1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Garmin Varia RVR315 Rearview Radar

GarminVaria RVR315 Rearview Radar(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(96%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great addition to my gear
rating
by Rick1
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit MI

I like the alerts of cars behind me provided on my 520 Edge and even more on the Garmin app on my phone which I have mounted on in front of me on a quad lock. Sometimes get false readings when riding in a group. This should not replace a rear view mirror, but works great in conjunction with it.

Reviewed 12/19/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely helps as eyes behind
rating
by TeeArgh
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

More a 3.5 star I�d say. Works well with my Wahoo, and I appreciate that the screen will show multiple cars and change from yellow to red when cars are approaching at high speeds. I�ve ridden with the Varia for about a month now, and I�ve only had two cars pass me that weren�t detected and didn�t show up. That said, often times other riders show up as cars, so this thing isn�t flawless and there is no way that I was able to research to adjust sensitivity. That said, I�d rather false alerts than missing a car completely. Do not rely on this thing to be 100% accurate and use it more as an added alert system to help be your eyes behind you, and it should do you well. It�s not a replacement for alertness and common sense.

Now, Garmin, let�s talk about the post mount on this thing, or more accurately the �security� rubber O ring and recesses on the unit. That is a garbage solution. I�ve seen friends units fall off multiple times from road chatter. For the cost, the lack of security on the fit is inexcusable. I�ve taped over mine to ensure it won�t fall off, and would strongly suggest others do the same. Otherwise, it�s a handy piece of kit.

Reviewed 5/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SAFE FROM THR REAR
rating
by ART
Cycling Enthusiast
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC

THE REAERVIEW RADAR IS A BLESSING FROM SMART FOLKS. SAFETY IS ALL IMPORTANT & THIS BIT OF TECHNOLOGY GIVES CONFIDENCE ESPECIALLY WHEN TIRED THAT YOU CAN KEEP UP WITH VEHICLES APPROACHING FROM BEHIND. SAFETY IS ENHANCED FOR SURE.

Reviewed 9/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Loving it !!!
rating
by patricknd
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston Texas

Works great, with quiet vehicles I get an earlier warning than my ears can give me.

Reviewed 7/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must for all cyclists
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver WA

100% reliable radar lets you know what's coming up behind you. Can't imagine riding without it now

Reviewed 6/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very helpful
rating
by Jack
florida

I ride on the streets with very little traffic but the cars still exceed the speed limit, this warns me when they are approaching , allows me to enjoy the ride and not worry about cars getting to me before I hear them

Reviewed 5/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best safety addition yet
rating
by Ed
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is amazingly useful, it is so handy to know what is behind you and how fast it is approaching. One of the best bike accessory I've ever purchased.

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great, 100% accurate
rating
by Newrunner01
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have now ridden 3000 miles in 2021. I always have the Garmin radar on. Has been accurate with vehicles 100% of

the time. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 5/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple to get started and Great to know what is coming up behind me
rating
by JAR

I�ve had this radar detector for several weeks. I haven�t spent a lot of time trying to get to know all the ways to get notifications and what the different notifications are, but all I really want is a simple audible notification, and it provides that. I use it with RidewithGPS on my iPhone. I had to pair it with RidewithGPS (open the RidewithGPS app on your phone and go to More/Settings/Bluetooth and Sensors), not with my iPhone/Settings/Bluetooth. It isn�t easy to see when it is on, but once you know that it is on when the small blue light on the side flashes, look for that. It is easy to get on your bike since once you have a holder attached to your bike, it snaps in and with a twist, it is secure, and you do the reverse, twist and snap, to get it off so that you can charge it.

That all folks!

Reviewed 1/19/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic Safety Device - Rearview Radar Varia RVR315
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR

I have this device paired to a bicycle computer. It lets me know the situation long before I can hear approaching traffic. What is really great is a second car approaching is also displayed. With this device, I won't be surprised. The algorithm is accurate. I have not had any false readings. On a busy street the radar info is helpful, but radar really shines while riding on secondary roads with intermittent traffic. If I were group riding, radar with taillight might be a good choice. The taillight provides everyone in the group rear approaching vehicle notification. I really enjoy the feeling of knowing the complete situation around me. Reduced stress is valuable.

Reviewed 12/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Price & Reviews
rating
by PTMoe
Cycling Enthusiast
So Maine
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have not actually used this yet because I don't have a Cycle GPS computer yet which I plan on getting before spring. Reading reviews and comments on cycle forums it looks like it's a must have and it was on sale at a good price so I grabbed one.

Reviewed 12/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does what it claims, and does it well
rating
by CC
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have been using this for a few weeks on rural, solo rides, and the overall experience has been very positive and am happy I bought it. Chose this model as I already have a rear light I'm happy with. It does a great job picking up cars from far away when the radar has decent line of sight. But to reap all the benefits of visual alerts plus better audio alerts, it helps immensely to have a garmin/wahoo (or similar) or phone+ridewithGPS mounted on the handlebar. Initially I just used the Varia app on high volume and threw my phone in my jersey pocket, but the alerts were often barely audible over wind noise. Garmin also makes a dedicated radar display, but you're probably better off getting one of the above.

What I like:

- Accurate & reliable detection including car distance, often long before I can hear them (especially helpful with lots of wind noise)

- Supported by a variety of bike computers and apps (ridewithGPS, varia app, wahoo, etc)

- When paired with an app or garmin/wahoo/etc, it shows car distance visually on sidebar on-screen, gives radar battery life warnings, and gives lost connection warnings.

