1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(128 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(84)
(37)
(5)
(0)
(2)
(66%)
(29%)
(4%)
(0%)
(2%)
Edge 530 delivers as promised.
rating
by Anonymous
Portland

Decent value as you get what you pay for. Navigating menus with the side buttons is a little clunky but it works.

Reviewed 1/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer
rating
by drkerr
Daily Commuter
Corpus Chrisit, TX

Big upgrade from my worn out Edge 520. Better display. Usable maps. Much better battery life.

Reviewed 1/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much improved from the last model
rating
by Control Freak
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 replaces my 5-yr. old Edge 820. I am much happier with the 530 because: 1, my screen would go haywire in the rain; 2, much faster processing with routes; 3, better looking screen that does not reminds me of my Palm Pilot; 4, much better battery life. The new firmware is also less buggy so, yeah, I am glad that Garmin (finally) up their game. I was seriously considering switching to a Wahoo Element or a Karoo Hammerhead. I would have given it 5 stars if the screen has better resolution and color-there is not excuse in 2021 to have a screen from a 20 yr. old flip phone!

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need in one compact unit.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I upgraded to the 530 because I appreciated it's functionality over my older 520. Lots of training dynamics data, maps galore should you want to consult them, and an easy-to-read screen. I prefer a smaller display than the 1030 range, more compact in cockpit and lighter. Good visual interface with Garmin Varia radar. Only drawback is that the battery may require more frequent recharging, depending how many features you activate.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Deal on Garmin 530
rating
by NC_Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, NC

Garmin 530 has everything I need and more. I like that it turns on and is ready to go right away, syncs with my phone so I receive texts and weather alerts, uploads to Strava right after each ride, has customizable dashboards, easy map loading, and many more options that I haven't used yet. Price is always the the difficult part in making the purchase, but Western offered a great price, so I couldn't pass it up. No complaints.

Reviewed 8/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, compact, do-it all bike computer
rating
by HalloweenEagleBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Swedesboro, NJ
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 has been a great addition to my cycling. With the integration w Garmin Connect, its very easy to create training workouts, custom routes, and also more detailed performance stats from each of my rides. I've used it for both road, gravel, and mountain biking and its well suited for each discipline. The battery life is solid. I've only done 1 longer (5 hours) ride with it, but had no concerns of it dying somewhere along the way. Normally, I use it for several 60-90 minute rides a week and typically only charge it once every other week. It integrates seamlessly with all of my sensors (garmin speed and cadence), heart rate strap (garmin chest strap), and lights (garmin varia headlight, garmin varia radar). It has changed my cycling experience. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that periodically there are some small annoyances like auto downloads restarting your ride, but these are few and far between.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
rating
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
rating
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Difficult setup and fragile - but great device when working
rating
by ZimZim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandpoint, Idaho
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use the Edge 530 for gravel and road rides. Creating a course on Garmin Connect is a bit of a chore but is easy to follow once uploaded to the 530. My eyes are not working so well now and I really appreciate the easy to read data screen. I was using a Wahoo Bolt but just could not see the screen. I passed it on to my daughter and purchased the 530. The 530 is a huge step up in the display over the Wahoo.

After a month of use I dropped the 530 from a height of about 2 feet. No visible damage but the screen no longer worked. Garmin did send a refurbished device for a $130 charge. The 530 is quite fragile - certainly not a robust as a Wahoo device. I now have a silicon sleeve that, hopefully, will preclude damage should the 530 be dropped. My experience with the 530 is really great; with exception of the fragility. a silicon protective case is, in my view, an absolute necessity.

Reviewed 7/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid upgrade over the Garmin 520 Edge
rating
by Tailwind
79015

Really like the larger screen & is much faster than the 520 Edge. Also, the ability to load proper maps is a big plus. Battery life seems to be quite good as well.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very impressed!
rating
by Marin biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mill Valley, Ca

Better screen resolution, faster, much better battery and more capabilities as compared to my 2 year old Garmin 520+!!

Reviewed 8/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a very good bike computer.
rating
by Clarence
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester county, New York
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this computer when I ride during the weekdays. I like that it does not have a touch screen, as my 830 has. Sometimes on my 830 I accidentally touch the screen and I can not get back to the original screen. What I do not like about the 530 is that when initially entering data, it is more difficult to enter and save data without a touch screen. Since my 530 was a replacement for my 820, I wish I could have transferred the data from my 820 to my 530.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lots of features at a fairly reasonable price.
rating
by OldBikerRunner
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

As winter falls upon Wisconsin, I have been training (biking & running) indoors more often. The profiles allow me to set certain data fields for indoor biking vs ones I want for the open road. I used to use my Garmin watch for the bike, but having a head unit is a great improvement. Being cheap I utilize Garmin Segments, creating ones to mimic Strava segments, which then allows me to race against them. This feature alone makes the purchase worth it for me. I had been trying to take the crown on particular segment all summer and with the real time feedback, I smashed it by 20 seconds. We don't have many "climbs" in Wisconsin, but I could see how that new feature would be very useful after using it just two times. I had a couple issues with losing connection to my Garmin Vector pedals, but since the latest update, that has improved. Connects well with other sensors: heart rate strap, speed/cadence sensors on my other bikes. Nice to have decent mapping as well. I find the menu arrangements slightly different than other Garmin products. I also sometimes wish I had spent more for the touch screen model.

Reviewed 12/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great smaller form factor GPS for the multi-discipline cyclist
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Great GPS if you want to stay in the Garmin ecosystem and not want to have a touch screen (although initial setup is slow due to the button-only interface). Really liked to new popularity coloring on the maps and the built in TrailForks integration.

Reviewed 8/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really great bike computer - one flaw
rating
by ZimZim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandpoint, ID
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The screen is very easy to read (screen set up with speed, cadence, HR, gradient, clasped time, time of day). Initial setup a bit tricky but once set up no problems. The big flaw is that it is a very delicate device. Had it for a month and it slipped from the hand and hit the floor. Completely dead. If Garmin won't repair it I'll get another - and put a silicon case on it. Would be a five star review if it was not so delicate.

Reviewed 7/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Edge 530 so good I bought two!
rating
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Fantastic product significantly larger screen with similar footprint than the 530 and far better screen resolution, this thing is amazing. Gifted 2nd one to Pop for his 70th bday. I have mine paired with rear blinkie radar and front light, all purchased from Western, could not be more pleased with the product and the latter with the shop.

Reviewed 6/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good size & battery life
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

So far so good after a month. No problem using my 4yr old speed/cadence sensor & quickly find GPS. Customizing data screens can be tedious but you get use to it. Nice to be alerted that a sharp curve was ahead. Can't wait to get a smart trainer to pair to and re-ride a previous course.

Reviewed 4/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best value for Garmin cycling computers
rating
by mpei
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Higher models do not bring an additional benefit and I am no fan of the touchscreens anyways. Navigation, etc. is handled through the smartphone anyways. It works great with speed and cadence sensors.

I love it.

Reviewed 8/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great. Larger screen along with so many features
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Used for long distance riding.

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
love everything about it
rating
by gcarter
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

screen is perfect size for my garbage eyes without feeling like i have an ipad on my bars. easy to use. great data.

Reviewed 10/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.