1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530 MTN Bundle GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 MTN Bundle GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(172 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(114)
(46)
(7)
(2)
(3)
(66%)
(27%)
(4%)
(1%)
(2%)
Solid little bike computer
rating
by Tee
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A great feature set for riding. I've been using this on road, gravel and mtb with specific and customizable profiles for each discipline. The maps are great, and I was impressed at how accurate the trail maps have been. This is my first bike computer having relied on my garmin watches in the past. I've since added a cadence sensor and hrm, both of which provide good info when connected to the 530. One feature I thought was goofy, but have had fun with after riding with it for a while, is the 'jump' recording in the MTB profile. Measures distance and hang time, which of course has translated to passing this around to see who can go the biggest. I was skeptical, but jumped during the sale and glad I did.

Reviewed 11/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great features at a great price!
rating
by MichaelY
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

Great quality instrument from Garmin. Connects to my devices/sensors very quickly. I love that I can use the speed sensor on the rear wheel of my road bike while it's on my trainer and get speed and distance data for my workouts. You can also run workouts on the 530 itself, while it's tracking your ride. Would def recommend to a friend!

Reviewed 2/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good upgrade from the 510.
rating
by Brick
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

After years with the 510, it was time to move up. The 830 is for the most part intuitive, and the touch screen features allow options to be used while riding. The ability to download segments, particularly climbs, is much appreciated. This makes it much easier to pace the 500 - 2000 foot climbs. The battery life seems excellent, on a number of occasions I have not recharged the battery but there has been plenty of life left for the next ride. The 1030 was tempting, but I prefer the size of the 830.

Reviewed 10/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much improved from the last model
rating
by Control Freak
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 replaces my 5-yr. old Edge 820. I am much happier with the 530 because: 1, my screen would go haywire in the rain; 2, much faster processing with routes; 3, better looking screen that does not reminds me of my Palm Pilot; 4, much better battery life. The new firmware is also less buggy so, yeah, I am glad that Garmin (finally) up their game. I was seriously considering switching to a Wahoo Element or a Karoo Hammerhead. I would have given it 5 stars if the screen has better resolution and color-there is not excuse in 2021 to have a screen from a 20 yr. old flip phone!

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Deal on Garmin 530
rating
by NC_Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, NC
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

Garmin 530 has everything I need and more. I like that it turns on and is ready to go right away, syncs with my phone so I receive texts and weather alerts, uploads to Strava right after each ride, has customizable dashboards, easy map loading, and many more options that I haven't used yet. Price is always the the difficult part in making the purchase, but Western offered a great price, so I couldn't pass it up. No complaints.

Reviewed 8/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Difficult setup and fragile - but great device when working
rating
by ZimZim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandpoint, Idaho
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use the Edge 530 for gravel and road rides. Creating a course on Garmin Connect is a bit of a chore but is easy to follow once uploaded to the 530. My eyes are not working so well now and I really appreciate the easy to read data screen. I was using a Wahoo Bolt but just could not see the screen. I passed it on to my daughter and purchased the 530. The 530 is a huge step up in the display over the Wahoo.

After a month of use I dropped the 530 from a height of about 2 feet. No visible damage but the screen no longer worked. Garmin did send a refurbished device for a $130 charge. The 530 is quite fragile - certainly not a robust as a Wahoo device. I now have a silicon sleeve that, hopefully, will preclude damage should the 530 be dropped. My experience with the 530 is really great; with exception of the fragility. a silicon protective case is, in my view, an absolute necessity.

Reviewed 7/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
rating
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
rating
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very impressed!
rating
by Marin biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mill Valley, Ca
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

Better screen resolution, faster, much better battery and more capabilities as compared to my 2 year old Garmin 520+!!

