed out areas from the hard winter in Northern California Sierra. The Ramblers handled everything with no flats and no burping . Setting up tubeless was also difficult on my DT Swiss rims so I put in a tube for 24 hours and then carefully took off one bead to remove the tube. Had to use a compressor but they finally inflated and held air without sealant overnight.

I highly recommend this tire if you have some patience and a air compressor.

Reviewed 6/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires, hard to mount
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PNW
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

One of my local gravel routes was recently refreshed with lots of new gravel, which meant a change from my normal file treads to a mini-knob. I decided on a Rambler (700x40).

I've mounted tubeless tires before. I have a 60 gallon air compression and a Prestaflator. I always soap the beads and pull the valve cores when mounting. I generally have no problem mounting tubeless tires with this set up. I'm usually done in a few minutes.

I spent significant time one evening trying to mount these tires on 2 different wheelsets (HED Belgium and Stan's Grails, both with Stan's valves). No luck. Finally had to give up. Second try the next day I figured out what was going on. This tire, when on the rim but not seated, turns into a circle in cross section, with the beads sitting against each other in the center groove of the rim. This partially block the value and the air wasn't getting between the beads. Eventually I had to back the nut off the valve body so that I could push the value up between the beads. Then, with 60 psi blasts from the Prestaflator and repeated whacking of the tire I got them to seat. Even with the valve pushed into the tire it was still harder to get these to seat than any other tire I've mounted.

They held air overnight without sealant. The next day I was able to deflate and pull the value core without unseating the beads to add sealant. Took them on a 75 mile ride, 50 of gravel (dirt, mud, loose over hard, just plain deep). Very steep loose climbs, 35mph loose descents - tire worked great overall.

I understand why the reviews like this tire. In practice it works really well.

Reviewed 4/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Update on Maxxis Rambler
rating
by Ninermark
Competitive Racer
North East California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It appears that Maxxis has addressed one of the complaints concerning mounting of the Rambler. Out of the box the rambler has an open U shape making it easier to set up tubeless. I was expecting a struggle but the tire popped on easily in contrast to the first tire from 2016. Thanks Maxxis for the improvement to this already great tire.

Reviewed 11/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good traction
rating
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Smooth rolling tire on road and hard-pack. Great traction in the corners on gravel.

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good traction
rating
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Smooth rolling tire on road and hard-pack. Great traction in the corners on gravel.

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.