FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
Garmin Edge 820

GarminEdge 820(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(11)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(64%)
(24%)
(2%)
(4%)
(4%)
How great it is!
rating
by J. F.
Michigan

I absolutely love my new Garmin 820. The pinpoint accuracy, all the available readings, the ease of setting it up and moving from one bike to the other, the Bluetooth and the map is great... just need to get used to a small map.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not up to Garmin Standards
rating
by Jetdiesel
Competitive Racer
Spokane, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Transitioned from Garmin Edge 510 to this 820. Hasn't been a smooth transititon. Syncing via BT to iphone is clugey and inconsistnt, syncing with Garmin Connect, much the same. Have twice satarted a ride after pulling 820 off charger, only to have it die 3 minutes into ride. Apparently when synced to BT, it may not power down, or apears to power off then doesnt fully, so continues to run down-even connected to charger! Calling Garmin service support has been a nightmarish experience as well. In the past, customer support has been GREAT, but current hold times are in the hours. They may or may not call you back with experienced support. Thank goodness for google and you tube. Unless the 820 improves, likely my last Garmin device.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great investment and very easy to use
rating
by Anonymous
Bend, Oregon

Very user friendly,easy to download routes and the turn by turn instructions are easy to read and follow

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great computer
rating
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Garmin 820 meets all my expectations,

Reviewed 9/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to operate Garmin
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

While smaller than the 1000 it has all the features you need and easy to operate. The buttons are easy to access, touch screen works well and easy to read.

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice, full featured compact unit
rating
by Kbogey
Cycling Enthusiast
Surrey, BC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I really like this unit so far. It has a nice, compact size that blends nicely with the front of my bike, it picks up gps signals almost instantly and has been very reliable so far.

The mapping works well but don't buy this unit if you're big on mapping because it is simply too small. Go for the Edge 1000 instead.

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Don
southern california
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love the Edge 820. This has to be the best bike gps on the market. It's calculates everything, gives u a map of ur rides, and when ur friends get 1 u can challenge and have fun with them. I never thought my friends would get one because there so expensive but one did and now we try and beat each other's times when we're not riding together. So, If ur thinkin abt getting one, get it. U won't regret it.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big improvement over my Edge 800 it replaced.
rating
by FBer
Cycling Enthusiast
Visalia, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Edge 820 on both my Mountain and Road bikes. It replaces an Edge 800 used on my Road bike and an Edge 500 used on my Mountain bike. The screen visibility in both low light and bright light is superior to my other Edge computers. Set-up was easy. I like the way ride data downloads wirelessly to my cell phone ap. Overall, very happy with the purchase. This is my third Garmin bike computer and the best to date. The purchase from WBW was easy and a good value.

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin seems to have got it right the first time on this one!
rating
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati Ohio
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I was apprehensive about getting this due to Garmin's track record of having software bugs that take multiple version upgrades over a year or so to work out, however this one so far seems to be right on arrival. Mine came with version 2.4 which worked fine the first few rides. A new version was available (3.1) and I allowed the upgrade and it still works great. Zero issues. The mapping is nice and the touch screen while perhaps a little more sensitive than the 510 is not an issue for me, and it's actually bigger than the 510 while the body is smaller. Being smaller is possible due to the location of the buttons for startstop and lap being on the bottom edge, not the screen plane bottom like the 510. The location of the buttons with a KEdge mount does make it a little tighter getting to them because there isn't much room between the bar and button to stick your finger in, but you just need to bump the switch lightly so it's not an issue for me. I like the auto dimming screen too. Auto upload is nice. It will be interesting to see what IQ apps are available in the future for this. There are some interesting ones with quite advanced training metrics to use during a ride. Some are free and some you will need to pay for. Right now, very happy camper. I'll update if I have any issues as I get more use with it - right now I've had it a week and have about 200 miles over 6 rides on it so admittedly limited data.

