Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Gore Wear Mens C5 Goretex Shakedry 1985 Jacket

Gore WearMen's C5 Goretex Shakedry 1985 Jacket (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Solid
rating
by Anonymous
PDX

Has kept me dry from rain in heavy downpours in Portland. Best in cooler- cold temps

Reviewed 6/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great coat
rating
by Ted
Hood River, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This coat breaths better than any that I have previously owned. Important to layer light under it. Very light weight and better for road/gravel than mountain biking. Fit is snug.

Reviewed 11/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised.
rating
by jbithaca
Cycling Enthusiast
Ithaca, NY
11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this to replace a 5 year old Showers Pass Elite 2.0 rain jacket. Rode in a downpour for about one hour in 65-70 degrees. Did not overheat. I am 5-10 and around 175 lbs with a 39.5 chest and 32 waist. I am a randonneur which rides brevets (125 miles and up) in all weather and wanted a jacket that was light weight, windproof and breathable. This checks all of these boxes. Wish it had more reflective material though I wear a reflective vest in low light andor night time conditions. Also because the zipper has small teeth you must be careful zipping it up or it can get snagged. The rear pocket is very small and will not fit a Samsung Galaxy S7 cell-phone. Not much room for more than a license or a small energy bar or keys. Barely feels like you are wearing anything. I put it in a small 1-quart ziplock bag in either my jersey or my handlebar bag or saddlebag to keep it from rubbing against other things. We will see how durable it is over time. Decided to buy this as there was a 25% off sale.

Reviewed 7/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Modern fabric technology is AWESOME
rating
by J. Quon
Cycling Enthusiast
Canby, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the 1st modern Gore cycling product that I've purchased and I'm really surprised at how well such a light jacket keeps the water out. It's a bit spendy normally but with a coupon or sale price, it is worth the price. Not how many versions are out there but mine doesn't seem to have the softer backing that my brother's version is but they seem the same on the outside. Either way, water isn't getting in unless you go swimming in it or leave the zipper open. As a bonus, it packs up into super small and light bundle.

Reviewed 4/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Unbelievable how great this jacket is.
rating
by Dry Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina

This jacket is thin, light, smooth, and waterproof. It fits close to the body so air does not cause you to become a sail on your bike. I wore this during a gran fondo in the mountains during a heavy rain day. I remained warm and my torso remained dry. I am so happy to have this jacket in my arsenal.

Reviewed 1/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Jacket for rain and/or chilly mornings
rating
by Anonymous
Sacramento

Versatile jacket. Can't go wrong with Goretex for the wet weather. Keeps the core dry and warm. Works well for chilly mornings also.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny and then some more
rating
by George
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Shake Dry is an amazing fabric. It combines two contradictory requirements. It is 100% water proof, but it also breath as good or better than any light winter jersey. The translation, you stay dry from the outside, but your sweat also moves away, so you stay dry on the inside also. There is nothing like this. The older Goretex fabric was able to get the former right, but, it is nowhere near breathable. While it keeps the elements out, eventually, you will be swimming in your own sweat.

Fit is something personal, one jacket might be better than the other, or a different brand might fit better.

The downside Obviously, it is not cheap and it is relatively fragile. You cannot use a backpack or a hydration pack with it. And you can get it in any color you want as long as it is really dark.

Reviewed 5/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shakedry
rating
by Andy Leeka
Los Angeles, CA

Absolutely my go to windbreaker and light, wet weather jacket. I have not tested it in really heavy rain since I just received it. However, in a light rain it works outstandingly well. I just finished riding from Washington, DC to New York City. It is the perfect light, portable jacket to take the chill off early mornings and keep you dry. No doubt it is expensive, but the technology is well worth it. If I lost it, I would buy another one immediately.

Reviewed 5/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect jacket for Seattle
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This jacket has performed flawlessly throughout Seattle's rainy season. It's actually as rainproof and breathable as advertised, fits easily into a jersey pocket for mixed weather rides, and shows no wear after a season's use. It fits a little tight across the chest when upright so it isn't ideal for running, but fits perfectly in a riding position.

Reviewed 1/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As Good As Advertised
rating
by mtnCruzer
Cycling Enthusiast
Durango CO
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

It really is shake dry and waterproof. The cut is a bit relaxed relative to other Gore garments and thus I did not have to go up one size. It still provides room for a long sleeve jerseythermal layer if needed. My jacket tipped the scales at 120g and easily fit into a jersey pocket. It is a bit of a challenge to fit into its own zip up pocket, but that is a minor issue. The logos on the sleeves are a bit over the top, but I am sure Gore is proud of what they accomplished. Pricey, but get it on sale. A great, high performance, light, waterproof layer.

Reviewed 5/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.