1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
Kenda K23 S-6 Schwinn 26" Tire 26x1 3/8x1 1/4(37-597)

KendaK23 S-6 Schwinn 26" Tire 26x1 3/8x1 1/4(37-597)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(16)
(8)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(59%)
(30%)
(4%)
(7%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by PaulTheBikeGuy

Very satisfied. Be sure to check your ISO sizes.
rating
by PaulTheBikeGuy
CT shoreline
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I restore donated bikes and give them away. I recently received two old three speed bikes in good condition, one was a Schwinn. I couldn�t find any ISO size markings on the old tires, just a reference to a Schwinn S2 rim or something. I purchased 4 tires thinking they could satisfy the other bike too (Free Spirit Brittany - like an old 26x1 3/8 tire as well). These tires didn�t work for that bike, which required ISO 37-590 size tires.

Mounted these on the Schwinn bike just fine, pretty true to round and an excellent value. I�m glad they are still available for these vintage bikes.

Fun fact: Both these bikes were shot in a flashback to �60�s scene in a film coming out next year.

Reviewed 4/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Schwinn Jim

These are great tires for the money
rating
by Schwinn Jim
Daily Commuter
St. Clair Co. MI
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Best tire for the money, but us old Schwinn freaks really have no other choice. As far as mounting goes, you need to put a thin layer of dish soap on the bead before you air up. I have also used WD-40. You will see the bead slowly pop into place at about 60-70 PSI. Make sure the rim line is visible, & you will have a smooth ride.

Reviewed 5/21/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Floridahusky

Excellent purchase in all regards.
rating
by Floridahusky
Casual Cyclist
St Pete, FL
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I found one here in St Petersburg for $xx.xx, the two I purchased from you were less than $xx, for TWO?

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rick

Perfect size tire for Scheinn
rating
by Rick
Casual Cyclist
Cleveland, OH
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Used it as a bicycle tire.

Reviewed 12/26/2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dem

This was the only viable viable replacement tires I found at a reasonable price for old Schwinn rims.
rating
by dem
Casual Cyclist
central illinois
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

As mentioned these were the only viable replacement tires I found for my old Schwinn Collegiate with 26 x 1 38 tires on Schwinn rims. The tires I replaced were gum walls which I would like to have retained. The black walls are O.K. byt I would have preferred the gum walls. They (Kendas) fit but were difficult to mount on rims in even manner. I had to massage each several time all around to allow mount to rims with even sidewalls no high and low areas causing lumps when rotated. If such uneven mount transpired on a motor vehicle the inbalance would cause the complete inability to control the vehicle and the ride motions would be nauseating.

Reviewed 5/5/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good fit and quality
rating
by Anonymous
indianapolis

Tires fit rim correctly, reasonable to install

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old Schwinn Guy

Fits just right
rating
by Old Schwinn Guy
Ames, Iowa

This is the only brand I have found that is still making this exact size. It fits the old Schwinn bikes perfectly. Ready to roll for a few more years now. Ordering was easy and shipping was prompt.

Reviewed 12/2/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Adam

Great tire for a good price.
rating
by Adam
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I needed a simple Schwinn tire and this tire was inexpensive but fit perfectly and is very good quality.

Reviewed 12/21/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Kenda S-6
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
North Carolina Foothills
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I put these tires on an older model Schwinn Speedster made in April 1975. A little work and they were on with no bulges and ride smooth.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

will not fit an old bike rim. to big
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Boise Id
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Did not fit.

Reviewed 2/28/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dee

Nice product
rating
by Dee
Columbus ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It was nice to talk to salesmen who understood vintage bikes. Tires easy to install. Can't wait to try them out. Dam winter

Reviewed 12/14/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Carroll

Great price and perfect fit
rating
by Carroll
South Carolina
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered these for my 1977 Schwinn Breeze. I did a good bit of research before the purchase. I called and spoke with customer service and he did try to point me to another tire that would not have fit. I checked again and decided to go with these tires. They were perfect. My vintage bike is like brand new.

Reviewed 12/8/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fits Schwin S-6 as advertised
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Michigan
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Restoring an old Schwinn Breeze (1968) and tires fit the S-6 rims just fine. Seating on the rim not as easy as newer rims. We'll see how they hold up.

Reviewed 9/15/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Wow! Great tire with OEM look for that classic Schwinn!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Joliet, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you are looking for a tire to put that classic Schwinn back on the road - look no further. Fantastic look, fit and ride - at a price that will put a smile on your face!

Reviewed 8/22/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

I bought these for my 1970's 26 bike.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
illinois

They were slightly too big for the rims. So I couldn't use them.

Reviewed 2/2/2017
WesternBikeworks.com Comments
Hello, Thanks for your review. Sorry these tires didn't fit. If you need help replacing these tires and finding a size that will work for your bike, feel free to email us at [email protected], or call us at 1-800-682-0570. We would love to help you out.
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Hard to seat evenly so the tire runs true but it's the only tire left for our old Schwinns.
rating
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Tempe, AZ

The problem with these Chinese Schwinn-sized tires is that it is extremely difficult to seat them on the rims so they will run true. There is always one area of the tire that sits low or high on the rim causing a thumping ride. With a number of tries, inflating and deflating and pulling on them, it's possible to make them tolerably round but far from perfect. If I wasn't appreciative that Schwinn-sized tires were still made, I'd rate them lower, but they're better than nothing.

Reviewed 12/18/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mikeh

Fits my old Schwinn like a glove
rating
by Mikeh
Cycling Enthusiast
Lawrence, ks
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Fits my old Schwinn like a glove

Reviewed 11/21/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

best tire for the money
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
EAST ALTON IL
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I HAVE A COLLECTION OF SCHWINN BIKE BUILT IN CHICAGO IL. THESE TIRES AND TUBES ARE AS GOOD AS THE ONE'S THAT COME WITH THE BIKE WHEN IT WAS NEW. THE PRICE IS GOOD AND SHIPMENT IS HERE AT MY HOUSE IN 5 DAYS. WHEN I ORDER FROM MY SCHWINN STORE IT TAKES LONGER THAN THAT AN THE PRICE IS HIGHER AND A HOUR DRIVE TO PICK THEM UP.

Reviewed 10/31/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MB

Great tires for S-6 rims!!!
rating
by MB
Cycling Enthusiast
Louisiana, USA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Had to replace the tires on my 1970 Schwinn Racer..43 years old and are still spinning, but needed new rubbers. These fit perfect on S-6 rims. Be patient and seat them correctly!!

Reviewed 9/11/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Elw56

Just what you need if you are fixing a 60's era Chicago Schwinn cruiser.
rating
by Elw56
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

If you are working on an old Schwinn with the hash marks between the spokes this is what you need.

Reviewed 8/8/2013
Thank you for your feedback.