1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Lake CX238-X Wide Road Shoe

LakeCX238-X Wide Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Lakecx238 wide
rating
by Anonymous
New England

Good quality shoe for the money. Extremely comfortable w the added bonus of a wide toe box. Super easy Boa adjustment on the fly-

Only drawback, and a big one is the lack of padding at the achilles/ankle. Also, the ankle is too wide which doesn't lock in the shoe when standing sprint or uphill maneuvers.

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for wide feet
rating
by Ken W
SoCal
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Having purchased cycling shoes in the past based on my guess from street and athletic shoes has been a disaster. Trying larger sizes to get a wider width became a waste of time and money. Using Lakes measurement method and finding the appropriate wide size for my feet worked out very well.

The CX238-X fit me just right. The length and width are spot on. The twin BOA dials allow for easy adjustment, even while riding. No hot spots on the foot from the uppers or the sole. The super stiff carbon fiber sole is wonderful for power transfer. Glad I saved up for this purchase. No regrets getting these shoes. Looking forward to many miles and smiles in my Lakes. Now to save up for a white pair of CX238-X.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoe, very comfortable.
rating
by Fig
Cycling Enthusiast
Dunedin, FL

I have experience with wide cycling shoes from both Specialized and Shimano. These Lakes are by far the best wide shoe I�ve ever used. Sure, they are pricier, even on sale, but well worth the added cost. At least for me�my only cautionary advice is make sure you pay attention to the sizing guide. Using the Cm measurement from inside the tongue of my old shoes worked well for me. Admittedly, I felt they might me too small when I first tried them on, but after wearing them around the house for a few hours a few times before mounting cleats loosened them up to where they fit like a glove. If you have the means, you will not regret this purchase.

Reviewed 10/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wide Feet? this works
rating
by squirtdad
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose Ca

I really thought about paying this much for a shoe, but it was worth it. works with my fred flintstone feet. the boa adjustment is very practical, allowing micro adjustment on the fly. No hot spots and highest quality. The only difficulty is sizing. Following Lakes sizing instruction I got a 43.5, too tight, tried a 44 (at a shop, too tight) ended up in a 45. In Giro's and Shimano I am in a 46. so go up at least 1 to 1.5 in size from lake sizing

Reviewed 9/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect fit, very comfortable
rating
by Anonymous
Chicago

I have wide feet and have trouble finding cycling shoes that fit. After trying multiple brands, I landed on Lake Shoes. It's literally like wearing slippers with a carbon sole. they're so comfortable and don't give me hot spots. The measurements listed on the lake website helped me find the perfect size. A must if you're in the market for a wide fit.

Reviewed 8/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work Shoes..
rating
by Brt
Competitive Racer
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I own 5 pair of Lake's including 2 pair of CX402, Lake's top of the line race shoes, I also have the previous model of CX238 and this new version is so much better in every way, the old model looked and felt like the upper was made with synthetic leather and this new model has a soft and and expensive looking leather upper, the tongue is very very comfortable. The old shoe is actually a bit too wide and the new is again perfect plus the shape of the new shoe is significantly more attractive. I have about 10 hours of indoor bike time breaking them in and while I'm riding I can't tell that they are even on my feet. When I ordered them I was a bit skeptical they might feel cheap like my old 238's not so, these look and feel expensive.. the down side is they are a bit heavy and they are not really warm weather summer shoes but if you live in a cooler climate like I do they make a great cool weather option.. Highly recommended for riders that experience foot pain while riding with standard width shoes but don't need a pair of swim fin's either..

Reviewed 1/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic shoes!!
rating
by Dave
Marana
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Very comfortable while still stiff enough to maintain power numbers. BOA's are very easy to adjust while underway. Plus they look great.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best if you want comfort for long rides and need a wide shoe
rating
by gsharum
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

If you have a wide foot, these are the shoes for you. I have owned Specialized and Giro but Lake are so much nicer, easy to put on and take off and just plain comfortable.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent introduction to Boa Lacing
rating
by Urbana Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased the CX238-X to replace a fairly dated (at least 10 years old) but still functional Sidis with rachet & Velcro system. Compared to my old shoes, the Lakes felt soft yet secure with no noticeable hot spots. The 2 Boa dials were easy to adjust and were able to distribute pressure more evenly on my foot. The ventilation also felt good, making my feet feel cool during 80+ degree/60+ humidity rides.

Reviewed 8/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy shoe for wide feet
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Washington State
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Retired my Sidi Megas and bought the Lakes. After about 150 miles of riding, the Lakes feel less constricting in the forefoot.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most comfortable wide bike shoe I have tried.
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

High quality construction, comfortable and the carbon sole is very responsive to the pedal.

Reviewed 10/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.