1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Lazer G1 MIPS Helmet

LazerG1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(7)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(70%)
(23%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Best Helmet I've Ever Owned
rating
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Geneva, IL

This is the lightest, best ventilated, and most slippery (aero) helmet I've ever owned. My last few helmets were Giro Aeon models which are light, but this 'feels' even lighter. On hot summer days I notice my heads is not as hot with the Lazer G1 as it was with the Aeon. It really has a nice air flow...whether on the hoods or head down in the drops. I am getting used to the location of the retention device. It is simple enough for me. Tighten once, loosen at the end of a ride. For me there have been no problems with it loosening on its own during a ride. The straps, buckles and other components are much better than my Aeon. Because of the unique retention system, I suspect my wife will want one since it seems pony tail friendly. 5-stars for far.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, safe and comfy
rating
by TeeArgh
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA

It's not cheap, but many high end helmets aren't these days. I returned a POC Ventral helmet due to it's round head profile while I'm more an oval. This G1, and the halo adjustment fits me much more comfortably, and has the added bonus of being the best tested road helmet by the Virginia Tech Helmet Ratings.

It's relatively light, and does a decent job at floating on the head as opposed to feeling like it's molded to it. I've done many a 3+ hour ride with it so far, and have not had any pressure points, hot spots or anything. It has been relatively cool as the temps have started to climb, but I've only had it for the last month and a half so it hasn't seen a proper summer yet. The only thing I have found to be of any annoyance is that my hair tends to get caught up in the mips layer at the front and pulls a little when removing the helmet at the end of the ride. Other than that, I have nothing remotely bad to say.

Reviewed 6/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding helmet
rating
by Jeff
Lincoln, Nebraska

I purchased my Lazer G1 helmet to replace my Giro and I�m very pleased with it. I love the visibility the orange provides. The mips system ensures a perfect fit and generous ventilation keeps me cool.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Helmet
rating
by Tom
Chicago
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It is a nice, light helmet. The MIPS feature is a plus. The back head cradle retention system does loosen. I have noticed this in other Lazer helmets too. I find myself having to tighten it often during a ride.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Size Large runs a little big
rating
by jmpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice helmet. I haven't had any loosing issues report by some folks. I did find the size large a little bigger than my Giro Synth. I always wear some form of summer or winter head covering under my helmets. Without wearing the head covering this helmet would be too big for me.

Reviewed 11/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This helmet is very light, venti, low profile for a Lazar, one of their all time best helmets for sure.
rating
by Pete
Competitive Racer
Riverside, Corona, CA

I have many road helmets, this is my favorite because it is low profile, great fit, venti, and very light, is a little pricy but worth it.

Reviewed 8/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet, sizing seems off
rating
by Emu8
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin Co. CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have had this helmet now for about 2 months. I like it very much, it is light and well ventilated as advertised. The only negative is the sizing. I measured my head circumference about 6 times, and came within a few millimeters of 59 cm each time. Given that, I ordered a L, (58-61 cm). It is way to big, and I should have ordered a medium (not available at the time, as wasn't the M/L), as it projects about 2" (5cm) behind my actual head. . Fortunately, the Rollsys fit system snugs it down fine. Must look a bit weird to my riding buddies, but it works ok.

Reviewed 9/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks and feels good, light weight and good ventilation
rating
by Cathy P
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just returned from a bike trip to N. Cascades in Washington. Wore this helmet in high heat 90s for 40-50miles a day. It goes on/off easy, is light weight, and the spin wheel on top of helmet rather than rear is quite nice. I wear a ponytail and no problem with fit. One caveat: i measure at 55cm so ordered a medium (which starts at 55cm). This was way too large, could not tighten it enough and had to exchange for a small which is perfect. I think if you have a very round head the bigger size might be needed but my head is more oval. P.S. exchange was super easy, no need to fill any paperwork, quick email and they sent me a fed ex label. Very pleased with this company.

Reviewed 8/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lazer focused
rating
by Alexander
Claremont

I've had many helmet brands over the years but Lazer is the best fit and best looking. This road MIPS G1 completes my set! I have a road, gravel and mountain Lazer now

Reviewed 8/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks and feels amazing on the head
rating
by Albert C.
Bergen County, NJ

This would be my third Lazer helmet. Had a Z1 that saved my head from a heavy crash, and a Z1 Shimano limited edition that l also love. The G1 MIPS is lighter, better ventilation, more comfy and looks amazing. Also have the clear shield that goes over the G1/Z1helmet for Winter time to keep my head warm. Got the White G1 so l can match it with any of my jersey. Very happy with the purchase!

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light and well-ventilated
rating
by Rapha
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland

Lightness is evident immediately, and the ventilation is exceptional. Top of the skull tightening barrel takes some getting used to, but is effective. Usual chin strap problems with permanent sizing (no different from other helmets).

Excellent helmet all around. A bit pricey, but listed as the 'best protection' in several studies.

