1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(112 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(74)
(27)
(4)
(4)
(3)
(66%)
(24%)
(4%)
(4%)
(3%)
Great Cycle Computer with Many Functions I have yet to Explore!
rating
by CO Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Front Range Colorado

Great computer with many functions I am still learning to use. I bought it to sync with my rear radar/tail light. Works well on both MTB and Road bike using the mount with rubber connector bands. I still have to try mounting the extender on the road bike. Not certain if the extension mount will fit the larger oblong carbon road bars. I like the audible beep for the sharp curve notifications because I typically am not looking at the screen notifications when approaching a sharp switchback! the touch screen is great!

Reviewed 9/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great features. Incredible battery life!
rating
by LS
Massachusetts

Had the 810 before this. I really liked it but once I connected the Varia radar unit to it the seven year old battery showed it's age. The 830 stunned me with its battery life .. still had 70 to 75 percent of a charge after more than 100 miles of riding. Multiple devices connected including power meter, radar, and electronic shifters. I love the incline grade feature and the screen customization. And the display is a dramatic improvement from the 810.

Reviewed 7/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Prefer it to my old 1030!
rating
by PJF
Cycling Enthusiast
SE CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Perfect! Used a 1030 for >3 years thinking I needed its large screen. When it died (Blue Halo screen) I was going to replace it with a 1030+, but then the 1040 came out. Suddenly realized I don't need all the data-obsessed features Garmin includes (which are a pain to have to shut off if that is even possible!), and thought I'd try the 830. Love it:

(1) its screen is just enough bigger than the old 820 screen that data displayed in the 10-window data screen is easily readable

(2) its alert beep is loud enough, though perhaps not quite as loud as the one on the 1030+

(3) about half the weight of a 1030/1030+/1040

(4) fast processor for quick performance

Reviewed 6/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A really good cycling computer
rating
by bikeguru54
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've had many Garmin devices over the years. In my opinion, sometimes Garmin gets it right and sometimes they don't. I think that they got it right with the Edge 830 - although it's too early to know about true durability yet. First, a gripe: Coming from the Edge Explore, going back to a smaller screen seemed a step backwards. However, that being said, the basic cycling information is well displayed and the screens can be customized for just the information I want to see at a glance. I really like the way it integrates with the Varia radar taillight and headlight. It seems that the alert for approaching cars is more noticeable on this unit than the Explore. I have not used all of the included features of the 830 - and one's like the crash alert - I hope I never will! However, the 830 seems like a keeper. Tip: buy the silicone case to avoid damage.

Reviewed 4/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to operate feature packed GPS unit
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

The Garmin 830 is super easy to set up and use. Has all the features most riders would need and more. Navigate to an address and hill climb details are just two of the many useful features. Touchscreen works great. Note that the screen is on the small side.

Reviewed 7/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
830 & varia
rating
by Dave
oregon

I upgraded my display to allow vaira gps to be on the screen. The software in the 830 atomically installed every extra i was using riding. This impressed me!!

Reviewed 7/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good upgrade from the 510.
rating
by Brick
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA

After years with the 510, it was time to move up. The 830 is for the most part intuitive, and the touch screen features allow options to be used while riding. The ability to download segments, particularly climbs, is much appreciated. This makes it much easier to pace the 500 - 2000 foot climbs. The battery life seems excellent, on a number of occasions I have not recharged the battery but there has been plenty of life left for the next ride. The 1030 was tempting, but I prefer the size of the 830.

Reviewed 10/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Improvement from 820
rating
by Rudyt28
Miami, FL

My first Garmin was the 810, later the 820, and now the 830. I used them all for road and MTB. The 810 got the ring and sold it. The 820 I was so disappointed on the battery life on a 8 hours ride that I sold it. The 830 has a better battery life. The screen is a great improvement since it doesn't move when is raining, my 820 used to go all over the place under the rain. The touch screen has the right sensitivity with all the familiar features of the 800 series. Even though it contains a lot of things I don't use, it doesn't glitch or discard my rides as its predecessor.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen is worth it!
rating
by glensand
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bay, CA

I had a Garmin 520 previously, multiple buttons to navigate functions. The 830 is much more user friendly, touch screen navigation is far more intuitive. The only negative I have in countered so far is that it is easy to delete something unintentionally, so take your time..

