1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
Maxxis Hookworm 26 Inch Tire

MaxxisHookworm 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(85%)
(8%)
(2%)
(2%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Quiet performer
rating
by Anonymous

Fantastic traction and Super quiet.

Great flat protection.

Reviewed 10/13/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ehookworm

Best all terrain tire, extremely durable
rating
by Ehookworm
Competitive Racer
colorado

about 12 years ago I put these tires on my old downhill mountain bike and turned it into a urban warrior/light trail bike, I've never gotten a flat (running slime tubes) and have put hundreds of miles on them. Last week I converted that downhill bike to a 1200watt Ebike and these tires are still on my bike. After 65 miles of tearing around with a 1200watt booster on the back i am starting to see a little wear on the rear tire. The little tinny knobbies are finally gone in a strip around the middle. Point of this ramble is that after more than a decade of riding on these tires and an e bike conversion i am finally seeing a little bit of wear take hold on the rear tire. I probably have 1000s of miles to go before i'll need to replace 1 of the two i bought in 2011.

Reviewed 10/4/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BrewCityRon

Great tires for urban environments when installed on my mountain bike.
rating
by BrewCityRon
Casual Cyclist
Milwaukee, Wi. USA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

My mountain bike has always had knobby tires on it. After some research, I decided to treat myself to a set of these knob-less tires since I seldom go off road with my bike. Minimal rolling resistance, good looks and above all, they were a value at only 32 dollars each with free shipping. At 2.5" wide, my bike now looks almost like a "fat tire bike" which seems to be the trend now. I would not only recommend these tires to anyone, I would also buy them again.

Reviewed 11/30/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Beer_Bikes

Comfortable ride, transformed my 90's mountain bike to a multi-surface cruiser!
rating
by Beer_Bikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Texas
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I'm loving these tires, a great way to breath new life into your 26" 90's mountain bikes. With these tires, my old Diamondback is my grab-&-go bike. Smooth riding on asphalt and plenty of cushion on gravel paths and through the woods.

A few notes: they are heavy tires, and I can feel it on climbs.

They are really wide, so make sure you have plenty of clearance

And since they're so wide, they definitely need the bigger tubes that aren't typically stocked at big-box stores.

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Outstanding tires, great traction dry or wet
rating
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I mounted these tires on my original Rad Rover rims. They fit great and actually expand out to 3.1 inches even though "rated" as 2.5". I'm getting a smooth and quiet ride, more efficiency, and great traction on dry or wet.

Reviewed 12/27/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Santee

Great Tires
rating
by Santee
Daily Commuter
Southern California

I am using these Hookworms on a stretch bicycle. They grip the road very well. They are a "Speed roller" tire. No road resistance make these tires a bunch of fun! And that's what it is all about!!!

Reviewed 10/29/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kingman

Create fat tire look
rating
by Kingman
Daily Commuter
Oakland, CA

I wanted my ebike conversion to draw attention and having very wide or widest tire that can fit on the rim is one of the, if not, least expensive way to go and Maxxis Hookworm 26x2.5 did the trick. Ride is smooth and comfortable with very little rolling resistance. Will definitely order these Maxxis tires again when I have another ebike conversion to do.

Reviewed 10/21/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jasonmdx

Perfect fit on my beach cruiser
rating
by jasonmdx
Cycling Enthusiast
jacksonville beach, fl
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for the widest tire I could fit on my beach cruiser and this tire is just right at 2.5 inches wide, a little wider than the stock tires. The tread feels smooth but very 'grippy' on the street and also works great in hard packed beach sand. I run them at 40psi and the ride is very comfortable.

Reviewed 1/2/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ''Vidsu

Nice riding tire good for training rides on bike paths or city streets.
rating
by ''Vidsu
Cycling Enthusiast
Norco, CA
12 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

Overall a very good tire if you are looking to replace your knobbies with a durable, smooth rolling tire. I put a pair of Hookworms on my old GT Timberline mountain bike so I could ride the many miles of concrete bike paths in my area. The Hookworms perform well for this purpose. Granted they are heavy, so don't expect the snappy feel of a high pressure, skinny tire, but for logging miles and burning calories they are great. Be sure to run a 2.50 wide tube.

Reviewed 1/3/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tire
rating
by Anonymous
SoCal

I used these tires for a camera rig I put together. The only smooth tire I found with this extra Cush sidewall. They work so good Im going to get a set for my bike.

Reviewed 9/9/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Santee

Speedrollers
rating
by Santee
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Cal

I put these tires on a Stretch cruiser. They are well constructed and roll real nice and fast. I got a good price and they were discounted too!

Reviewed 11/8/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gus

Fat and sticky
rating
by Gus
Houston
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are by far better then my previous tires. They are fat and sticky.

Reviewed 3/18/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Tires are great
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Will buy more stuff from u guys

Reviewed 3/7/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ray

Awesome
rating
by Ray
Tomball, TX

Super great tires

Reviewed 8/9/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Robert

Great tires
rating
by Robert
Las Vegas

These roll so smooth

Reviewed 7/17/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tire
rating
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Put them on my bike this summer,it's like a new bike,improved ride.

Reviewed 11/9/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Duane

Great tires
rating
by Duane
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love the hookworms! Ride fast and smooth, great grip, and they look tough!

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tires.
rating
by Anonymous
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tires to put on an ebike project and I love them. They hold the road fine at 40mph and I have no worries about riding in the rain. I already bought another pair for my next project. I believe these tires are well worth the price. Obviously I would not recommend them for off road use.

Reviewed 6/19/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Willy510

Great street tires
rating
by Willy510
Daily Commuter
Richmond,CA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Very grippy and durable, not the lightest but if you want to bomb around the streets and some hard pack these are the tires to get. The extra volume helps cushion out some of the bumps too.

Reviewed 5/28/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

I use these for commuting - super solid!
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Colorado
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Commute on these and you'll be flat free for quite some time - solid construction and full wrap of tread makes these great for urban shredding too!

Reviewed 2/2/2018
Thank you for your feedback.