- Gives unique warning for fast-approaching cars

- Small size & very sturdy garmin quick connect mount. I use the mount & provided o-ring on my seat tube.

Other:

- Battery life is not quite as good on this model, but probably long enough for most people to get at least a few rides out of it.

- Wish it had USB-C

- It (or maybe just mine) has an issue with the Varia app where the radar unit itself will just turn off at random while riding and with no warning, but only with the Varia app on my android phone. I have NOT had the issue at all while connected to my Wahoo or when using ridewithGPS app on the same phone. Garmin offered to replace but decided not to since i don't use the app anymore.

Reviewed 9/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extra peace of mind well worth it
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Rhode Island

An extra level of safety I was happy to pay for. It does not work perfectly in all conditions. This device cannot see around a corner or through earth. It will indicate the object behind you is gone if you block it by turning or going over a hill. It will redetect it once you have clear line of sight. I give it 5 stars because it does exactly what it is supposed to - adds a layer of awareness and safety. I pair this with a more powerful light by Lezyne than the one in the Radar/Light combo varient, and it is very effective. The price is steep but very much worth it. My sole complaint is with the mount. Essentially a rubber band holds it to your seatpost. I recommend getting an aftermarket clamp mount.

Reviewed 7/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Indispensable
rating
by 737 Driver
Salt Lake City, UT
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a game-changer.

Without a doubt the most significant piece of safety gear I've purchased (outside of a helmet) in the last 10 years.

I ride a lot of roads with less-than-optimum separation from vehicle traffic. I've increased the visibility/reflectivity of my clothing, added lights, and worn out my neck swinging left and right over my shoulder for traffic.

This changes everything.

The ability to know when traffic is approaching earlier than ever before gives me increased time to adjust and eliminates that "startle jerk" we've all done when the occasional car (usually electric) manages to sneak up and catch us by surprise.

9 times out of 10, the Garmin alerts me to traffic I hadn't even heard yet. Knowing how many targets there are also helps with planning turns, lane changes, etc.

I've still only done a handful of rides with it, but I've never had a false positive, and it's alerted me to a vehicle EVERY. SINGLE. TIME.

There's obviously no substitute for your own eyes, but this is a close second!

Reviewed 6/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works like a charm
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this along with a Garmin 830 during their recent sale. I had heard great things about it both online and from members of our local bike club. Turned out to be one of the best purchases I've ever made. The thing just works. It has always been accurate even for multiple vehicles (it tracks up to 8 at a time). It makes riding so much easier by eliminating the constant looking over your shoulder. I do a lot of riding on rural roads and the Varia definitely keeps cars from sneaking up on me. If you have been thinking about getting one, just do it! You won't regret it.

Reviewed 6/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great assist, although I hear the car(s) as soon as or before the device does, knowing the number of cars is great..
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia, WA

I like this product a lot. It is an extra set of eyes and reduces the need to check back . It is especially helpful with multiple cars, while I ride roads that make it easy to hear cars, it avoids the need to look back to see how many there are. I did have to get a different bike saddle bag to give it a field of view; most of them hang out too low to allow the device to work. Make sure it's charged (and your phone, too, if you use the phone app) as it draws a bit of power. It was a great deal with 33% off but I needed that drop to justify the price.

Reviewed 6/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome safety device
rating
by The Dogfather
Cycling Enthusiast
Winston Salem, NC

Performance of Garmin Varia radar is simply amazing. I do not want to ride on the road without one. Even when several bikes are behind me, the radar invariably still picks up a car approaching.

The alorithm used must essentially be only paying attention to objects closing in from behind. Yes, it may go off when another cyclist closes in from behind. It also will issue the 'all clear' even when a vehicle is behind if such vehicle maintains a steady distance. Just be aware of this.

Getting the device while on sale only added icing to the cake.

It is still good to have a mirror but I really depend on my Varia radar.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
You Can Rely on What it's Displayig
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Park City, UT

I use it with the Varia Android app and it shows me exactly what I want to know. I've never had a false positive or negative. I never liked mirrors as vibration was a problem and my eyes were off the road too much, trying to figure out what the mirror was showing. I chose the RVR315 model because I use an integrated helmet rear light and don't need one on the radar unit. Install and setup were fast and easy although I did have to switch out my underseat tool bag for a frame bag to enable the correct dimensional mount.

Reviewed 4/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best alert system I've used!
rating
by Tjakester
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

I have ridden with a rear view mirror for decades. I like knowing what is coming up and whether any action is required. Occasionally I am surprised to have a car passing too close because I didn't hear the approach. With the Varia there is an audible alert as well as the visual on the Garmin computer. A quick glance in the mirror let's me know if all is good or I need to signal the driver to give more room. Both my wife and I appreciate to added safety.

Reviewed 2/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works better than reasonably expected
rating
by Klaus Fuchs II
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia

Works surprisingly well. Maybe zero false negatives. A few false positives . Always links up to my Wahoo computer. I recommend you buy the model with light that has more battery life. This one can do 2 ea 3 hour rides on a charge and a few times i have ran dead. Normally get 6 second warning of a car on rural roads.

Helps me stay on drops and pushing myself while enjoying the smoother wheel rut on county roads.

Reviewed 8/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.