Reviewed 9/1/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great route planning functions when it works, but with frustrating flaw
rating
by DGonzales
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use(d) the 820 Edge (and previously a 520) to plan routes on my computer using Ridewithgps and then transferring them to my garmin device. Also to log my rides by transferring data back to my computer. Unfortunately, the Garmin devices have a persistent problem communicating with PCs, which is well documented in online forums. After a while, the PC will not recognize the Garmin when it is plugged in. I returned my 520 twice ($99 each time) for replacement refurbished ones. The 820 is approximately 6 months old and I have already returned it once for a replacement. The support page has a procedure for fixing the problem, but it does not work consistently. I really like the thing when it works, but it is useless to me when it doesn't.

Reviewed 1/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good but not great
rating
by Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've had the 820 for about a year now and here are my thoughts.

Things it does well

Connect to a bunch of sensors flawlessly and easily, connect to phone via BT much better than my Garmin 510, group connect works well, navigation works well and workout screens are ok. Connect IQ apps for training peaks is very nice to have.

What I don't like

The touchscreen sensitivity annoys the hell out of me and if the 520 had group connect I would never have bought the 820.

Reviewed 12/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good but not great
rating
by Anonymous
Little Rock, AR

I've had the 820 for about a year now and here are my thoughts.

Things it does well

Connect to a bunch of sensors flawlessly and easily, connect to phone via BT much better than my Garmin 510, group connect works well, navigation works well and workout screens are ok. Connect IQ apps for training peaks is very nice to have.

What I don't like

The touchscreen sensitivity annoys the hell out of me and if the 520 had group connect I would never have bought the 820.

Reviewed 12/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Significant Upgrade from the 810 well designed touch screen, super sensor connections, more intuitive menus
rating
by PDXjohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I'm not a techie, so the fact that I could set up on my own without instructions says a lot. I love the voice navigation via iPhone, map has section with turn-by-turn directions, courses work well and the ability to put in a destination and the app guides you there is pretty great. A must-have for anyone who wants a very usable bike toycomputer )

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Significant Upgrade from the 810 well designed touch screen, super sensor connections, more intuitive menus
rating
by PDXjohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I'm not a techie, so the fact that I could set up on my own without instructions says a lot. I love the voice navigation via iPhone, map has section with turn-by-turn directions, courses work well and the ability to put in a destination and the app guides you there is pretty great. A must-have for anyone who wants a very usable bike toycomputer )

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Small with big features
rating
by JC_NJCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey

This is my 4th Garmin device going back to the 705 and all of them arewere very good. This newest one (for me) tops them all with all its features and connect options including being able to connect to your phone and to other Garmin devices. Maps are also very intuitive and has never given me any issues.

Reviewed 11/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!
rating
by J W Smith
orlando

Great improvement over the 810. Updates are easy with Wi-Fi and so far has been flawless.

Reviewed 10/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great device
rating
by PDX cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon

I map routes on Ride with GPS and upload them to the 820 which automatically syncs with Garmin Connect and my phone. Good battery life. Simple to use. Improved accuracy over the edge 800 I used for several years.

Reviewed 10/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent update
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought 820 for my wife, liked hers so much I bought one for myself as upgrade to the great Edge 500. The 820 has more data screens, more potential data entries and is much easier to read than the 500. Map function fantastic and the smaller size than the 1000 is not a problem. My favorite function is Bluetooth connectivity, so phone calls and messages pop up automatically without digging out my phone. Very easy to set up. Touchscreen not my favorite interface, but thankfully still has onoff and startstop buttons.

Reviewed 8/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Read below
rating
by Anonymous
s. cal
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For the technical stuff, there are many reviews online you can find. But if you are considering getting this, get it from western bikes! Best customer service , shipping!

Reviewed 8/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great online store, great product cakt get better than that
rating
by JOHN
RENO
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Western Bike Works is my go to online bicycle shop. They offer great online sales. This is my 4th Garmin Edge. I can't be more pleased.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page