FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Handsome Cycles Mud Butler Fenders

Handsome CyclesMud Butler Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(68%)
(26%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Wonderful
rating
by Anonymous
portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These fenders are great! I get nothing but compliments from everyone I pass. I got the copper and they are very flashy. If you want to give your bike some unique flare, this will give you just that. They also feel pretty solid since they are metal and not plastic!

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome product, great value
rating
by PDXRedBeard
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These are perfect for shedding Portland's wet weather, while still looking sharp on the road. The large size fit my 32c tires, but will also work for my 25c ones when I switch over for long distance rides. Great product! Kind of a pain to install without the right tools, for me, worth it to pay for installation to get it right.

Reviewed 3/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install, effective, and quiet
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

No complaints here. They look great, work great, and were not difficult to install as I had feared they might be.

Reviewed 1/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These fenders are very functional, stylish and we'll built.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Marysville, Wa.

Used for everyday winter cycling. I like the extended coverage of the front fender which helps keep your feet dry. Plenty of hardware for a trouble free installation.

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great looking but a pain to install.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

These fenders are great looking but a total pain to install. Once you get them on and fully adjusted they seem pretty solid though.

Reviewed 9/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pain to install, good-looking coverage otherwise
rating
by gibsonator
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Like most fenders that don't casually attach to the frame with fancy rubber bands, these were a pain to rassel onto my bike. Once there, they have been indeed quite handsome and good at keeping my toes dry and my backside unstriped.

Reviewed 1/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Put it on and fuh-getta-bout it but will take you awhile
rating
by SJ_Cyclist_528
San Jose
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wanted a metal fenders to replace a broken plastic fenders for my touring bike (Salsa Vaya 3 w disc brakes). Metal fenders are typically a lot more costly than plastics but these were quiet affordable so I took the plunge and I'm glad I did (for the most part).

The Good Very sturdy (all metal fasteners no plastic, yeah!), no rattling or loosening up after bumpy rides. Looks great (goes great w black rims, subtle sophisticated look, almost not there ). Good value.

The Not-So-Good Tricky to install esp. if you have disc brakes. I had to bend the front fender stays to clear the disc brake. You also have to cut the fender stays to fit your bike (measure twice, cut once...). Directions are vague at best so you really need to take the time to get a general idea of how it all works before you start cutting and assembling.

I've only put 500 miles on it but so far everything is nice and tight like the first day. This wasn't the case with the plastic fenders I had with plastic fasteners.

Reviewed 10/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome look, great coverage, classes up any bike
rating
by Pdx mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These look fantastic once installed. Makes the cheap plastic alternatives look like cheap plastic. I only have ridden them in a couple days of light rain but the kept all spray and road grim contained.

The are a little tricky to instal but once on they are the best looking fenders around.

The feel like they will last forever.

Reviewed 7/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great look, great quality
rating
by HG
Casual Cyclist
Dayton, OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for non-plastic fenders at a reasonable cost. These are definitely the ones. The look is amazing, fit is very good. No rattles. I was able to install on a Crossrip 3 in a very short time. I especially like how the stay adjustment works. Very easy to adjust side-to-side and trim.

Reviewed 2/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These fenders are well-constructed and they look great on my bike.
rating
by geardog61
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL

I put these on my touring bike with other upgrades. A little tricky to install, but no big deal. I love the classic hammered texture and the matte black finish.

Reviewed 3/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Look Awesome
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

Have them on a Sirrus with 35c tires

Reviewed 12/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love Them!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz Mountains

Excellent fenders. Perform great. Well made. Metal not plastic. Hammered surface with black color looks awesome.

Reviewed 3/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As handsome as their name
rating
by screwhead
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These fenders are lightweight, and look great. I bought the black 45mm for commuter duty on my 1x9 CX build, and they fit well over the 700x35 tires I'm running. The installation is a bit moderate in difficulty, but not too bad if you have a stand, just take your time. The stays (or struts) may need to be rough trimmed, and then again once properly fitted, to clear the axle hardware. I was able to do this with a jigsaw and metal blade, but some strong dykes ended up being easier. Certainly depends on where the mounts sit on your dropouts. Also, the bracket for the rear didn't work for me, as my bridge has a mount perpendicular what was needed, easily resolved with a drill and some spare hardware. One star removed for all that and instructions that left me wanting, but an excellent deal with reduced price, no tax, and free shipping.

Reviewed 1/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So simple, even a novice can install this!
rating
by JustWill
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL

I've always hated dealing with fenders on my disc-brake bikes - I usually just take it to a bike shop, as I usually end up with needing parts that aren't included.

This fender comes with everything you will need, except your tools! They've thought of everything and bundled that with the package.

Reviewed 4/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rattle-free!
rating
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I like that these have a retro-touch with the hammered style, but the matte black lets it fit in on more modern bikes (I put them on my Kona Jake - the 45mm size over my 32mm tires - even fit over my 32mm knobbies.).

Unlike plastic fenders, the metal gives them some structure so fewer stays are required, giving a cleaner look. On the downside, if the shape isn't quite right, it won't easily flex or bend to the shape you need. I found I could bend it by hand to make it a little narrower to fit between my chainstays, and a little widerflatter to clear my rear rack supports.

They are little tougher to install compared to most plastic fenders since the stays wrap around the fender. So instead of fitting it, and then trimming excess stays, you need to trim the excess before you can mount it. So be cautious and do just enough to get it on, then measure to get it just right and trim the rest.

Compared to most metal fenders, these are quite a bit lighter and the mounting hardware (vinyl covered brake boss mount and screws with cork washers) prevents them from rattling (I have heard no rattling in the roughly 300 miles I've had them on so far).

Reviewed 4/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking, painful to install
rating
by swamitommi
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really like the look of the hammered black fenders now that they're on my bike. That said, the instructions are exceptionally poor. Once installed, the fenders require a great deal of fine-tuning and adjustment to get running rattle- and rub-free. Do they work? Yes - although the rear fender could be longer. While it keeps the spray off me, it doesn't necessarily protect the rider behind me.

Reviewed 11/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Back fender rattles
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had them installed at my LBS and the back fender is very noisy. The piece that attached to bike that holds the fender is plastic so you can't clamp it to the fender so the fender bounces and rattles.

Reviewed 9/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks great on the my black Surly commuter
rating
by FrankFrank
Cycling Enthusiast
NY, NY
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Love the hammered look, even better in black. They don't come with installation instructions but if you've ever installed fenders it's straight forward process. I've been running them for a couple month and still no noise from either fender.

Reviewed 7/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great mounting hardware, fantastic looking
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

super easy to install compared to the VO fenders.

look great and no rattle yet!

Reviewed 5/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.