FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Kool Stop Dura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts

Kool StopDura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(38)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(13%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Better than Shimano
rating
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL

The bike came with Shimano pads but i found them to be noisy and rough on my expensive rims. I swapped the original pads for these. Great choice. Braking is every bit as good as the originals and the noise is gone. I find the Kool Stops treat my rims much gentler. A great plus as I hate to prematurely wear out the rims because the brake pad material was too hard.

Reviewed 6/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pads and affordable too!
rating
by dg363
Competitive Racer
Tucson, AZ

Really happy with these pads. I like them better than my original Dura-Ace pads. Excellent stopping power and I'm a larger rider, close to 200 lbs. So far, they've lasted well. Excellent value too.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than the stock pads
rating
by Anonymous
upstate SC

I replaced the Dura Ace pads (3000 mi) with these pads I have now layed down a couple hundred miles on these pads. Better than the stock pad.

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A solid performer.
rating
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Ive used these replacement pads on my dry weather bike for years. Stopping power is great and they wear very well. And they fit perfectly in the pad holders.

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great easy fit
rating
by Anonymous
Pdx
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to replace, moderate wear

Reviewed 5/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great brake pads
rating
by Anonymous
seattle

They work even in wet conditions. Love them more than Shimano pads.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smoother Better Modulation Than Stock Ultegra
rating
by SJ_SpinAddict
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got the combo (wet dry) model to replace the original Ultegra pads. Initially the pads felt a bit mushier than the old pads but they either broke in or I got used to the sensation so it's a not an issue now. The softer feel may have been caused the by the salmon colored wet braking material. The biggest difference is that I get better modulation which is a big plus. At the moment I can't say anything about the longevity (only for less than 500 miles so far) nor very wet weather braking capability. I've not ridden these in rain but they seem to work fine in misty conditions.

Yes, I'd get these again assuming they last relatively long considering the softer material. The stock pads lasted around 7,000 miles.

Reviewed 1/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Immediately impresses with the firm grippy feel.
rating
by krryfx
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have put a lot of miles on my bike and it was time to replace the brake pads. After discussions, research and study, I chose these. I have put about 500 miles on them so far and they are better than anything I have ever used. Firm and soft (if that makes sense) Wet or dry, they do a great job. Will make these a regular for future use.

Reviewed 6/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better than Shimano equivalent
rating
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Can't beat 'em for entry/enthusiast level for those of us who don't want to spend $45 a pop for a pair of pads.

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for wet weather!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A good wet weather brake is essential for my area. I use the salmon inserts and the grip is so good that I can lock up my wheel during the pouring rain, if I'm not careful. Easy to install.

Reviewed 1/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Response
rating
by calvesofsteel
Competitive Racer
Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using Kool Stop brake pads for years now for all of my aluminum rim wheel. I also like that they are made there in the Portland area. The stopping power is positive and consistent. Wet or dry I have found the pads to work great. Testimonial, I continue to purchase these pads for the last 9 years.

Reviewed 10/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Great product. Works well. Easy to install.

Reviewed 4/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good upgrade for your brakes
rating
by rgwis
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced the brake inserts that came with my road bike. These inserts haven't glazed over and provide a consistent smooth touch when braking.

Reviewed 9/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All I have used for 5 years
rating
by ebae
Competitive Racer
MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these for over 5 years. Great stopping power in most conditions.

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does it's job and does it better than the competition
rating
by Anonymous
Albuquerque
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Don't bother with other brands, these are the only pads to get for your clinchers.

Reviewed 2/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still my favourite
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Summerland B.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've always had the best braking with Koolstops V brake pads on my mountain bikes so after having iffy results with some other options I went for these for the road. Nice to be back. There are probably other types including OEM that last longer, but these stop with less effort and are easy on the rims.

They seem a little loose in the holders but that's just as well as you don't have to struggle to get them in and out. This means you're more likely to pull them and clean the grit out more often.

Reviewed 8/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to pads
rating
by Larry
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakdale, Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A great replacement pad for what came on my bike. Quite a bit stickier and no chatter on long descents. Kool Stop is a good product.

Reviewed 7/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better stoppage in wet conditions
rating
by alicia
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA

I got the salmon pair for winter riding. They really make a difference and hold up a lot better than the regular brakes. Easy to install.

Reviewed 1/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice cheap replacement pads
rating
by Roy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or

I use these to replace the pads on my commuter bike. They seem to work pretty well in rain and wet riding conditions, plus its very easy to install these insert pads.

Reviewed 7/26/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better and longer lasting the the regular Duras...
rating
by lebikerboy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the salmon coloured variety as they work better as an

all round pad especially in the evergreen rainforest of the

Pacific North West. Don't pick up metal fragments like Shimano

and are real easy on your expensive rims!

Reviewed 4/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page