Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
HED Ardennes RA Black Clincher Wheelset

HEDArdennes RA Black Clincher Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(56%)
(22%)
(22%)
(0%)
(0%)
Really great wheels!
rating
by PDX_BR
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

This is my second set of HED Ardennes, and I love them! I had the Ardennes Plus SL, but when those did not survive a collision with a car, I replaced with these RA Black versions. Firstly, they look really great with the blacked out braking surface. Secondly, they really do have exceptional stopping power - startled me at first. You do have to get used to the whistling of the machined surface when braking, so if you can give up your dreams of stealthy stopping, you'll be impressed with the stopping ability of these wheels. As with other Ardennes Plus wheels, they ride really, really nice. These are some really great all around wheels! I do wish HED had finished these differently as the slightly textured finish attracts more dirt. I would like to give these five stars because the wheels themselves deserve it, but I received my set with the front wheel out of true, right out of the box. If I had not waited three months for the wheels, I would have sent them back for another pair. I need to ask WBW if they can true the up for me.

Reviewed 4/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth as glass.
rating
by PV ride leader
Cycling Enthusiast
Aloha, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Very light. Easy rollup to speed. Love the wider rim. Because of the wider rim the actual tire surface on the ground is wider and it makes for a smoother ride. I have rim brakes and the noise is interesting but they stop on a dime.

Reviewed 8/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Performs well but braking surface wears off
rating
by esiahaan
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are my year around set. They perform well, but I wouldn't recommend using them in the rainy season. These were my go to for bad weather riding which unfortunately wears off the coating on the brake track.

Reviewed 7/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
dream wheels set
rating
by ekakki
Cycling Enthusiast
san francisco, ca
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use this wheel for my everyday riding. I use it to do training on the hills. It climbs like nothing would stop it. It responses quickly. the width of the rims help you descentconering with super confident. Just point and go.

Reviewed 5/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful wheels.......
rating
by Oregon rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Put these on my 15.2lb Focus Izalco. They are light and stop on a dime. Yes, an unusual braking sound, but no more unusual than carbon wheels. I have the previous Ardennes version that was slimmer than the new width. Must say, the wider rims/tubeless make mounting tires a challenge. I use tubes. Had to search for tires that would mount easier. Finally found some Hutchinsons that mounted easier. Not looking forward to having a flat on the road. Luckily, I don't get them much at all (knock on wood) . All in all a great wheelset and yes I would buy them again. I'm a big fan of HED wheels. Nice that they give an option to purchase a Campy or Shimano freehub.

Reviewed 5/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well built , nice looking wheelset.
rating
by NMvelo
Competitive Racer
Northern Michigan
7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I haven't used these wheels on the road yet, but I can say the tubeless Schwalbe Pro One tires mount very easy and the new hubs look like a big improvement. They weigh about 10 grams less than the advertised 1430 grams which is very light. It also is amazing to see a manufacturer's weight claim accurate.

I have used the Ardennes SL Plus, set up tubeless and they are very, very, nice wheels.

The 23 mm Schwalbe Pro Ones measure 26 mm on these rims, and the 25 mm measure 28.5 .

I am anxious to try out this Black turbine brake track, I am expecting good results and Andy at Hed has been a very good person to deal with if questions need to be addressed.

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
WINNER !
rating
by GoDogGo
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This wheel set is my best of 3 brands for mounting Schwalbe tubeless. Ardennes must be a couple mm smaller than R brand wheels.

I have had a side puncture flat 25 miles into a ride and with thumbs and one spoon removed a bead and put a tube in like old days.

that isn't the case with 2 other tubeless wheel sets I have. I threw a set of early tubeless wheels in trash for there was no hope for

a field fix and even a heated garage tire mounting was miserable. These wheels are light , sturdy , fast and you can fix flats.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Absolutely fine.
rating
by A.B.
Competitive Racer
SF Peninsula
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They look stealthy. After 2000 miles and 20k feet climbing they lose nothing going downhill and brake great. But to me, they don't feel as good going uphill as Racing 3's or C24s and the rear wheel spokes are generating 'plinkity-plink-plink' noises already. The same $$ for these will buy TWO sets of C24s.. just sayin'.

Reviewed 3/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent braking wheel!
rating
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
2 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

The Pros for this wheel Great looks, terrific braking, smooth rolling, made to accommodate 25c or 28c tires.

The Cons Rim tape provided for use with tubeless tires is also a MUST USE for tires with tubes to prevent tubes from being cut by spoke holes in the rim. Very difficult to mount tires with tubes (I haven't tried tubeless tires yet).

Reviewed 8/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.