1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Fizik R5 Artica GTX Road Shoe

FizikR5 Artica GTX Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(71%)
(24%)
(0%)
(6%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Curtissimo

If you ride in the winter, you need winter shoes!
rating
by Curtissimo
Washington, D.C.

Got these for the really cold days, below 40F. I previously rode with my Bontrager XXX Road Shoes with rain covers. It worked, I wasn't freezing, but I wasn't comfortable either. Switched to these and winter riding is now comfortable even in below freezing conditions.

Fit is good. I�m a 44.5 in Bontrager and it is the same here. Shoe is a bit more narrow, so if you have wide feet, this may not be for you.

I haven't used them long enough to comment on durability. I got them in white (have to match the helmet), so time will tell how the hold up to the winter roads. If they had a HiViz option, I may have opted for that instead considering the short dark days in the Northeast.

Reviewed 6/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Wet feet, but warm
rating
by Chris
PDX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had high hopes for these being a good winter rain boot for the wet Portland rides. Unfortunately all the water still seeps in through the neoprene ankle cuff and then the shoe turns into a pool of water.

They do keep the foot warm in the cold weather, but fall pretty short in the rain.

Reviewed 11/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike

Fizik R5 Artica GTX Road Shoe for winter riding
rating
by Mike
Plymouth ,Wi

Comfortable down to 35 F. With a single winter rated sock. Took several rides for taller cuff to break-in. But shoe feels great and warmer than shoe covers. Ordered same size as summer road shoe.

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BwayBiking

Great styling. Very well designed. Nicely insulated but not quite as warm as I had hoped.
rating
by BwayBiking
Cycling Enthusiast
Shenandoah Valley, VA

Love the look; the white pops with all the dark winter colors. Very well-made; great material choices. Feels slightly tight with winter wool socks. Insulation is very good but still need HotHands toe warmers. A good value.

Reviewed 2/29/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Warm In The Cold
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago

Bought these in an attempt to keep riding in Northern cold temps. Huge improvement from current road shoes worn with thick or two pair of socks. For longer rides 2+ hours these were good to about 50 degrees under that added toe covers. One it starts getting to 40 I add toe warmers. Rode this week for 3 hours with toe warmers and feet were perfect. Yes I would buy these again as it makes riding in the cold outdoors much easier.

Reviewed 2/2/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CYinPA

Purpose built shoe that works....
rating
by CYinPA
Competitive Racer
PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I caught a sale on these, and wanted to try them out. I have the Sidi version of these, and they are actually a great winter shoe as well. I felt they were bulky though, I wasn't unhappy with them, but thought they could be slimmed down.

Tried these out and they are basically the same shoe, but not so chunky. I had them down into the 20's with just a thin merino wool sock (my normal for the winter), and no issues. Your feet actually get warm, they aren't meant to ventilate, so basically don't go nuts with sock thickness. The other great part with these is since they aren't so bulky, you could fit an overshoe over them if you needed to (haven't had to).

Also they do keep you dry from the elements, but do be aware that water can run down into them from higher up the leg, it's just how live is unless you wear something that goes over them.

Boa dial stays where you set it, holds the foot well, I did put an aftermarket insole in them for some arch support, but I do that with all of my shoes.

Reviewed 5/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

These are amazing shoes, but use them for what they were intended for...
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am super happy with these shoes! After putting about 400 miles on them, I can confidently say they have met my expectations. They are quite comfortable, good looking and reasonably warm. To be fair, they probably won't keep your feet warm below about 35 degrees, but anything about that and these do a great job and prevent the need to use unseemly and bulky shoe covers that never seem to work. I would recommend these. I just did an 80 mile ride last week and these were comfortable the entire way. They are true to size and were the same fit as my Shimano RC900 road shoes.

Reviewed 4/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Du-man

Solid Winter Shoe
rating
by Du-man
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not bulky or heavy like older Sidi winter shoes I own, more akin to a regular road shoe. Keeps your feet and toes warm. I have not been out in below 35 degrees so can�t attest to very cold conditions. Width is a bit snug on the toe box. Had some discomfort pressure on the outside my right small toe metatarsal, a shoe tree fixed the issue. I would suggest measuring your foot in milli meters and add 10 mm to your size on the Fizik sizing chart https://www.fizik.com/rw_en/shoe-sizing-guide. Cleat position is more towards midfoot, good position if you like your cleats back, if you like them forward, may not be for you. BOA dial and Velcro on top provide a nice adjustable fit. Overall, a nice winter shoe.

