FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Garmin Varia Radar 2 RTL510 Rear Light

GarminVaria Radar 2 RTL510 Rear Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(49 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(12)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(76%)
(24%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Amazing
rating
by nk
mcminnville
45 of 45 customers found this review helpful.

gives you great reassurance that no one is coming up on you. Find it great on curvey climbs and descents. Country roads it shines!

Reviewed 7/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent rear light and RADAR
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
1 of 47 customers found this review helpful.

I hadn't considered this until I had trouble with cars on faster descents. The RADAR works just as I expected, and gives me enough warning time to look ahead on the road and choose where to bike, and to turn and take a look behind me. This is what I wanted, a reliable device that told when to look. I'd recommend this rear light for anyone.

Reviewed 9/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Adds confidence to youre ride!
rating
by Mark12

Wish I could ride with this all year. In the cooler winter weather near Chicago, this unit causes my Garmin 520 Pluss battery to die early so I have learned not to use it in the winter.

Reviewed 4/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Improvement on the original Varia!
rating
by Taco
Cycling Enthusiast
Park City, Ut
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

As an owner of the original Varia, my only real complaint was battery life. Version 2 has fixed that. The original was good for 4-4.5 hrs, I have yet to come even close to draining the battery on my new model. Might be a tad heavier (I haven't weighed it) but well worth the tradeoff!

Reviewed 8/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you don't have eyes in the back of your head you will benefit from this varia
rating
by Sean V
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles

Likes the included mount fits on my pinarello aero seat post. It's fairly small but still very bright. It changes flash patterns and intensity when cars approach. It works seamlessly with my garmin 520 head unit. I ride with a small mirror on my glasses but this gives me MUCH earlier warning for approaching cars (and I'm not always staring at my mirror either). The radar works fabulously on smaller, more lightly traveled roads where you may not hear a car till the last minute. I find the display very easy to interpret. The form factor of the this model varia is nicer sleeker than the original model and works just as well.

Dislikes the seat mount is just a rubber band with a standard garmin quarter twist mount. The twist part feels very secure to me but the actual assembly tends to rotate on the seat post from time to time. It's an easy fix, even while riding but I'm not always paying attention. Getting it to pair the first time was a little dodgy (if I recall, I had to pair the radar and then also include it as part of a garmin light network, but it was only a one time issue)

Overall I now consider this to be an essential part of my daily riding gear.

Reviewed 8/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Almost perfect!
rating
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

There are two problems. The ding tone in the speedometer unit is not anywhere near loud enough and if your use the unit in the winter, the Garmin speedometer battery will go dead long before the ride is over!

Reviewed 2/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does the job, but a little finiky
rating
by James
Bonsall
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Riding on country roads, cars can kind of sneak up on you. Especially the quiet hybrid and electric types. The radar, synced with an Edge 520, does a great job of giving a heads up on cars and trucks coming from behind. The light is super bright and has a bunch of different flashing sequences. It can be a bit finicky to get the radar working sometimes. I have to turn it offon along with the 520 to get it to sync up properly sometimes. Kind of annoying when youre trying to get going, or dont notice until cars are passing with nary a beep. But when its working properly, it is totally worth it.

Reviewed 2/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Way to Improve Rider Safety
rating
by Avid Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Milwaukee, WI

The 2nd generation Varia has a longer battery life, and is more visible to drivers both daytime and nighttime. The Varia 2 is an excellent improvement over an already great product. I bike commute to work all year around weather permitting, and with short day light hours Nov-Feb, having the rear radar to alert me to traffic as well as provide a highly visible tail light makes this an accessory I never leave home without.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great safety gaget and works well with my Garmin Edge 100 and my Fenix 5.
rating
by Andrew S
Cycling Enthusiast
Falmouth, ME
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use it on my Road and Gravel bike. It really helps given I am hard of hearing to give me early warnings of approaching cars. The Fenix 5 is also paired and it vibrates which is a great alert when I am not looking at my Edge. Also it last a really long time for 100 mile rides.

Reviewed 12/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improved light from older model, Radar still awesome
rating
by styven7
Cycling Enthusiast
Southeast Virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The light is much brighter than the older rectangle model making this a much better product in general. No need to run a second light now.

The radar works flawlessly and seems a bit more sensitive than the old one as well. I did like the way the old one gave you a charge level indicator at start up but that is the only flaw in the new one.

