FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Garmin Edge 1030

GarminEdge 1030(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(44 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(10)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(68%)
(23%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
Love the big screen, the smarts to figure which sensors are live. Not so happy about the WiFi- Bluetooth battle
rating
by Wynchmprf
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island

OK, Garmins flagship unit lives up to the hype as long as you leave the WiFi off in my experience. (And the forums out there talk about issues with the the WiFi an dBT not playing well together) Sets up like a Garmin (I have owned a few and the menu sense is pretty logical. You can have a bunch of sensors for your different bikes, and the unit figures out which one you are using. Unless, you are using WiFi and maybe stages PM, but.. then the unit will lose connection and not update. Liveterack goes wonky... and wont disconnect - as long as the WiFi is on. Notices from my phone didnt work while WiFi was turned on. Turn wifi off and bingo, all seems well. On BT it uploads like a high speed router (well, cuz the files are small) compared to the LeZyne I had before. Garmin may come out with a firmware fix, but til then, I can live with the BT connection to my phone. The other features are very nice - and work as advertised. 3 stars because they have a useless hardware feature (at this point)

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The absolute Best!
rating
by MAW
Casual Cyclist
Michigan

The Trendline rider-to-rider messaging is very useful, in fact indispensable! Especially if you get separated out on the road! And don't forget GPSGlonass, especially if out in middle of nowhere or unfamiliar territory! I heartily recommend this unit with Touch Screen to any cyclist casual or avid!!!!

Reviewed 6/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy - no issues
rating
by Steve R
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Normally I wait a while after adopting a new bike computer but I really wanted the bigger screen and longer battery live because I do ultra distance rides and want navigation visible at a glance and no need to add a battery so I took the plunge and haven't had any issues. Its running software version 3.70. Haven't had any glitches with anything - it will run my virb camera, varia lights, my Elite Drivo trainer, all with zero problems, and the touch screen works perfectly even in the rain. It's big so the Garmin mount is really needed for it to fit on a bike and get to the buttons easily. The K-edge XL does also but puts it very close to the bars, so close it makes the lap and stop bottons a little hard to access, not impossible. The screen colors are a bit dull, but it's very readable. Garmin really did a good job with this one, it's a home run in my book. I also have 510 and 820, and had a 500 before that - this one is a very nice improvement over all of those. Pricey but it's worth it to me.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lots of upgrades in this unit
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Golden, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced my Garmin 520 (which I really liked) since the battery would not stay charged. I also wanted better map capability since the 520 was not adequate. The 1030 battery is light years ahead of the 520. I'm not wild about the appearance of the 1030 since it is so much larger but the payoff is how much easier it is too read. The 1030 also manages my Bontrager ION front light. The 1030 is also giving me a lot more ride data. All in all I would buy this again.

Reviewed 1/31/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love Love Love this
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Hillsboro, OR

I love that this has so many useful options, large screen, good battery and can sync with my lights. Super helpful.

Reviewed 4/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fabulous features but major design flaw
rating
by Tony from Philly
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lap and startstop buttons are on the rim, not the top like the 1000 so there is not enough space to reach them on a 1000 mount so you need longer mounts for all your bikes AND I suspect no mount will be long enough to give room for winter gloves. Otherwise a great upgrade from the 1000

Reviewed 7/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fabulous features but major design flaw
rating
by Tony from Philly
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lap and startstop buttons are on the rim, not the top like the 1000 so there is not enough space to reach them on a 1000 mount so you need longer mounts for all your bikes AND I suspect no mount will be long enough to give room for winter gloves. Otherwise a great upgrade from the 1000

Reviewed 7/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best I have owned
rating
by LastOstrogoth
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA

I have had a Garmin Edge 520 for three years. I liked it a lot and still use it on my gravel bike. However, on longer rides, particularly when I used navigation it was always a race to see which would end first, the battery in the 520 or the ride. That is no longer a problem. I redid a ride last weekend that had left my 520 gasping by the end with barely anything left as I rode into my driveway. The 1030 had more than 70% of the battery left at the end of this. Beyond the battery, though, the screen is wonderful. All of the data fields are easily read. When text messages come in I can actually read them on the screen. Like my 520, it paired with my various ANT devices and my ETap gear combo. I had some minor issues getting to to talk to my iMac, but that was resolved with a direct connection to the computer, rather than through a hub. I can say, sincerely, that I have not had a moment of regret. It really is a superb computer. The navigation screen is really nice, a big improvement, both literally and figuratively over the 520's. Having the option to add a extended battery, though it doesn't seem that I will ever need one, is a nice touch as well.

