1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Maxxis Ikon 29" 3C/EXO/TR MTB Tire

MaxxisIkon 29" 3C/EXO/TR MTB Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great tires...I'm glad that I read the reviews prior to my purchase
rating
by Chocolate Thunder
Competitive Racer
Silver Spring, MD
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I mounted the tires to my geared big tire BMX bike that I ride wooded trails on.

I finally took the bike and tires out for their maiden trail ride. The trail was extremely muddy and covered by leaves, far from my ideal conditions which made me cautious when leaning the bike over into turns. But to my surprise the tires offered impressive traction when accelerating, braking and turning. I can't wait to see what these tires are capable of next spring and summer when the trails are dry, uncovered and fast.

Mounting of the tires was super easy too, no issues with the bead being too tight or too loose.

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Everything came as ordered
rating
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Tires feel good

Reviewed 10/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Handling
rating
by Bill NV
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I installed on my Specialized Levo SL. They improved the handling while riding single track trails. Bike turns quicker and has less rolling resistance.

Reviewed 8/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Grippy XC tire
rating
by rsimpson
Colorado
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This tire, at low PSI, is very grippy. Corners very well and is light and fast. I also run the Maxxis Ardent tire and I dont notice any less traction. Just faster.

Reviewed 12/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great XC/Race Tire
rating
by WaldoOC
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm on my third Maxxis Ikon EXO tire, and I really like them as a rear tire for XC and endurance riding. I used to run the Schwalbe Racing Ralph, but it's a bit fragile and fast wearing. The Ikon lasts far longer, is almost as supple a ride as the Racing Ralph, and has good braking and cornering characteristics for such a fast-rolling tire. It's also surprised me with it's ability to find some grip in climbing situations where I thought for sure it would spin. I have several thousand miles on these tires, and they've been dependable and perform very well.

Reviewed 9/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great dependable tire!
rating
by Mikeold#7
Matthews NC

I have used Maxxis ikon tires for a few years. . I only use it for rear tire. Never tried it for front tire but it's a Fast rolling tire.

Reviewed 9/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast and capable tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Inland SoCal
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This works well for me as a go-everywhere tire in dry Southern California. Most trails are ball-bearing over concrete consistency we have here, and this works great there. It does just fine on looser or sandier patches of trail as well. Travels well on asphalt roads riding to the trailhead.

Reviewed 1/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great XC/Trail rear tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Newbury Park, Ca.
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Currently running the 29x2.35 Ikon in the rear, with a Maxxis Rekon 29x2.4 in the front. The Ikon has very low rolling resistance, with exceptional grip, for such a lightweight tire. Highly recommend it. Literally no complaints for the loose over hardpack conditions in Southern Ca.

Reviewed 11/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tyre
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Faster than my Schwalbe Rocket Ron's & more durable. Sidewall puncture after about 20 hours was a bummer but it sealed up nicely with a plug.

Reviewed 4/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Longer lived tires for my MTB
rating
by Bici_del_Rioba
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great back tire for my MTB. It is a replacement for a Rekon. I am finding my Rekons (my favorite tire) to be shorter lived than I like to see. So I am now switched to the Ikonic Ikon in the back tire. It is a little slower, but more Grippy and definitely longer lived. A good solution.

Reviewed 11/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

For Southern California trails this tire is a good all a rounder - light, fast rolling and grippy enough.

Reviewed 4/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all terrain tires!
rating
by beccamtnbkr333
murphy NC
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the ikon from day one. I always purchased the exc with thinner sidewalls and never flatted but the last 2 tires I bought flatted! so I switched to the thicker exo and no issues anymore. great fast rolling.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great traction and feel
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride NW single track on a hardtail. This tires have great grip and feel even on wet surfaces. I'm a light rider and like 22 lb air pressure.

Reviewed 12/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All Around Cross Country Tire
rating
by Shills
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are some of the best MTB tires money can buy, endlessly grippy and lightweight. There are heavierwider tires that can bomb downhill better but at the end of the day, these win overall.

Reviewed 8/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice compromise between rolling resistance and traction
rating
by Mtn bike habit
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura Co Ca
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I ride in So Cal sandy, rocky conditions. Majority of my ride time is rollers, folled by long climbs, then flying down the descents. Therefore I'm willing to sacrafice some traction and cornering grip for minimal rolling resitance. The Ikon serves this goal well. There are better tires for just downhilling but for an all around cross country function these work well and have a good life span.

Reviewed 7/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fresh tires for my MTB!
rating
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hollywood Fl
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

It was time for fresh tires on my Specialized Epic MTB, and I wanted to change up the look with these Maxxis gumwall tires, Ardent front, and Ikon rear, Great look on my bike, and most important, excellent riding tires for the terrain on our trails here

Reviewed 6/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Purchased tires for the Baja Divide
rating
by JB
North Carolina
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Perfect tire for the Baja Divide. From sandy tracks to rough, rocky Jeep roads, the tires were great and held up well. Definitely robust, no flats, little abrasion. Will probably use their little brother (2.2 width) for the Great Divide.

Reviewed 4/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Maxis Ikon 29er
rating
by Bp
Deep South
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is extremely fast and versatile. I have used it in mud, gravel, sand and every thing in between. The Ikon is also very durable and has held up well over many miles of racing and training.

Reviewed 3/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rear Tire for XC set-up
rating
by XC Racer
Competitive Racer
Huntsville, AL
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Using this a a rear tire on my XC bike. Was able to seat tire bead with just a track pump, albeit pumping pretty fast. Have about 170 miles on the tire on hard pack, rock, leaves, and mud. Tire rolls great and has great traction. Seems pretty rugged given some of the rocky terrain it has been over with no issues.

Reviewed 2/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Cornering
rating
by Stumpjumper
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Ohio
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I ride mostly hard pack technical single track with some loose dirtsand, the knobby 29er's that came on my Specialized Stumpjumper FSR were horrible for this, I had zero confidence in the turns and did a lot of braking to navigate them. After a lot of research and YouTube I decided to try these, they Are Awesome, I can't believe how well they perform, after a few miles I started backing off the brakes leaning into them on the turns and they just delivered, I can't believe what a difference they make. The added bonus is that they are much faster on the straights as well so it has been a win-win. I balked at the price for a pair not knowing how they would be but after the first ride I was smiling ear to ear and the price was the last thing on my mind, that doesn't happen very often. My friend wants me to put the knobby's back on because I'm smoking him now, lol

Reviewed 7/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.