Reviewed 8/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Improvement from 820
rating
by Rudyt28
Miami, FL
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

My first Garmin was the 810, later the 820, and now the 830. I used them all for road and MTB. The 810 got the ring and sold it. The 820 I was so disappointed on the battery life on a 8 hours ride that I sold it. The 830 has a better battery life. The screen is a great improvement since it doesn't move when is raining, my 820 used to go all over the place under the rain. The touch screen has the right sensitivity with all the familiar features of the 800 series. Even though it contains a lot of things I don't use, it doesn't glitch or discard my rides as its predecessor.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid upgrade over the Garmin 520 Edge
rating
by Tailwind
79015
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

Really like the larger screen & is much faster than the 520 Edge. Also, the ability to load proper maps is a big plus. Battery life seems to be quite good as well.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a very good bike computer.
rating
by Clarence
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester county, New York
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this computer when I ride during the weekdays. I like that it does not have a touch screen, as my 830 has. Sometimes on my 830 I accidentally touch the screen and I can not get back to the original screen. What I do not like about the 530 is that when initially entering data, it is more difficult to enter and save data without a touch screen. Since my 530 was a replacement for my 820, I wish I could have transferred the data from my 820 to my 530.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need in one compact unit.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I upgraded to the 530 because I appreciated it's functionality over my older 520. Lots of training dynamics data, maps galore should you want to consult them, and an easy-to-read screen. I prefer a smaller display than the 1030 range, more compact in cockpit and lighter. Good visual interface with Garmin Varia radar. Only drawback is that the battery may require more frequent recharging, depending how many features you activate.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, compact, do-it all bike computer
rating
by HalloweenEagleBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Swedesboro, NJ
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 has been a great addition to my cycling. With the integration w Garmin Connect, its very easy to create training workouts, custom routes, and also more detailed performance stats from each of my rides. I've used it for both road, gravel, and mountain biking and its well suited for each discipline. The battery life is solid. I've only done 1 longer (5 hours) ride with it, but had no concerns of it dying somewhere along the way. Normally, I use it for several 60-90 minute rides a week and typically only charge it once every other week. It integrates seamlessly with all of my sensors (garmin speed and cadence), heart rate strap (garmin chest strap), and lights (garmin varia headlight, garmin varia radar). It has changed my cycling experience. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that periodically there are some small annoyances like auto downloads restarting your ride, but these are few and far between.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great smaller form factor GPS for the multi-discipline cyclist
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

Great GPS if you want to stay in the Garmin ecosystem and not want to have a touch screen (although initial setup is slow due to the button-only interface). Really liked to new popularity coloring on the maps and the built in TrailForks integration.

Reviewed 8/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Seems much better than the 820 it replaces
rating
by Cyberhoutz
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

The emergency contact feature is good. Very sensitive and loud. Surprised my wife the time I had a minor fall and it alerted her. I didn't warn her of the feature and she was quite worried. I had to do some convincing over the phone that I was OK and didn't need a rescue. I longer battery life is why I chose to upgrade.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really great bike computer - one flaw
rating
by ZimZim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandpoint, ID
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The screen is very easy to read (screen set up with speed, cadence, HR, gradient, clasped time, time of day). Initial setup a bit tricky but once set up no problems. The big flaw is that it is a very delicate device. Had it for a month and it slipped from the hand and hit the floor. Completely dead. If Garmin won't repair it I'll get another - and put a silicon case on it. Would be a five star review if it was not so delicate.

Reviewed 7/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improved GPS functions
rating
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using this for training and racing. The course mapping is improved over the 520. No problem finding heart rate monitors, smart trainers or power meters. Multiple displays can be set up for each type of riding that you are doing. You can have your main screen focus on heart rate, power, cadence and time and then have other screens to check lap data and so on. You can have turn-by-turn info for your course too. So far, I have used it in a race, for training and on a road bike (Favero Assioma power) and mountain bike (Stages power). Western Bike Works had a really good price for the unit.

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Edge 530 so good I bought two!
rating
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Fantastic product significantly larger screen with similar footprint than the 530 and far better screen resolution, this thing is amazing. Gifted 2nd one to Pop for his 70th bday. I have mine paired with rear blinkie radar and front light, all purchased from Western, could not be more pleased with the product and the latter with the shop.

Reviewed 6/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ergonomics for mountain riding!
rating
by JD
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Review for Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 830 mountain bundle really provides great ergonomic access to data and navigation without jeopardizing safety. Love the ability to move through screens without letting go of the bars. Pairing the sensor is a breeze and the wireless setup is clean as can be.

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.