Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System

GiroRoc Loc 5 Retention System(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(53 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(38)
(8)
(2)
(2)
(3)
(72%)
(15%)
(4%)
(4%)
(6%)
Previous Page
Cheaper to replace than buying a new helment
rating
by JR Bandy
Competitive Racer
Fort Walton Beach, FL
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The design of the Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System is poor. It does not take much for the back area to break apart and require replacement. Very poor design especially since it comes installed on $250 plus dollar helments. I would think Giro could get this right and design a retention system with more durability.

Reviewed 8/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Direct factory replacement
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami Beach

This came and was identical to the one that came with my helmet. Took a little work to get the height adjustment tab to go where it was supposed to. Price was so good that I bought 2.

Reviewed 4/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Designed as a replacement
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Davidsonville , MD
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Unfortunately, I purchased this with the intention of upgrading the Loc 4 with this on a Atmos helmet. They are not designed to upgrade the retention system, only replace an existing Loc 5 restraint. Otherwise, the product is as advertised.

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Too hard to install
rating
by BigE
Cycling Enthusiast
Bradenton, FL
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This is the exact part that comes with the Giro helmet. I give it only three stars because it was impossible to install like original. The sides have round tabs that snap into the helmet easily, but the back has a rectangular tab that twist horizontally into a plastic insert on the helmet. Since the plastic insert was in the helmet I could not twist the retention system into it, and I am almost certain that during manufacturing this plastic insert was put into the retention system first and then on the helmet.

However, you can still use this Replacement Roc Loc 5 retention system by cutting the rectangular tab off and gluing the retention system to the plastic insert. This is what I did, and it works just fine.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Restored my Giro Aeon to 100%
rating
by Mike B
Sunny California

My Giro Aeon was breaking down and I asked a repair savvy friend to recommend a new helmet . He suggested I purchase this kit and save the cost of a new helmet . I snapped a few cell phone pics for a reference and took the broken pieces off and installed this kit and laced my straps using my pics for a reference . The whole project took 15 minutes , required no tools and restored my helmet to like new condition.

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Replacement Saved Helmet
rating
by Christov10
Cycling Enthusiast
Stepford, Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I overcame my fear screwing up the repair after watching a couple of YouTube videos on replacing the Roc Loc 5 retention system on my Giro Foray bargain helmet. I've had it for a couple of years - the helmet - and a piece of the original retention system broke loose near where the part that connects to the helmet's rear intersects with the part that holds the adjustment wheel and also connects forward left and right. Getting the strap back through the retention system is what freaked me out the most, but I managed it in two tries by exercising patience and with the certainty that I couldn't mess up the helmet worse than it was when the original part broke. I'm very pleased with the result as I like the Foray helmet better than my old Catlike Compact'O.

Reviewed 6/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Roc Loc 5 replacement retention system
rating
by SlimPickens
74011
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This product is a perfect replacement part for rehabilitating my helmet. Im back in business.

Reviewed 4/4/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
EXCELENT!
rating
by Rafy Vazquez
San Lorenzo, Puerto Rico

Is a great retention system and easy to adjustment!

Reviewed 1/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works in my helmet! just like the original
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

works as a replacement in my giro chronicle helmet. way cheaper than buying a whole new bucket when only the roc loc was broken. easy enough to replace by yourself too.

Reviewed 12/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works ok
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Evans, Colorado

One side of this where it snaps into the helmet didnt fit to well and it keeps coming out of the retainer in the helmet. Other than that it works like it should

Reviewed 11/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
OEM replacement saves me having to purchase a new helmet
rating
by MBC in ABQ
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM

My favorite helmet is a Giro which uses the Roc Lok 5 retention system. The fit, adjustability and comfort of this helmet was just right, so when the (rather flimsy) retention system side strap broke, I was happy to find its exact replacement. As for fit and function, I give the retention system a five star rating, but because its plastic or nylon parts are not exactly robust, and for how difficult to install, I'll take off one star. The helmet has lasted with almost daily use since June 2014, so 2 12 years of use before the retention strap failed is pretty good, but not great. All plastic andor nylon is subject to UV decay, so the expense of replacement is not a big deal.

