FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Giro Ambient Skull Cap

GiroAmbient Skull Cap(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Love this CAP. It fits well and keeps you warm but not overheated. I am ordering a 2nd one.
rating
by MPCHGO
Cycling Enthusiast
Frankfort, IL

I am a weekend cyclist and this cap is a must in the Midwest since it does not get warm until mid June. This cap fits very well (I have the LXL) and works well with my helmet.

Reviewed 4/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect cold weather cap
rating
by SwissRic
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City

It fits great under my helmet and keeps my head and ears warm. Allows my head to breath as well.

Great

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dry and warm ears
rating
by Eamon
Cleveland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This hat rocks. It was a replacement for a PI thermal hat that was out of stock. I love the the way the hat wicks away moisture and the brim keeps the rain off of my face. I rode 40 miles this past Sunday in a cold rain and my head stayed dry and warm. If only it could protect me from the spray off the wheel in front of me.

Reviewed 1/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Finally found the right cap!
rating
by Slim
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee

I bought this cap for 20-50 degree (F) road bike riding and training. The short bill is excellent to help keep the rain from dripping off the helmet into the eyes and the wind stop frontal section is just what you need to make the cold bearable at speed.

My head size is approximately 6 5/8 (small) and the fit is nearly perfect. My only note is that the ear flaps tend to creep up very slightly. This is no problem since I wear a thin baklava over this cap on cold days and it holds the ear flaps in place. I would purchase this again as it it completely satisfies my search for cold weather protection, light weight, and fit. As mentioned above, I do wear a very thin baklava for added face and neck comfort on the colder days.

Reviewed 5/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It is a great skull cap
rating
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

It is a great skull cap for cold weather riding. It fits perfectly under my Giro helmet, and is very comfortable. The ear protection is much better than my other skull caps. I use my sunglasses with this cap, and have no complaints with the glasses falling or getting away.

There is some wind noise, but not as much as my other caps with the ear flaps down. When the ride warms up,

the ear flaps go up and it works as a wonderful temperature control.

I wish I had these sooner!!

Reviewed 3/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Fit and Weight
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kentucky

I use it under my helmet on coldchilly days. Fits perfect under my Giro Helmet and is not too hot when the day gets warmer and I get warmer. Have worn it comfortably enough up to almost 60 degrees, typically wear when below 50ish at start.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does the job well
rating
by Woodcraft
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Having used the Giro merino winter cap for years,

I've given this a try, & it's working well.

Covers the ears, but you can uncover them on the fly for temperature control.

Not overly warm- I used a 2nd thin skull cap for a 40 ride, fits under helmet well.

Get the large size- tight fit cuts circulation.

The best part is the brim, which is enough to keep rain out of the eyes, but doesn't obstruct vision

when in a low position- a problem with many caps including the merino one.

Reviewed 12/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great cap
rating
by rockn Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
Weatherford, OK
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

used this cap in temps from 40's to the 50's. keeps your head warm. the ear flaps want to flip up when riding.

Reviewed 12/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good hat
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good design,warm,wind proof front and breathable.

Reviewed 2/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Giro Product. Giro is my go to for riding stuff.
rating
by JimD
Cycling Enthusiast
Holyoke, MA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Wind proof great. Ear coverage great. There is nothing to dislike about this product. Material is great. Just got it rode about 5 rides in pretty cold temps. Love it. Great under my ski helment also.

Reviewed 1/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great cap
rating
by rockn Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
Weatherford, OK
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

used this cap in temps from 40's to the 50's. keeps your head warm. the ear flaps want to flip up when riding.

Reviewed 12/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bald Head
rating
by miken
Cycling Enthusiast
Menomonie WI
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride year round and wear some kind of hat under my helmets round. This is perfect for fall and spring rides. Fits perfect.

Reviewed 12/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Cap
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Buffalo NY
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This cap is really good - I use it everyday on my winter commuting rides. I covers my ears and the small brim is good as well. It conforms well to my head and fits snug, but not too tight.

I had an initial concern that it would be either too bulky or not warm enough. Neither was the case. I am surprised at home warm it is for being so thin, but when the temperature drops below 15 F, I put a balaclava over it and I am still able to get my helmet on.

Reviewed 12/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.