Reviewed 6/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bike computer
rating
by HKS
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas

Edge 1030 has a great display, easy to use and setup.

Reviewed 6/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the big screen, the smarts to figure which sensors are live. Not so happy about the WiFi- Bluetooth battle
rating
by Wynchmprf
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

OK, Garmins flagship unit lives up to the hype as long as you leave the WiFi off in my experience. (And the forums out there talk about issues with the the WiFi an dBT not playing well together) Sets up like a Garmin (I have owned a few and the menu sense is pretty logical. You can have a bunch of sensors for your different bikes, and the unit figures out which one you are using. Unless, you are using WiFi and maybe stages PM, but.. then the unit will lose connection and not update. Liveterack goes wonky... and wont disconnect - as long as the WiFi is on. Notices from my phone didnt work while WiFi was turned on. Turn wifi off and bingo, all seems well. On BT it uploads like a high speed router (well, cuz the files are small) compared to the LeZyne I had before. Garmin may come out with a firmware fix, but til then, I can live with the BT connection to my phone. The other features are very nice - and work as advertised. 3 stars because they have a useless hardware feature (at this point)

Reviewed 5/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long time Garmin Edge user, completely surprised
rating
by Cycling Enthusiast
Cycling Enthusiast
Orem, UT
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I grew tired and frustrated with my Edge 1000. Had two device replacements to fix connectivity issues, and problems with the device restarting unexpectedly, and corrupting routes persisted through device restores. Why did I buy an Edge 1030? Holding out for the promise of GroupTrack with a couple friends, and family.

Is it worth and upgrade? The 1030 was a great purchase and exceeded my expectations. Ill explain why it was to me.

Yes, the 1030 seems to have had issues with connectivity at launch. That seems to have been resolved given the drop in complaints in online forums. The walk through did not work for me, but did get it setup manually on the first attempt, and has worked well since.

As other reviews have mentioned, the screen is not as colorful as the Edge 1000 with the backlight on, but is easier to see with the backlight on, and the display under sunlight is outstanding. Crisp, colorful, and superior to the screen on the 1000. Great compromise, Garmin

I get 2-3 times the battery life out of the 1030. Id always worry doing a longer ride with the 1000, and took a 705 as a backup. The 1030 should be fine for most riders, including centuries. Could not do that with a 1000. And if you need more, they have a battery for that!

What other reviewers have not mentioned .

The personal fitness screen. What is that? It is a useful summary of personal fitness, FTP, VO2 Max, and stress. Seems to reflect my fitness well, and reminds me to take it easy the next time. Ive found this information helpful and well presented.

Reorganizing data fields is easier. You can select several data fields from one category, and selected fields show up on the category when selecting again. Best of all, you can can drag data fields to reorient on the screen.

The device also has templates to allow larger fields to be placed in the middle or bottom of the screen. Not completely customizable, but better.

The graphical representations of heart-rate, cadence, power, and elevation are very good. You can choose to view max, average, and current values, in to small data fields, along with a bar graph.

Map navigation and recalculations are much faster. Actually able to use them in real-world situations. Routing along heat map routes does work. Im in a challenging geographical area, and it seems to find the best options. Does not route along paved trails as much as expected, though.

The 1030 has a sensor refresh button. I typically forget to turn on the radar, flip my hear rate strap, or the power meter may time out. The refresh button is easy to get to, and does it for all sensors. No need to navigate into each sensor and fiddle with it to get it activated again.

Finally, the Strava live segments are something I want to use! Strava live segments on the 1000 seemed to crash my device. It was slow to refresh, and did not have much information. The new segment screen pops up as before, but automatically selects the most interesting information. KOM? Im not that fast, but it does bring up my PR, as well as my friends above and below me, that I know I can beat. Am I slowing down or speeding up relative to prior efforts? It changes the selection of friends to accommodate! The display shows the total distance on a bar graph, and the relative distance ahead of your friends.

