1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(58 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(17)
(3)
(3)
(2)
(57%)
(29%)
(5%)
(5%)
(3%)
Previous Page
My go to online bike store.
rating
by JOHN
RENO
Review for Garmin Edge 820
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Western Bike Works is my go to online bicycle shop. They offer great online sales. This is my 4th Garmin Edge. I can't be more pleased.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great online store, great product cakt get better than that
rating
by JOHN
RENO
Review for Garmin Edge 820
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Western Bike Works is my go to online bicycle shop. They offer great online sales. This is my 4th Garmin Edge. I can't be more pleased.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely versatile
rating
by TTRIDER
Competitive Racer
Santa Fe, NM
Review for Garmin Edge 820

There were some minor challenges linking to a Quark Dfour power meter, particularly the cadence feature, but once paired and configured, this unit does it all. Outstanding functionality and customization is endless. I have exactly what I want on the home screen and have set subsequent screens to my needs. Training or racing, the metrics are easily downloaded and sent to myself and my coach for analysis. Available metrics are great, and in a very usable format.

Reviewed 6/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great computer
rating
by Anonymous
Review for Garmin Edge 820
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Garmin 820 meets all my expectations,

Reviewed 9/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect combo
rating
by Two Wheels
Salt Lake City

Combo offers just what I wanted for all three bikes (gravel, road, MTB). Went with the 830 for the touch screen and glad that I did - better than searching for buttons with protective cover and fingered gloves. Like the smaller footprint compared to 1030 series.

Reviewed 9/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It is a very nice GPS bike computer
rating
by AJL
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Garmin works well. It gets updates that get downloaded and installed smoothly.

The interface with the app is not as smooth. Connectivity some times is a problem. Some issues don't seem to have a solution. Ie: the emergency call (crash) feature. So I'm not sure it actually calls anyone in a crash. I just don't want to drop my bike to test it.

The majority of the issues are resolved by a tech support department that is easy to get connected with.

Bluetooth is where most of the connectivity problems are but once you get the hang of it or if you are technologically savvy person then the issue disappears.

The other problem I found is that it doesn't record all jumps on the mountain bike only some. Can't figure it out as I'm not such a great dirt and jump ridder and concentrate more on staying upright and improving my technique.

Don't get me wrong it is a great product.

Hope this helps if you are planning on getting one of this.

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good MTN GPS Bundle
rating
by alexjl
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL

I use this for both my road and MTB rides. It has a lot of screens to customize for each type of ride. It offers a lot of flexibility.

The only think I would add is an easier way to select the bike being used at any point in time. It is necessary to access the app to select the default equipment for the activity. It should automatically select the default equipment for the specific activity.

It should also have a cadence sensor included in the bundle.

It is a good beginning.

Reviewed 9/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
830 is good but not great
rating
by Dan
wisconsin

Screen about the same size As my old u it maybe a smudge larger but not noticeable and easy to view

Touch is pretty spot on

Processor is much faster than before

The jumps feature is kinda fun

The climbing results are nice too

Along with trails maps very cool feature

They claim better battery life but Im not seeing it.

The segments portion is a little clunky if you dont use strava

Overall its an upgrade worth getting

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
rating
by Albert
miami

easy to install, easy to use, accurate information, has the MTB tracks on the maps, a great tool for MTB

Reviewed 7/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Meets and exceeds expectations
rating
by Jesterrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
Review for Garmin Edge 820
6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using my Garmin Edge 820 for about six weeks, including a trip in the Canadian Rockies. I have found the Edge 820 to be very accurate in the data that it provides (speed, distance, heart rate, elapse time, course, altitude), and very reliable. The battery life is better than my Edge 800. I do not usually answer my phone or respond to messages while I am riding, but the blue tooth connection to my smart phone is very convenient in telling me who is messaging or calling me, thus allowing me to answer or respond if I need to.

Reviewed 9/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dependable, accurate navigation tool.
rating
by Kurt Arehart
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Review for Garmin Edge 820
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Edge 820 mostly for pure navigation, with little concern for training metrics.