Reviewed 3/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Greg S

Warm and dry
rating
by Greg S
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are fur lined, no bottom vents, and waterproof. Very comfortable and warm. They are technically boots, so a bit more bulk to them. I've worn them with waterproof socks, but rain can still get in around the ankle, so shoe covers (to guard the ankles) are still needed for long rides in the rain. I've even set some PRs with these. I wear a 43.5 for summer shoes, and the same size fits perfectly for these. Quality made. Highly recommend them.

Reviewed 2/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve F

Summer shoe comfort
rating
by Steve F
Saugus, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are very comfortable but not quite as warm as I was hoping. I forget that most winter shoes are designed for European temperatures. I�ve been using shoe covers for anything below 40 degrees, from 40-45 my feet start getting a little bit cold after 60 minutes or so but never painfully cold. My feet do tend to run cold and I don�t like wearing extra thick socks so these are probably warm enough for plenty of cyclists, the fleece lining does seem to be pretty effective as well. I like that these to not come up very high on the ankles as well, my dexterity or lack there of has not been effected. I don�t really like how the cleat position is set back on these though, I have them all the way forward and I�m still getting the occasional toe rub on turns when I�m not paying attention. It�s not uncomfortable I�m just used to a more forward position.

Reviewed 1/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Calme

Best buy
rating
by Calme
New Milford NJ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am so happy with this winter shoes. I had the Fizik R5 Artica ( not the GTX ) but it was heavy and rubbing against the crank arm. The GTX is suave! I used it 3x on 35-42� and added a toe warmer, my toes were warm on my entire 40, 50 miler rides.

Reviewed 12/12/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by hindsneville

A great cycling boots. I will be purchasing the all-white. I have the black ones.
rating
by hindsneville
Casual Cyclist
MARYLAND
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Its comfortable and warm

Reviewed 11/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NJ Cyclist

This should be your winter shoe of choice
rating
by NJ Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ

After wearing booties for years and constantly having trouble keeping my feet warm, I decided I needed a reliable winter shoe. These do not disappoint. The fleece lining really keeps your feet and toes nice and warm. The shoe fits snug, especially if you wear heavier socks. You may consider a half size larger than your normal road shoe. The BOA closure enables the shoe to fit your foot snuggly.

Reviewed 4/6/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by thom

good comfortable shoe right out of the box
rating
by thom
Cycling Enthusiast
redmond, washington

I wear an 11 tennis shoe, with this shoe i wear the same size as my regular road shoe, a 45. I have neither a narrow or wide foot. Right out of the box i put these on and did 1.5 hours on the trainer. Very comfortable shoe and no issues whatsoever. Shoe is just the right height, sorta between a high and low top shoe. Quality is good and looks also.

Reviewed 2/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob S.

Warm and better than summer shoes plus covers
rating
by Bob S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Maineville, Ohio

Really warm. With wool socks and toe heaters, I was comfortable at 30 degrees. So much easier than dealing with shoe covers. They do run narrow and both my wife and I had to return for a size up.

Reviewed 2/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by viva velo

Happy feet
rating
by viva velo
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I rode over 2 hours and had no frozen feet when I finished my ride. high temperature was 45 degrees , little sun, the first real winter ride here in Colorado. The shoes are very comfortable and it was way less hassle then shoe covers. I wish i had had these in the mid 1980`s when all they had were the Sean Kelley`s Belgian booties. Quality product, worth the price if you are a year round rider like myself. Cheers, viva velo

Reviewed 11/26/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon

Me like
rating
by Jon
Denver, Colorado

I love these shoes for winter. Comfortable and warm for the cold winter rides. Below 45 degrees I still recommend toe covers or shoe covers. Good shoe, I'd buy them again.

Reviewed 3/13/2023
Thank you for your feedback.