FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Kool Stop Dura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts

Kool StopDura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(14%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
As close as you can get to disks with rim brakes
rating
by Wester Flyer
Portland OR

If you live anywhere as rainy as Portland OR, don't leave home without Kool stop dual color pads. The work wet or dry.

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Salmon pads work great for mountain rides
rating
by NC biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh NC

The Salmon brake pads work great on mountain rides... even in dry weather. Even though they wear faster than the black pads, the extra stopping power is welcome on technical descents.

Reviewed 7/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
as advertised
rating
by Nate Todd
Seattle

Works good

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fit, easy to replace
rating
by Cycle_rod
Kennewick, WA

These new pads easily slip into Shimano Dura-Ace brakes. Quick and simple fix to worn-out pads.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best choice for wet weather
rating
by Steven S
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwod, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I go through about one set of pads per season on each of my bikes. While the salmon pads do wear a little faster than black or dual compound, these provide the best braking, even on dry rims.

Wet weather braking power is fantastic, even with cantilevers. I have slowly moved all of my bikes to cartridge holders, which is much more economical in the long run. I keep a couple of extra sets n my toolbox so I can swap out a bike at any time.

Reviewed 3/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Brake Pads at a Good Price
rating
by Tahoe One
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe, NV
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 500-600 miles per month...and change brake pads twice a year regardless of wear... I think pads dry out or become glazed...and I like the modulation or feel of new pads. The Kool Stops feels softer than Shimano replacement pads...which I like...and you cannot beat the price

Reviewed 1/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must for wet weather riding
rating
by Avid Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

If you ride in wet weather, you need this salmon softer pad. It does make a significant difference compared to the standard stock-black (harder) pads that come on the bicycle. I run these pads year-round, and replace them more frequently because of the soft composition. But, I like the grab around the rim that the soft pads provide.

Reviewed 1/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install and provides good stopping power
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

The design of Kool Stop brake inserts make it a snap to replace worn out pads. They provide good stopping power. The only negative is they seem to wear out a little fast (the orange ones more than the black pads of course - but overall they wear a little quickly).

Reviewed 9/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Brake Pads
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great Brakes!!!! Way better stopping power than the ones I had.

Reviewed 11/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice product for price.
rating
by Mtbjkv
Phx

I found the compounds used in these pads exceeded oem parts. Quiet and sure, plus they seem easier on rim surface.

Reviewed 2/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great replacment pads
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought the dry (black) pads. Easy to install. Quiet, great modulation and stopping power. Very happy!

Reviewed 11/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid stopping power
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Exactly as described. Easy to install. Firm stopping power.

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good stopping power
rating
by dvm2003
Cycling Enthusiast

This is the first time I have used Kool Stop on my road bike and have been impressed. They work well in wet conditions and have no rim chatter. I would definitely buy again.

Reviewed 7/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great brake pads...
rating
by sygibson
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

Great all-around brake pads for mixed conditions riding. Can't speak to longevity on them yet.

Braking feel is nice, smooth, and progressive, no grabby feeling, confident stopping power.

Reviewed 2/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Never thought I could get excited about brake pads ...
rating
by IMFlying
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

... but I have to say, these are excellent brake pads. I was talking to a bike mechanic and he recommended them. Then I did some research online and saw that reviews were uniformly positive. My first bike ride with the pads was on a rainy day on Mt. St. Helens in Washington state. I could not believe how well the (salmon) pads worked on the steep wet roads. The pads seem to wear a bit faster than some other pads I've used but for the extra stopping power and increased safety and performance I think any slight cost differences are nothing. Now I'd feel negligent buying any other pads.

Reviewed 9/24/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect substitute for Shimano-brand pads
rating
by keneke9
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX & SF Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are great replacements for DuraAce pads on my touring bike. Grip is positive and no fading even with a moderate load on a downhill. They don't wear down as fast as the Shimano pads. Also using the wet & dry pads during the rainy season. Stopping power while touringcommuting are not as demanding compared to training on my road bike so these work perfectly!

Reviewed 9/7/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Brake Pads for the Money!!
rating
by Chicago J
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding over 30 years, and have a taste for top dollar product only if they functionon. In my experience through out the years, the Kool Stop Dura Salmon Pads are the best pads for the money hands down. I often hear or read the most common question of which is better SwissStop or Kool Stops. Well that is a little bit of a complex answer. Both are the best pads in the business, yet there are differences. Kool Stop grabs almost instantly with great power in the dry with no fade under heavy application, and in the rain they stop very well except they have a couple second delay before grabbing and then again very quick strong power delivery. This can startle or even cause lock ups and skidding for some not expecting it. The Swissstops have far better modulation, which means no instant grabbing, rather very smooth initiation and then grab progressively stronger with more lever application. The other nicety is that in rain the Swissstops have no delay rather instant application even when wet, lending to a more predictable braking. For overall stopping power black pads from KS are close in my opinion to SS, but still not their equal, rather the Kool Stop Salmon(wet) vs. SwissStop GXP(Blue-wet) is a clearer winner as the SwissStops have better over braking power and much better modulation. The other key notes in both brakes is that neither cause any wear to aluminum rims, and also last about the same under similar use. The final thing to note is their cost vs performance, here is where the divide comes in as KS are far cheaper and more readily available than SS. So in final I run SS on my road race bike, and KS on my cyclocross rig, as they both certainly have their place.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work great as replacment pads.
rating
by Andrew S. (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR.
9 of 23 customers found this review helpful.

Always use these, they work great!

Reviewed 9/14/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than Shimano
rating
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL

The bike came with Shimano pads but i found them to be noisy and rough on my expensive rims. I swapped the original pads for these. Great choice. Braking is every bit as good as the originals and the noise is gone. I find the Kool Stops treat my rims much gentler. A great plus as I hate to prematurely wear out the rims because the brake pad material was too hard.

Reviewed 6/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pads and affordable too!
rating
by dg363
Competitive Racer
Tucson, AZ

Really happy with these pads. I like them better than my original Dura-Ace pads. Excellent stopping power and I'm a larger rider, close to 200 lbs. So far, they've lasted well. Excellent value too.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page