FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Giro Empire E70 Knit Road Shoe

GiroEmpire E70 Knit Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(74%)
(26%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Comfortable enough
rating
by JM
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX

Got these shoes mainly for indoor training, hoping my feet would run cooler. They do provide some improvement over my current shoes but not a much as I had hoped. That said the shoes are well made and comfortable. I was pleased the fit (size 47) was similar to my current Shimano road shoes. Another big plus for me was the stack height with Shimano SPD-SL cleats was effectively the same as with my current shoes. The laces have been fine so far for indoor training but I think I prefer the flexibility of BOAs over laces. So I would recommend these shoes to a friend but with the caveats I have mentioned.

Reviewed 5/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding.
rating
by Fatboy
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area

These shoes are lightweight and very rigid something that I was unsure would be the case given their knit construction. I chose Giro because they are built on a slightly narrower last than many other brands. This suits my feet perfectly. They are well ventilated and probably not for wet weather rides. They are much more comfortable than the Siri Genius that I have ridden for years, cradling my feet without poking or scratching. I wear them on brisk day rides from 25 to 70 miles on a carbon road race bike. Frequently lots of climbing and the shoes are plenty stiff.

Reviewed 3/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, lightweight road shoe
rating
by Anonymous
SF Bay Area

Very lightweight and breathable road friendly shoe!

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding
rating
by Ax

Outstanding shoe at a great price along with outstanding service.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my frist pair of giro and i am super please with them.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Port St Lucie, FL

I cycle on the weekend for over 100 miles and the fit and comfort is great. And they look great too.

Reviewed 8/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great boot
rating
by Jack P
Danville CA

I would highly recommend. The empire shoe is light, stiff, and comfortable. I haven't had any foot issues (no hot spots, numb toes, heel slippages). Finally a shoe that is stay up with the athletic shoe business with advancing technology. I've been a long time SiDi fan. Sorry SiDi. Giro empire is my newest favorite accessory.

Reviewed 5/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Knit tech rocks
rating
by Jacobus
Danville CA

The Giro empire is an amazing cycling boot. Ive only ridden SiDis before making the change. Im not looking back. The fit is true to size. The lacing gives more support without the continued adjusting needed on non lacing shoes. Ive used them on cool morning rides with wool socks and I was very comfortable. Id highly recommend.

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super cool shoes indoors and out
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Big fan of Giro Empires for my low volume, flat feet. This innovative knit model doesnt disappoint. Bought these because I was trashing my other shoes sweating it out indoors on the trainer. These are really well ventilated , and after a 2hr Zwift session my feet dont feel like theyve been in a sauna. They are pretty narrow for a medium width though, especially in the heel and forefoot, so if you have wide Fred flintstone feet look elsewhere. Same sizing as my Empire Acc, and Shimano RC701- all 44. The stock footbed is above average quality, very comfortable and should work for most feet. You get a spare set of laces too.

Super comfortable like slippers and feather light. The lower end EC70 carbon soles feel great pedaling, and are plenty stiff for my 158lbs and puny watts, but if youre a big power guy or sprinter, I could see how you may want for something stiffer. Look awesome too (greyhighlight color), cant wait to rock these outside when the weather warms up.

Reviewed 2/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Airy and cool
rating
by George
Competitive Racer
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

There are many things to love about the Empire Knit Shoe and one issue that should be addressed by Giro with the next redesign.

I have a fairly wide fore and midfoot, but narrow heel (nobody is perfect) and despite the reputation of Giro shoes as narrow, these fit very well. The Knit material is far more forgiving than the most common synthetic materials used in cycling shoes these days. It is almost akin to natural leather, with the added bonus of all the extra ventilation. It stretch and confirm to the shape of foot and so far, I have not experienced. The heel is good and I have not experience any lift. My other shoe (Specialized S-Work 6, both in 46) has a roamer toe box (although it feels narrower as there is very little give) and a far more secure heel cup.

I also love the lace, although, unless you are a true acrobat, you cannot adjust on the fly.

The one thing that can be better is the sole. The EC70 sole is good, but not outstanding and compared to my S-Work, it feels like a wet noodle. I hope Giro will decide to use a stiffer one in the future.

On the road, or as I am using this shoe, indoors on the trainer, it is super comfortable. The knit material is supremely breathable and I have to yet to experienced, hotspots, hot foot or sweating.

So

Pro Super breathable, near costume fit, relatively cheap

Con Sole should be a little stiffer (even if it is more expensive)

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best road shoes I've ever worn..
rating
by RMbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Berthoud, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

...per what the other reviewers have said, they're light and airy, but the comfort is what's really amazing. It's like wearing a perfectly fitting running shoe. Yes, they runlook narrow, but per the other reviews, there's a lot of room in the toe box. I have a CD width foot, but once I get them on, they're just fine. I've had about 4 rides and I can feel them breaking inconforming to my foot every time. I've been riding a 45 Shimano, and most of what I've heard says that the Giro sizing is true to size. I ordered a 45 Giro, and they're just fine.

For everyone but hardcore racers, I think knit shoes are the wave of the future, and Giro is definitely ahead of the pack.

Reviewed 7/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, well fitting shoe. Breathability is nice for warmer weather. Stiff yet forgiving sole.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
san francisco, ca
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Been a big fan of the Giro Empire series ever since they were first released. Own the original, ACC, SLX, and now E70. They fit well with a roomy toe box and I like the laces which allow more customization for fitment depending on the ride.

Pros These are the most comfortable of the series in my opinion due to the softer knit uppers. They are also more breathable which will be nice for warmer weather conditions.

Cons Not sure how they would feel once the weather gets colder - toes may get too chilly and numb. I feel like the sole has more flex in it compared to the SLX and ACC when putting down hard efforts, but it's certainly no slouch.

With the softer stretchy uppers, slightly more flexible soles, and great breathability, I think the E70's are the perfect shoe for longer rides (centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonneurs, etc) in warmer weather. Lastly, I love the rad styling, especially in the multi-color!

Reviewed 10/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fit and performance outstanding
rating
by thewheelieguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana

I always ride Giro shoes so I knew the width and the sole would be to my liking. Other than that, I've been very pleased with the lightweight (lots of travel) and breathability that the knit offers. Giro has done it again, made an outstanding product which I'll keep using for years to come

Reviewed 7/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable well-made shoe
rating
by Kw-2wheel
Cycling Enthusiast
Frederick, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am familiar with Giro shoe products. The E70 seems to fit a bit more snug but is still extremely comfortable. I prefer lace-up shoes to strap and buckle, they are more comfortable. A very solid sole when pedaling. I also like the look of the mesh. I wear an 11US size and the Euro45 fits well.

Reviewed 8/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice
rating
by jeffst
Cycling Enthusiast

Great summer shoe

Reviewed 7/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Please give me 50 I need something from y'all
rating
by Eddie
Competitive Racer
Houston , Tx
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Best shoes

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I want more I LOVE THEM
rating
by Eddie
Competitive Racer
Houston , Tx

I do a lot of cycling and this is by far one of my favorite pair of shoes, I love them

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best road shoe ever
rating
by Anonymous
Fullerton, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love this shoe. Light, and comfortable. Been riding a long time, this is the only shoe that did not give me 'hot foot' on a 100 mile ride.

Reviewed 3/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice shoes
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Raleigh NC

My 1st pair of lace shoes. I wear a 45 UK shoe and they are very narrow in fit so beware if you have wide feet. They are comfortable and stylist.

Reviewed 6/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing adjustability, no more wide foot rubbing.
rating
by jmdomag
Casual Cyclist
Roseville, CA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Casual training rider

Reviewed 3/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.