Reviewed 4/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy setup, easy to use
rating
by trogon
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

Easy to setup with the fields you want to use. Navigation is intuitive. Unit is just a little larger than the 500.

Reviewed 5/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This product met and exceeded expectation.
rating
by John H
Competitive Racer
West of Houston, Texas

Spent quite some time researching whether to get this product versus othe versions. The web site was helpful with sufficient product descriptions for comparisons for my uses. Follow up on the web confirmed the validity of this purchase. The product was priced competitively with the slight reduction sale price. The app is absolute fantastic for setup and operation of the unit. I use this item on my new gravel bike, which I sporadically use on my rest days, so the use has been limited. Pairing with my new Sram AXS on my new Canyon gravel bike was easy and works exceptionally well. Product shipped quickly and would recommend Western Bike Works to fellow racers and riders.

Reviewed 10/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't get lost!
rating
by GravelRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use the 830 to guide me through Oregon's forestry roads, out of cell phone coverage. It shines when the road on the map doesn't exist or is washed out by a landslide. It's clear and easy to read while rattling downhill and offers a wide array of features (if you take the time to learn the details.) I tried a Wahoo and am much happier with the Garmin.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tons of functionality + great battery life
rating
by Barry B
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN & Tucson AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my third Garmin and far & away this is the cream of their crop. On a cross country trip I could sometimes go 60 miles on 17% of the charge. Screen is bright, map colorful. Flips screens off my Di2 buttons (top of the hoods Domane SLR7). Interacts with my Varia with clear readout of approaching traffic. No downsides. Love it!

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Seems much better than the 820 it replaces
rating
by Cyberhoutz
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS

The emergency contact feature is good. Very sensitive and loud. Surprised my wife the time I had a minor fall and it alerted her. I didn't warn her of the feature and she was quite worried. I had to do some convincing over the phone that I was OK and didn't need a rescue. I longer battery life is why I chose to upgrade.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightyears better than the 820!
rating
by Borg
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN

Just finished a 1,050 mile trip with my new Edge 830 and I was wowed. Battery life is incredible with 70% off the charge left after a 109 mile ride, including interacting with a Varia radarlight unit, remote and D-fly. The higher resolution screen is much clearer than older Edges. Touch screen works well and it's consistent linking with my phone via bluetooth is much more reliable than the 820 had been. Responds automatically to the buttons on my Domane SLR7 hoods to change screens forward and backwards. Ride with GPS routing directions were perfectly presented. The only thing I wish was different is the alarm which indicates someone is moving your bike when you're at a pit stop of getting coffee. It does show on your phone but is so quiet bystanders wouldn't pay any attention. It is apparently not adjustable. Overall, far and away the best computer I've ever owned. Love it!!

Reviewed 7/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flexible data screens and fast computer
rating
by Anonymous

Like Garmin connect where there are lots of data screen options. The computer is fast, though the touch screen doesn't work as well in rain or sweat. Wish Garmin use the phone for input more like Wahoo.

Reviewed 1/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Way better than 520+
rating
by Geoff
Tigard, Oregon

I had the 520+ and it did everything I needed so I didn't think I needed to upgrade, well I love biking and this I really enjoy my Garmin and Garmin 830 is better in a lot of ways that I hadn't really thought, it's fast, it's works better in so many ways, I like the touch screen. Anyway: if you aren't sure if you need to upgrade, umm I was more than pleasantly surprised and so glad I did.

Reviewed 11/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BIg Improvement over 820!
rating
by aharmon666
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth MN

I've been using a Garmin 820 for years, and learned to accept the glitchy touch screen sensitivity, display limitations and cluttered look of many of the pages. The 830 represents a vast improvement on all counts - it is simply a joy to use. Even the charging port cover is more robust!

Reviewed 10/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Loving it so far
rating
by Sandy
Oregon

I hate to say that I have not had time to learn all it can do! But as a bike computer, it is awesome. Easy to read and customize. Can't wait to start using the navigation components!

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice head unit
rating
by Anonymous
NYC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great upgrade from the 520 which only fault was battery life. Typical Garmin learning curve needed.

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.