Reviewed 8/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pro Level, But Not for Everyone
rating
by HammerTime
Competitive Racer
Washington DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted to like this helmet... I wanted to love this helmet... adorned on pro riders it looks cool, it gets great safety ratings, and it's the flagship offering from a legendary brand, so it has to be good, right? Well...it has what I consider to be a really protruding "bill" on the front of the helmet--it really sticks out there compared to the low-profile front-end of my Lazer Z1. A few others have pointed this out as well. So really nice helmet but aesthetically, just not my thing.

Reviewed 4/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light weight helmet
rating
by David
New England

The Lazer helmet is light weight, cool and has MIPS. The Z1 helmet is comfortable and I like the thumb wheel adjuster. I would definitely buy another Lazer helmet

Reviewed 8/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight, comfortable
rating
by Kurt
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The helmet is well made, has a very good safety rating, and it's light. The pads are small and thin, so they aren't hot and don't hold much sweat. The helmet fits me very well, and I was a bit concerned when I purchased the large because I was at the end of the size range. The adjustment system on the top works well as there are no pinch points. The helmet is made in China, which I unfortunately found out after purchasing it.

Reviewed 7/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light & comfortable
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second Lazer helmet and the first G1 model. Like the Z1 that I had before, it is extremely comfortable and weighs even less (about 2 oz).

The Z1 that this replaced protected me in a bad crash.

I also like the option of bright colors such as orange. With distracted drives everywhere, the bright color is an added measure to get noticed on the road.

Reviewed 7/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light & comfortable
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second Lazer helmet and the first G1 model. Like the Z1 that I had before, it is extremely comfortable and weighs even less (about 2 oz).

The Z1 that this replaced protected me in a bad crash.

I also like the option of bright colors such as orange. With distracted drives everywhere, the bright color is an added measure to get noticed on the road.

Reviewed 7/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Quality, fits perfectly and so light weight you forget your wearing a helmet at all!
rating
by Big O
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It was time to replace my old road helmet and after some careful research on safety, weight and fitting - this Lazer G1 is everything I was looking for. Love the fit and keeps my head cooler on hotter days. For winter I plan on ordering the Aeroshell to cover the vents. Most of my rides are 40 - 65+ miles 3 times a week and this is by far the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. A bit pricey, however in this case you really get what you pay for!

Reviewed 1/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This Helmet ROCKS!
rating
by Razorken
Competitive Racer
Chicago Suburbs
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

A brief history of my helmet wearing: I'd always worn Giro helmets up until six or seven years ago when they first introduced their MIPS helmet. Sadly, that bad boy didn't fit at all as the M was too large and loose and the S was too small and tight. I then changed to a Kask Vertigo in a M but it was actually too large, was insufficiently well-ventilated, and sweat ran into my eyes. So then I moved to the Kask Protone in a size S. I loved Protone's aesthetics but, man, talk about poorly ventilated. Sheesh! So, onto the Lazer, which is simply AWESOME! Super lightweight, uber adjustable, and the best ventilated helmet I have EVER worn. Seriously, it had been so long since I'd worn a truly well-ventilated lid, that I'd actually forgotten how pleasant it is not to have sweat dripping into your eyes. This has become, now, my favorite helmet ever.

Reviewed 11/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lazer G1 MIPS is a winner
rating
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

OK, watching the Jumbo Visma and Sunweb teams don this helmet may have heightened my interest, but I'd been looking to replace my Giro Synthe (non-MIPS) for a while anyway. Helmets are like shoes, great if they fit, lousy if they don't. The Lazer GP1 MIPS fits great - for me. It clears the top of my sunglasses by about 3/4", allowing for great ventilation (as opposed to the Giro, which sat on top of the sunglass frame). It does require adjusting the Rolsys device and sliding the non-locking strap yokes into place before each ride - a two second process that yields a stable, dialed-in fit. The straps are very light, easy to adjust to perfection and lay flat. The helmet is very well ventilated and very light. My medium weighs 260 grams - just 12 grams more than my very light, medium (non-MIPS) Giro Synthe. Price is very competitive with other top of the line helmets. And, it's a sleek, great looking lid.

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Airy and Top Rated
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had to buy a new helmet after smashing my Giro Synthe on the right side twice. I was going to go with the Giro Aether, but then read the tests from Virginia Tech ( https://www.helmet.beam.vt.edu/bicycle-helmet-ratings.html ) where it is the top helmet out of 99 tested for concussion prevention (several places ahead of Giros). It also had really good reviews on YouTube.

Had my first ride in it today and it just blows the Synthe (non MIPS) away in terms of ventilation. That's really important to me. It fit really well and looks pretty good. So I'm very happy. The only one nitpick is the tightening system feels like it loosens too easily (no ratchet).

I can tell it sticks out a bit from my head, but I don't mind too much since that means more impact to the helmet and not my face. It is also super light and looks pretty cool (you can actually peel off the Lazer stickers if you want).

Anyway, I'm very picky and I am pleased with it! The Virgina Tech tests were really its best selling point for me.

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.