Reviewed 12/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product, never ride without it
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Rio Verde, AZ, Scottsdale, AZ

Riding with the RTL510 gives me better situational awareness. I feel safer while riding with it.

Reviewed 8/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
RIDE WITH MORE SECURITY
rating
by Todd
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, NY
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Wonderful product!!! Takes the fear out of moving from the shoulder into the road when there are hazards. Always know whats behind you.

Reviewed 6/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helps with daily Commute
rating
by efraimb
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this to help when commuting. I know I could have bought a mirror but tech is so cool. Also helps when doing fast long descents I can glance to see if cars are behind me.

Reviewed 8/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great help in a heavy traffic environment
rating
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am a gravel cyclist in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam. To get out into the Mekong region, we have to use various roads, highways, ferries, etc. Having this light has been a godsend. Not only is it incredibly bright, it last for our 6 hour Sunday bike rides. On the flashing mode it can last up to 15 hours.

As for the radar function, I am able to pick up cars and trucks at least 100 meters behind me. There is a small ball that moves up the screen of my Garmin Edge 520 giving me a general idea of how far and where the vehicle is in relation to me. The only fault I have found is that it doesn't always pick up motor bikes as quickly as cars and trucks. However, this might be due to the size of these, the fact that they only go at about 20mph or placement of the radar device on my bike. I am going to move it to the end of my bike rack and see if that improves things.

Reviewed 3/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Second generation rear light.
rating
by griley
Cycling Enthusiast
Crescent City, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really like the improvements in the second generation of Varia. Particularly, the ability to select different patterns for the light depending on conditions, extended battery life, and it is much brighter. I have two concerns. One, the form factor is limiting in how one is able to attach it to the bike. On the original model, it was more compact and convenient. Second, and this may be a user issue, the light goes into pairing mode every time it is turned on.

Reviewed 2/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brilliant tech, just works!
rating
by TX-Scot
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX

The light is very bright and the radar detection of vehicles approaching is very effective, if you go out on solo rides or with small groups on quieter country roads this is incredible good at giving you advanced warning of traffic approaching.

It typically gives you a warning of vehicles approaching about 10 to 20 seconds before you can hear them. Since I got this I have not been surprised by an approaching vehicle once, even on roads where the traffic travels at 50 mph.

The Varia works with a wide range of Gamin cycle computers, I use this with a Garmin Edge 520 and it works flawlessly with it but I was surprised to find it also works well with the Edge 25 I also have.

Overall its a great bit of kit, easy to use and definitely keep me safer while out riding around country roads.

Reviewed 2/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works GREAT! But I wish it had a longer range.
rating
by FlashBazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
7 of 54 customers found this review helpful.

For years, I have ridden with a large mirror on my road bike. It has worked fine unless the sun was low behind me or the mirror fogged. In those situations, the mirror was useless. But in those situations (and all others), the Varia works great! Once a vehicle comes within range, you get an audible beep and the blip shows up on your Garmin. Very dependable. It picks up every vehicle. Relative speed and distance is very accurate.

So . . . why not five stars? Three minor nits 1. It occasionally gives you false positives. One cyclist I ride with triggers it as if he were a car - but just one. Nobody else. 2. I wish the light were brighter. 3. I wish the range were 1.5 to 2 times as far as it is. On roads with a 50 mph speed limit or above, by the time the Varia alerts you of the car's presence, it is upon you. I would just like to receive a few seconds more notice.

This is an amazing device for the price. \

Reviewed 12/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well, but needs more mount options
rating
by bkfeinberg
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupertino, California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've had this for about three months now. It picks up cars at a good range, but you do need to point it straight back, and for those of us who do long distance rides where we need a large saddle bag that is a challenge. I've been mounting it on the left seat stay when I do that, but then it doesn't point straight back or quite level. It's a pity that there aren't more mount options. Also for long distance, it would be nice if there was a mode where it just acted as a radar, and not a light. The battery could last much longer then.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Variable Radar
rating
by Dave
Fort Myers

Originally I thought why would I spend $200 on a tail light for my bike? Well, so far it has been the best money I have spent. Cycling on the road has inherent dangers. With the radar I have a tool that lets me know what is coming up behind me. Combined with mirrors, it certainly helps.

Reviewed 4/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for solo rides
rating
by Anonymous
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Light catches all oncoming traffic. But it can also alert you of other bikers you are riding with. Also can drain your battery on your computer quickly.

Reviewed 3/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page