Other Garmin units have these features, but have found them very useful on the 1030

The ability to use Shimano shifter buttons is wonderful. No longer do I need to do a screen tap, tap again, tap again, slide, or press nextprevious with various degrees of success in order to see different screens. The Garmin remote was fine, but was not very configurable. Now I do not need to take my hands off the hoods, and can tap six

Reviewed 5/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
much improved menu interface
rating
by Senior citizen
Cycling Enthusiast
USA

maintain progress records, verify Average speed, cadence and time used to accomplish goals

Reviewed 8/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty complicated
rating
by Thomas
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

It seems hard to just go for a ride trying to navigate multiple screens. I do appreciate the incident report aspect and the bright screen yet I would like the ability to password protect the device and make voice commands.

Reviewed 10/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding Cycling GPS
rating
by Snowhog
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbia Heights, MN

Had a Garmin Edge 1000 previously. Used it A LOT, and the battery performance (discharge rate) began to suffer. I considered replacing the battery, but opted to purchase the Edge 1030 instead. In fact, I now have two Edge 1030's, one for each bike. The battery life on the Edge 1030 is SO MUCH better (and longer) than the Edge 1000. And long battery life is important to me. I'm getting well over 21-hours on a full charge. The Edge 1030 is a rock star in my book.

Reviewed 6/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Now I can see my stats
rating
by epbob
Cycling Enthusiast
El Paso, TX

I bought 2 for my wife and I in the sales prior to the roll out of the 1030. Finally I have a display that is big enough for display of the fields I want to see on one screen. I like my old 520 but couldn't pass up the deal to get this. The touch screen feature is more useful than I anticipated but it does change screens by itself occasionally when on rougher trails on my gravel bike. I look forward to using the navigation feature and tracking my friends (and wife) during rides.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I recommend it!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle

This is now my second GPS cycling device, the first being the Garmin 1000, so that is all I can compare it to. After 6 years of good service, the 1000 was getting short on battery life, and the onoff button cover failed. I really like the 1030. It has more features, better displays, and MUCH better battery life. It integrates well with my Android phone, and Shimano D-Fly. Don't leave home without it!

Reviewed 6/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
,Great Cycle Computer
rating
by Eric
Daily Commuter
Queens, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered this to work with a newly purchased power meter. The computer works great and tracks accurately. With Broadcast Mode it syncs with the heart rate monitor from my Garmin Forerunner watch. I love the navigation software, plus you can create your own routes with Strava if you are looking to explore a specific path. It recalculates any time you go off course to put you back on. If you connect it to your phone you can also use a live track feature and will notify emergency contacts if it detects a collision. Luckily haven't had to try the collision part, but the live tracking works great. It's a bit pricey, but you get a lot for it.

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great User Interface, But GPS seems to drift
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Michigan
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I love the user interface and the available metrics. I have had none of the issues that have been talked about. The only issue I have is a the accuracy of the GPS, I have to use a speed sensor otherwise my speed is all over the place.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garman 1030
rating
by William LBowens
Battle Creek mich

Garman 1030 ordered this over the phone what a awesome experience. They will be always be my go to site for anything like apparel tires clothing anything to do with bicycling Ive ordered from them several times and always had awesome experiences weather on the phone or online orders things always come second day out what an awesome site.

Reviewed 4/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer with only one flaw
rating
by Dr. M
Cycling Enthusiast
FT Lauderdale, FL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A great computer which is easy to read and the screen information can be modified to the data the user wants. Easy to pair with the Garmin Varia UT800. Great feature how the light can be controlled by the unit. As well pairing a Polar chest belt HR monitor was easy and as a matter of fact works better than the Garmin HR strap. I have not needed to use the GPS maps but that seems fairly straightforward as well. All in all a great piece of technology except for one item which lowers the score to 4 vs 5 stars. If you are an I Phone user the Bluetooth pairing is sketchy. Easy to pair once you know what needs to be done but it drops the pairing and I find myself pairing it again. To Garmin credit they are aware of this issue and are very cooperative with support. The situation has markedly improved but it is still far from perfect.

Reviewed 12/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page