1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Giro Cinder MIPS Road Helmet

GiroCinder MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(72%)
(23%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great fit.
rating
by Steve
Prattville AL

Fits as expected. Looks great & makes my head look smaller ??

Reviewed 9/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fit but airflow is not great
rating
by SharetheRoad
Cycling Enthusiast
81301

This helmet has nowhere near the airflow of my older Aeon, nor is it nearly as lightweight. I choked on the price of an Aether and availability was non-existent so I settled. On the plus side, the MIPS kind of seems like a positive, but I'll mostly wear one of my other helmets, especially when it gets hot.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light weight with good ventilation
rating
by bob
Cycling Enthusiast
St George, Utah

excellent bike helmet with plenty of ventilation areas

Reviewed 9/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helmet at this price point
rating
by RAP
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City

Wanted a MIPS helmet without breaking the bank. The Giro Cinder fits the bill. Comfortable and looks good. Waiting for a sale makes this very attractive.

Reviewed 4/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice, reasonably priced MIPS helmet.
rating
by arniebp
Cycling Enthusiast
Whidbey Island Washington

Comfortable and easy to adjust, good air flow through the helmet. Having received a concussion in a bike crash, I wanted the MIPS system in my next helmet but didn't want to break the bank. This helmet fits my needs.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet at great price!
rating
by RAP49
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City

I like the look and feel of this helmet. I only wanted to purchase a MIPS helmet at an affordable price and the Giro Cinder fit the bill. It feels light and the retention system is comfortable. I highly recommend.

Reviewed 8/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
rating
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fits nice and snug.

Looks modern.

Great airflow.

Only bummer is the helmet feels like stands up pretty high its tall, which looks and feels kinda odd.

Reviewed 9/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The helmet fits great and I am very happy with the mips design.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York, NY
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I commute with this helmet daily and have not found any reason to complain about this product.

Reviewed 3/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Cinder
rating
by Anonymous
New York.

This is my first Giro helmet i have purchased and I am glad that I did. The helmet is extremely comfortable due to the adjustments that can be made with the dial on the back. There is an additional adjustment inside the helmet that can be used to add additional comfort. I had measured my head in order to purchase the right size. I was surprised that I fit into a small even with a cycling cap underneath the helmet. I would recommend purchasing this helmet if you are replacing an existing helmet or purchasing your first helmet.

Reviewed 4/19/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this Helmet
rating
by k*
Cycling Enthusiast
North Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Giro helmets for 15-20 years because they have okay adjustability and a decent fit and usually pick the $50-75 dollar ones, but this Cinder is so much more comfortable with great airflow. It's light, stays rock steady in place so much so that I just don't notice I'm even wearing a helmet as much. Even the straps are more comfortable and easier to adjust. I decided to try the Cinder because of a good price match and some VIP bucks to make it a steal but wow am I'm impressed with this helmet. Definitely recommend.

Reviewed 8/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super nice helmet
rating
by Road, gravel rider
New England
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great air movement, comfortable, and, I�m told, not bad lookin�.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid GIRO offering.
rating
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Seems to fit more snug than prior GIRO helmets but otherwise true to past sizing. Need a warmer day to test ventilation. Not heavy like their Monarch helmet for MTB.

Reviewed 11/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Really Cool Helmet
rating
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better, and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

Bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Really Cool Helmet
rating
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, Arkansas

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

I bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet comfortable in hot weather.
rating
by Roadogmak
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have used helmet for 2 months now with temps low to mid 90s F, high humidty and riding 100 mileswk. Helmet has good airflow and is not too heavy. Helmet is sized too large for me, I have always worn a Large with a summer skull cap underneath and need room for a heavier wool cap in the winter. With this helmet I have to tighten the adjustment knob to the max to prevent the helmet from moving on my head after persperation builds up. Helmet movement is also a result it's slippery plastic headband (may be part of helmet's safety design feature). The additional safety the helmet offers makes it a worthwhile investment for me. You may want to consider purchasing a smaller size than you normally wear.

Reviewed 8/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Aero Issue?
rating
by Garth
Cycling Enthusiast
LAOC Counties
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

After 3 years with the Giro Synthe, it was time to replace it. I selected the Cinder as it was on sale, had MIPS, resembled the Synthe, and had the colorway I wanted. I'm not completely happy as the Cinder seems to rotate towards my eyes as I ride fast, especially downhills. Using the dial adjuster in back only serves to cause me headaches and the helmet still rotates. This is my fourth Giro helmet and two have saved my noggin in crashes or accidents. I'll go back up the line to the Synthe or higher for my next helmet. I won't be waiting long as this one is annoying.

Reviewed 6/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright, comfortable and good air flow, I'm believer in the MIPS safety system
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

..

Reviewed 7/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helemet - similar to the Synthe
rating
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet looks very similar to the Giro Synthe helmet. The venting is close to the Synthe as well. The plastic inner liner of the MIPs structure seems to make the helmet a little hotter and the helmet is not super light. For the money though this helmet provides features that are very close to the more expensive Synthe.

I actually prefer the look of the Cinder helmet.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast service
rating
by NE BIKER
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon PA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great products!!!!

Reviewed 12/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit but doesn't do well to push sweat away from my face.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, California
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Overall fit well and comfortable. The strap and adjustment and well made and work as intended.

Like all helmets, my biggest complaint is they do a poor job of re-directing sweat away from the face.

I ended up using a Halo Headband underneath and there is enough adjustment to fit right.

If i try using the Halo Headband with Solar flap (to cover the neck) then the fit is too tight.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.