1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet

GiroSyntax MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(39 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(79%)
(15%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
A solid helmet
rating
by rtarrago
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I really like this helmet. It fits and is comfortable. Compared to other Giros I've owned, it covers a bit more of my forehead but has great ventilation. The RolLoc system works great as usual. It's sleek and light. Would definitely buy this again.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Value but Medium Appeal
rating
by Nvcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia

I long have used Giro helmets, this one is not among my favorites. As prices of all helmets have risen it is tough finding great quality and fit, style and a price that one would like to pay. I do not like the buckle system on this as it in my view is not as good as some other models of a few years back.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helmet at a great price!
rating
by RAP49
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City

Wanted a reasonably priced helmet with MIPS and High Viz in it but not completely High Viz in color. Could not have found a more perfect helmet. Comfortable, easily adjusts and not heavy. Very satisfied with this purchase.

Reviewed 6/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
rating
by Bobk
New England

Bought this helmet to replace my Specialized helmet that was nine years old. My concerns were that it would be comfortable, well ventilated for summer months, and had the new MIPS technology. It met all those needs and find it to be a great replacement helmet at a good price.

It is rated well as a safe helmet as tested by Virginia Tech for a bike helmets.

Reviewed 10/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great purchase
rating
by Doug
Cycling Enthusiast
Lubbock, TX

Got the helmet to replace an old Giro that the plastic side piece broke. Wanted to try MIPS because just in case. Very happy with how it fits further down over my head even with cap underneath. Comfortable and easy to adjust with knob at back. Not overly expensive which I like. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or

Great fitting helmet. Very comfortable. Excellent ventilation.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Not a budget helmet, not an expensive helmet, but a great helmet! This thing has really good ventilation and is super light. I had a hard time finding a good helmet for my noggin due to a large ridge on the back of my skull. Most helmets weren't able to go down far enough below the ridge, but THIS helmet fit so well. Would recommend.

Reviewed 6/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet in extra large size
rating
by Anonymous
seattle

I have a really big head and this is the only helmet that really fits well

Reviewed 4/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Heavier than I'm used to but a good helmet nonetheless.
rating
by BB Ryder
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL

This helmet is heavier than my previous hemet which was a Scott Wit-R. However I soon got used to it. It was important to me to get a helmet with the MIPS system in it. So at this price I think it's the best bet.

Reviewed 9/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro helmet
rating
by Anonymous

Fits like a charm and really comfortable

Reviewed 3/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable helmet
rating
by TexBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, TN

I've always used Bell helmets in the past, but the Giro Syntax MIPS helmet is much more comfortable and easier to adjust than any of my previous helmets over my past 30+ years of road cycling. I highly recommend it.

Reviewed 8/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
There is a reason why the Syntax MIPS was Bicycling Mag's choice for 2019.
rating
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Stylish, comfortable, MIPS and a killer price point, what is not to like? I liked it enough to get two color ways, Black and Red and Matte Black and Gray, super comfy helmet.

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A nice helmet for anyone wanting trusty MIPS protection at a very economical price point - a no-brainer!
rating
by nsellars98
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Arkansas
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using the Giro Syntax MIPS helmet for road riding for almost a month now and my impressions are positive. This is my first helmet from the Giro brand and I'd thought I would see what all the hype was about. Many of my riding buddies use Giro helmets (especially the higher end models) and even my dad has this helmet. The large size seems to fit perfectly to my big melon right out of the box and with no adjustments to the straps. The dial at the back of the helmet is easy to adjust on the fly and I can usually get the right fit in about 16-20 clicks. Since I have a full head of hair and usually wear a cycling cap or headband, the airflow seems on par with my previous Bell Stratus and LG Quartz helmets, though, I personally don't think the helmet lacks any airflow - your experience may vary. I got the red and black color to compliment that of my bike and shoes. It looks much better in person but the picture online is pretty close. One thing I find lacking due to the vent placement is a place to securely put sunglasses when not wearing. Despite that small detail, the helmet is comfortable enough to wear all day even with sunglasses on and AfterShokz headphones. It's really light and sometimes I don't even notice I have it on. The deeper coverage of the helmet allows it to sit more forward on my head, and riders I know wished their Specialized and Bell helmets had this same feature. The helmet seems pretty durable over the long-term and I trust that it will keep me from getting seriously injured in the event of another crash. 2020 has not been too kind as I have already had three this year.

Overall, I would buy this helmet again and would recommend it to anyone. What you get when compared to other helmets is simply a no-brainer at this price point. I did quite a bit of research and definitely read my share of reviews before buying. For the sake of your noggin and making informed decisions, I recommend you do the same.

Reviewed 9/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just right!
rating
by Anonymous

Great fit and light. Exactly what I was looking for.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, entry-level helmet
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

Helmet is exactly what I wanted, looks and fits great at an affordable price point.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around helmet
rating
by adjski
Cycling Enthusiast
Sebastian Fla

Helmet fits perfectly. Very comfortable. Good air circulation.

Reviewed 10/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just what I was looking for.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL

The helmet is exactly what I was looking for to replace my many years old Bell Helmet. I wanted one that is light, cool, fits well, has the latest safety technology, and wasn't too expensive. I was not concerned with the make or model or colors, although I like the colors on this one and the it's a Giro. I would buy this again and would recommend it. The only thing I might change is getting a helmet with a visor to shade the sun, but that's personal preference.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable fit
rating
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany, NY

I have alway purchased Giro bike helmets because they fit nicely. This model sits a little lower on the head and feels more secure and very comfortable. This could be because of the MIPS feature.

Reviewed 7/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable fit
rating
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany, NY

I always buy Giro bike helmets because they fit well. The Syntax MIPS model sits lower on my head and feels more secure. The MIPS feature could be the reason for this. The straps hold the helmet firmly on my head.

Reviewed 7/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
rating
by Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really loved this helmet from day one. It was super light weight, comfortable, perfect fit on my very small head, and it looked great too! Unfortunately, today I can write a full review... This helmet literally saved my head/life. I fell of my bike around 16 mi/hr directly on to my left shoulder and my head hit the ground pretty hard as I slid on the road. Not a scratch or bruise on my head, the helmet held up really well, minimal damage to the foam on the inside. I�m giving it 5 stars because it performed really well when I needed it, and the price is good too. The ONE reason I am considering buying a different model is because I can�t fit my sunglasses on it.

Reviewed 11/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.