FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Easton EA70 Wheelset

EastonEA70 Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(7 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(57%)
(14%)
(29%)
(0%)
(0%)
Solid Quality
rating
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought my first set of these 4 years ago as a more affordable alternative to Mavic. Over the years they have proven to be a solid, quality wheelset so when the wheels on my other bike wore out I didn't hesitate to buy another set. The V5 hub is really easy to service if you take it through bad weather and want to clean it out. I have never broken a spoke on one but if I did I could buy one at any bike shop without having to buy a complete set of spokes. These wheels handle well. They won't disappoint you.

Reviewed 7/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid wheelset at a good price
rating
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used to buy Mavic wheels but I really didn't like the nylon bushing they use in their hubs. And when the Mavics got stupid expensive I started looking for another quality wheel that still left some money in my bank account. I found these and put them on one of my bikes to try. They have been a solid, dependable wheelset. If you work on bikes like I do you will appreciate the design of the V5 hub. It is a simple design that is really easy to service if you need to clean it out and it will last forever. When it came time to replace the wheels on another of my bikes I bought a set of these for that bike as well. I have also purchased and installed them on several members of my bike club bikes and have not received one complaint about them. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 7/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy, light but loud!
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Metro Detroit

I haven't put many miles in yet but these wheels are attractive, lighter than my Mavic Aksiums but way louder. Best to keep peddling

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easton EA70 wheelset
rating
by Chris
Sacramento, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great product. They were delivered fast. East to install and rode true.

Reviewed 4/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice wheels after you tighten the spokes
rating
by DWAmi
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

First, the wheels look great on the bike. However from the first ride there was a really loud spoke pinging noise from the rear wheel. When measuring with my spoke tension meter I found the rear spokes badly under tensioned. After properly adjusting the tension and truing the wheel the noise is gone. I was originally looking at Mavic wheels but those have gotten stupid expensive. At a much better price these wheels are a good alternative without needing a mortgage to purchase them.

Reviewed 8/23/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice wheelset
rating
by Ilikehills
Cycling Enthusiast
Stoneville, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used these wheels for about a week now. They look good and seem to work well. I got these because a spoke pulled out of the rear hub on my last set which were a different brand, they were a low spoke count with bladed spokes and were 5-6 years old. I am using Tufo clincher tubular tires with them which I have been using for the past 3-4 years, I like these tires. At first I though the rear rim was not very true and had a flat spot in it so I built a truing stand to check them out. While they may not be perfectly round they are very close and certainly don't have a flat spot, they are dead on straight. My rear tire does have a significant wobble in it and I am guessing the bump I feel with each rotation is also coming from the tire, I did not notice any of this with the old wheel. With the Tufos I am using a 23 in the front and a 25 in the back, the front tire does not seem to have any issues. I tried installing an older Tufo 23 which I had kept from the last time I replaced my tired (the rear was worn but the front still looked good) and it was too narrow to fit so I could not try changing the tires. I am planning on replacing my tires soon since my rear tire is getting worn. My only complaint about these wheels is how noisy the freewheel is, my last wheel was nearly silent when you coasted, this one is like a carnival wheel-of-fortune every time you coast or are soft pedaling, hopefully I get used to it but right now it is very annoying.

Reviewed 8/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Affordable, Stiff, lightweight, wide profile wheelset
rating
by Brotato
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These wheels are quite the bang for the buck! Paired with 23mm tires on up, they handle like a dream due to the 22mm rim width, Stiff and semi-aero, and 11 speed compatible, with subtle graphics that go well with any color scheme. The only issue that has been reported with several pairs of these wheels is relentless pinging from the non-driveside rear spokes/nipples. This might not be an issue with every set of these EA70's, however in at least two instances this has been an agitating situation. Overall though for the price you can't go wrong with this wheelset.

Reviewed 5/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.