After a rough start, I learned from fellow 820 users that when using a course developed in RideWithGPS, best to download as a TCX file, and never accept the Navigate To Start? prompt. Following these two tips, I have enjoyed a series of flawless navigation performances, including course types that used to trip up my Edge Touring, like heavy greenway content, out-n-backs and lollypop loops.

Reviewed 2/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disappointing
rating
by Mark A
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton NJ
Review for Garmin Edge 820
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Horrible battery life compared to other models, even with most features disabled.

Touchscreen can be problematic to operate, esp. when there is precipitation.

The amount of features are amazing but after a while you start to ask yourself just how many you actually need. I found myself disabling most either out of the need for simplicity andor improving the battery.

Latest firmware upgrades corrupted the sync process (11.0 fixed finally).

In doing some research, the 500 series seems to be a better fit for me and will deliver much better battery life, i.e. it will survive 75-100 miles for a ride with juice to spare.

Sorry, Garmin, this unit was a bit underwhelming for what I paid.

Reviewed 5/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better but still a few bugs
rating
by TC
Cycling Enthusiast
nj
Review for Garmin Edge 820
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I may have reviewed this already but I don't see it and now I have been using it for about a month. I agree with people that say the touch screen is not something for Garmin to be proud of. It can take several taps to get it to respond. It, therefore, is not up to date in this technology. That said, it otherwise works extremely well. I am not sure it is worth the upgrade to a so-so touchpad from the button 520 model, but it is very good. The one thing to note is that the beeper (if you are using a Garmin Varia with it) is quite faint. Use the included handlebar mount and I can't hear it at all. However, use it with a 3rd party mount that is metal and open in the back and I can hear the beep every time. Another minor problem is how long it takes for the incline percent to measure correctly. Not that important but it should respond better. Overall, despite that, very happy with it. Also, there are many display options to make it better set up for you.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new 820 is just pefect for my cycling training-
rating
by USPSTREK
Cycling Enthusiast
COLORADO
Review for Garmin Edge 820
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Moving up from my Garmin 500 to the Garmin 820 is night and day, I only have more pros than cons since I only had it only 2 months in use, but its definitely technology in the right direction.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent GPS
rating
by Anonymous
Review for Garmin Edge 820
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

If you're as tied into Garmin for your training needs like I am, then this is a great addition. The data and its integration with Garmin Connect and other sites is great. The only downside is the touchscreen is not that great. The 800 was better but the 800 doesn't integrate with Varia Vision

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Display is nice, but I wish it was the size of the 800.
rating
by jimifan73
Competitive Racer
Indiana
Review for Garmin Edge 820
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had a 510 that worked fine but I wanted to upgrade. The upgrades were the color touch screen, improved maps, and a few minor software things. The display is good, but essentially the same size as what I had. IMHO the 1000 is too big and the 510 is too small. The 800 seemed to be Goldilocks, but for some reason Garmin didn't stick with it.

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just what I was looking for
rating
by Old and in the way
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
Review for Garmin Edge 820
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased the 820 to replace my 800 with map card. It is a little smaller and I like the new features like how it links to my iPhone. It came with an out front mount which was a nice touch. I like lots of data as I helps me focus on something other than how tired I am.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated with crisper controls and more features.
rating
by Flash Bazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
Review for Garmin Edge 820
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I previously owned a Garmin Edge 1000. I use the computer for training rides and racing - occasionally venturing out on long exploring rides. The map on the 820, although smaller, works just as well as the 1000 ever did. Sharp resolution. And the control buttons on the 820 are much more crisp and positive. I also prefer the smaller size.

Reviewed 5/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good navigation in a small package
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Francisco
Review for Garmin Edge 820
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I also have an old Edge 500 (bombproof!) and an Edge 1000. The new 820 has a longer battery life than the 1000. The navigation is of course not quite as visible, given the 820's smaller screen size, however, it still navigates well...even on dirt trails. They have improved the software, with the latest update allowing 3 different 'sensitivity' settings for the touch screen.

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another great garmin!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester NY
Review for Garmin Edge 820

A great garmin at a good price. Replaced my 810 with this 820 and the only new feature that I use is the ability to sync over WiFi. Overall a great unit at a decent price.

Reviewed 8/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.