Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Garmin HRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor

GarminHRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(87 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(63)
(12)
(5)
(5)
(2)
(72%)
(14%)
(6%)
(6%)
(2%)
Worked well until it didn't
rating
by TeeArgh
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I got almost a year out of the HRM Dual, and it worked well for most of that time. I would wash the strap every 6-10 rides after removing the hrm node, hang dry, etc. Started to see dropouts a month or two ago, so I replaced the battery figuring it may be that. It wasn't. Researching it, there are seemingly a few things that go wrong with these, but my strap didn't have any cracks in the contact patches, the battery cavity doesn't have any corrosion, from what I can tell, all the internal cabling was in tact between contacts and connection point, and even after a battery change and vigilant washing to avoid any salt buildup, it would only last the first 10-15 minutes of a ride, then drop out completely. I'd adjust the fit and it would show up on the head unit again, but at a criminally low HR (like 65HR while climbing over FTP). I even tried shaving the chest hair, to no avail. I noticed that one of the contacts on the nodule itself seemed to have some rust underneath the plastic covering the unit on the backside (around one of the circular metal bases attached to the contacts that snap into the strap). This was something I couldn't find examples of online, so I was a little leary of buying and trying another strap, thinking it might be something to do with this corrosion/rust which would mean my HRM unit was toast and a new strap wouldn't remedy the problem.

I opted to buy a new HRM entirely and just anticipate needing to do so once a year or hopefully get a couple years out of these things moving forward, as they're not cheap.

Reviewed 6/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Heart Rate Monitor
rating
by Shane
Nashville

I was hesitant to buy this (I had an older one from 2010) because of all the negative reviews, so far I'm super impressed with how it works and it's Bluetooth connectivity for use with Zwift.

Reviewed 7/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than Wahoo
rating
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, Utah

I had a Wahoo HRM that I used for a few years but was not accurate or consistent. I would constantly have readings that were way off the chart. The Garmin just flat out works. It's dependable and comfortable to wear. I get consistent, accurate readings and never have to question what's going on. Highly recommend.

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works fine but too expensive and battery does not last 3.5 years
rating
by charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My last heart rate monitor (same unit) lasted a year possibly two, but not 3.5. And like all HRM's I've ever used this model does not allow you to replace the battery when it's depleted because it never works, which means you need to toss the whole unit every year or two and start again.

Reviewed 5/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great, but a few tips may help
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Connecticut
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After about a year of use, it began dropping out during a ride. Garmin replaced the strap and suggested a few changes:

(1) Even though instructions said the strap could go in the washing machine, the spin cycle might fold it and break the wires. Now I just remove the module and soak the strap in the sink while I shower after a session, adding a few drops of dish detergent once a week.

(2) Buh Bump electrolyte cream on the electrode patches before each session.

(3) Leaving the module off the strap until the next session may increase battery life.

Electrode patches may be bubbling slightly after a year on the replacement strap. So far it has worked perfectly, but I got a new strap just in case. I do 5-6 sessions a week, fairly heavy use.

Reviewed 2/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it. Very comfortable.
rating
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX

I use this heart monitor when on group rides. Typically 50 mile rides. The strap is easy to put on and very comfortable. Pairing it to Edge 810 was easy. I like the easy slip on clasp. It is comfortable to the point that during the rides I forget that I have it on.

Reviewed 3/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long strap
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR

Bought this to use with my Lezyne computer. Comfortable, works great and Bluetooth connection to my computer fantastic. Only issue is that the strap is incredibly long. While it can be adjusted, it is a bit too loose on my female, 58, 115 pd frame even when shortened as much as possible.

Reviewed 7/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works, Mostly
rating
by Dude.Bike.Repeat.
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got this to connect both my Garmin Edge and my phone in order to have back up in case one goes awry on a ride, which does happen. It connects to the Garmin with ANT and the phone with bluetooth. It works except, oddly, my Garmin Edge will lose connection and I can't get it back while out on a ride. The phone stays connected. I think it loses connection when I power up the Garmin Connect app on my phone, so go figure. Otherwise works as advertised and is great to have HR on both devices when one craps out our produces wacky GPS.

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works as intended, comfortable, and slim
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Initially I was going to buy the one that is made for swimming. For running/cycling I prefer this one, since it is slimmer.

The strap is comfortable and after couple of minutes you wont notice it. The connection to my bike computer is super fast, and very reliable.

Reviewed 2/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Zwift friendly
rating
by Michelle
Brighton, CO

I was frustrated trying to run different devices so that I could race on zwift with heart rate. This HR monitor is great. With the Bluetooth technology, I no longer have to worry about an ANT+ stick adding to the complexity, I can attach the monitor and my trainer to my iPad! Perfect setup.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great with Garmin 530
rating
by AZ cyclists
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ

Good heart-rate monitor, durable, and reliable

Reviewed 4/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised with my Garmin 830. Connecting to other devices (Strava on phone) is inconsistent.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Warrenton, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The monitor pairs relatively easily and reliably with my Garmin 830. The respiration rate is an added bonus. It does not pair reliably with my Android phone for use with Strava.

Reviewed 4/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works well
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I use it for mountain biking and road/gravel. It works well, even in 20-degree temps. I like keeping an eye on my HR since my HR is too high. This makes it easy, and is accurate. It is comfortable too.

Reviewed 12/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great
rating
by Geoffgg
Tigard

Well most head units are Garmin and use ANT, and then Ive got a TACX Neo2 (which Garmin recently bought TACX) which uses Bluetooth with my Apple TV. So if you get this heart rate strap your pretty set as it work seamlessly with both the Garmin headunits ANT and Bluetooth as needed. Plus its comfortable and I like the strap.

Reviewed 7/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Michael
New York

Very convenient to have ANT+ and Bluetooth now

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice HR monitor
rating
by Anonymous

Great connectivity for all sensors

Reviewed 1/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
as advertised and comfortable
rating
by JPL
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

fits well, works and connects to Garmin with no fuss

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Heart rate Monitor
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Works as expected...bought to use with my Tax trainer and zwift...excellent combination

Reviewed 1/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin HRM
rating
by Jsandevil312
Golden, CO

Works perfectly with my Garmin, Peloton, and Strava...plus it was on sale!

Reviewed 6/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does what you expect most of the time
rating
by Anonymous
Rockland, New York

Its a comfortable strap that you wont notice once its on. 95% of the time it does exactly what youd expect. Occasionally you get drop outs where the HR is reporting numbers that are clearly not correct but its probably a few seconds before it corrects itself.

Reviewed 6/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page