Installation is a bit tricky. Before you remove the old system, memorize how it fits, or better yet take a picture with your phone so you won't be frustrated how it goes back together (especially the end of the center strap). The side straps snap into place easily, but the center Y shaped strap takes some fiddling to get it to snap into the receiver which is part of the helmet. I had some small electronic chain-nose pliers which were essential in this process. I spend quite a while trying unsuccessfully to get the pieces to snap together using only my fingers. If you do use some sort of tool, be careful not to force and break anything, as there are two very small tabs that must mesh to secure the center strap. Giro could have made this part of the replacement easier, but it's probably a necessity to make sure this piece doesn't come unsnapped in a crash that necessitates the fit being so tight. Overall it's like getting a new helmet.

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Effective Repair of a Really Good Helmet
rating
by Christov10
Cycling Enthusiast
Stepford, Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As others have noted, this Roc Loc 5 retention system replacement part repaired what had been, up until a plastic tab broke out of the original system near the adjustment wheel, my favorite bike helmet ever. Installation, again as others have noted, would have been problematic without one or two helpful YouTube videos. Well worth the price.

Reviewed 8/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helped save a perfectly good helmet
rating
by JBIthaca
Cycling Enthusiast
Ithaca, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Took a little while to figure out how to install the replacement system. No directions. Found a video which showed how to do it. Would help if Giro included a description or video on their site on how to replace.

Reviewed 2/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does not fit an Air Attack
rating
by DaveP
Cycling Enthusiast
Kona, HI
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I took them at their word that it fit newer helmets. It doesn't fit the Air Attack - back it goes. The review is based upon that.

Reviewed 6/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrible
rating
by Johnsen
Competitive Racer
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bad design. Broke 2 wheels in first month and 2 since trying to be careful. LBS says you're supposed to adjust it once and never touch it again. Uh huh. That might work for a pinhead, but not normal people who sometimes wear a hat underneath.

Reviewed 7/10/2014
WesternBikeworks.com Comments

Hi,

I'm sorry you've been having such bad luck with these. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at [email protected] so we can help you out with a replacement.

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super fit
rating
by Anonymous
Houston
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ordering stuff like these small parts when they are not at hand to compare is troubling at times.

I did order this piece and it DID fit PERFECTLY.

Thanks

Reviewed 7/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cheap and easy way to extend the life of the helmet
rating
by Dennis
Competitive Racer
Grand Junction, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love the Giro helmet, but the tiny little plastic pieces in the retention system broke in the duffel bag. I tried gluing them, taping them, yelling at them, all the usual fixes, but nothing lasted for more than one ride. Then I found this. At $20 shipped, it was a little bit bigger portion of the total price of a new helmet than I wanted to spend, but this one still has a few years of life in it, and the fit is perfect. So I ordered it, swapped it out in 2 minutes, and now I have a fully functional helmet again. Now I'm just being more careful with transporting the helmet. Seriously, why is this made with such small pieces as the main link holding the helmet on your head??

Reviewed 7/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect fix, it saved me over $100.00 to fix my helmet instead of replacing it
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my broken lock system. You offer the least expensive and most timely service for my biking need. No negatives to speak off

Reviewed 11/4/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great, but don't install it on a cold day
rating
by AbqSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque NM
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The other reviewers are correct, turn the tab to 90 degrees, slip it into the slot then rotate it into place.

But I COULD NOT get this to work. It was a cold day, and the plastic was too rigid to move into place.

The next day I dipped the part into very hot water, bent the groove a little open, and popped it in with no trouble at all.

Works great, helmet like new.

Reviewed 5/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System Replacement saves the cost of a new helmet!
rating
by Terry
Cycling Enthusiast
Salinas, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For $15, I was able to repair an otherwise perfectly good $200 helmet. Good value in my opinion.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page