1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Crank Bros Standard Release Cleats

Crank BrosStandard Release Cleats (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(25%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by brianingolden

Always Great Service Through Western Bikeworks.
rating
by brianingolden
Cycling Enthusiast
Golden, CO

Cleats are a necessity and replacing them makes for more efficient pedaling. Frequently replacing them, they're cheap, makes the job easier than leaving them in too long. WBW is my go to for online ordering of these necessities.

Reviewed 9/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marc

Favorite pedal/cleat system
rating
by Marc
Portland

Been running Crank Bros. Candy 7 pedals on my road bike for several years. Love the float and ease of disengagement. Way better than Shimano SPD.

Reviewed 2/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Aaron Edge

Simple / Effective
rating
by Aaron Edge
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Replaced all four bikes with Crank Bros pedals+cleats... dig the connection, ease of in/out and price.

Reviewed 10/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Typical Crank Bros cleats Work well, but wear quickly.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use them with my candy and eggbeater pedals. Candy on the MTB and Eggbeaters on the cross bike.

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AMU

Great Cleats!
rating
by AMU
Lake County, IL

I have been using my first set for over two seasons. They are easy in and Out when you need them.

Reviewed 4/30/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stu

Western sale prices are awesome
rating
by Stu
Portland &4020 miles a day, hilly and WET&41
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They have everything the day after I order, I swing by on the commute home, great customer service. The price for the cleats beats anything online and they are my personal faves for my commuter bike.

Reviewed 1/12/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OttoBozart

Durable, Dependable Cleats
rating
by OttoBozart
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ & FL

This cleats work, they catch when I clip in and wear like iron.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jbird

Cleats for the feets
rating
by jbird
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania

If you'v got Crank Bros pedals you need Crank Bros cleats. These work just as they should!

Reviewed 1/11/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Geo

Takes a while to break-in.
rating
by Geo
Cycling Enthusiast
Corvallis, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is an excellent product, once you learn how to twist out no matter how you stop they keep your shoes on the crank through all types of conditions. It can be if-ie to lock in, so it is important to keep your shoes just before the heal to keep from slipping if you miss a lock taking off. Usually this is not a problem, but if you've stopped up hill it takes some practice to get it right, and a bump or wiggle can keep that from happening. This effect is worse when the cleats are new, they must get broken in before locking-in gets easy. I have thought about burnishing the cleat effect to ease this process, but I always ride first giving the extra effort to twisting and pushpulling to get a lock. They will last about a year or two until a hard push unlocks causing the foot to slip. Get a new pair and start again

Reviewed 3/3/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by blu

Had one set with pedals 2 sets shoes so...
rating
by blu
illinois
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Why mess with what works.

Reviewed 7/17/2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RIT

As MTB cleats they don't ware well
rating
by RIT
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was surprised at how quickly they are destroyed when used for trailsingle track use. I now keep an extra pair in the car. Fellow I ride with, wrecked his in 2 weeks to the point were he could barely get his foot back into the pedals. All in all they work fine while they are in good shape.

Reviewed 8/7/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by schincat

Easy In, Easy Out
rating
by schincat
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale

I switched to Crank Brothers after years of riding XTR SPD pedals and I prefer the easy in and out of these pedals.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Grimes

Must have
rating
by Grimes
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN

I bought a pair of Eggbeater 3's (along with an extra set of cleats and the stainless steel shims) after getting frustrated with how poorly my Speedplay Zeros perform when it's snowy.

Crank Brothers chose brass for the cleats so they'll wear out before the pedal contact points do. Which is a great idea since the cleats are much less expensive to replace (especially compared to Speedplay). I can't speak to the lifespan yet since I'm still on my original pair, but I'm guessing mine'll be toast after the winter due to the salt and sand on the streets. Not a big deal, friction happens.

I'd give these 5 stars for value if there was some sort of recycling program - send in your worn out cleats for $5 credit towards your next pair or something like that. Most reviews say these wear out quickly, so it'd be nice if there was something to do with all the used ones.

Reviewed 1/29/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jacksona

love these cleats
rating
by jacksona
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento

use these cleats for mnt bike rides and for commuting

love that they work when it is muddy, and when I need to unclip quickly

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great product
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These cleats do what they are supposed to, bolt to your shoes and work with Crank Bros cleats. It is a very good product that works the way it is supposed to work. Don't worry about anything with these cleats. The gold finish is cool and the bolts are good quality.

Reviewed 11/25/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Benn

Product work fine!
rating
by Benn
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR

Been using Crank Bros. pedals and cleats for years. Excellent quality for the money!

Reviewed 9/30/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

They wear out quicker than most cleats
rating
by John
Vancouver
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like the two side entry with the crank brothers clips. The cleats are pretty soft and wear out fast. Other than that they are easy to clip in and out of.

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

First time crank bro user
rating
by John
Vancouver

I like the two side entry with the crank brothers clips. The cleats are pretty soft and wear out fast. Other than that they are easy to clip in and out of.

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Not bad
rating
by John
Vancouver

I like the two side entry with the crank brothers clips. The cleats are pretty soft and wear out fast. Other than that they are easy to clip in and out of.

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jake460

Great fit for Crank Bros Egg Beater 3
rating
by Jake460
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Needed cleats for my new winter cycling shoes. Not interested in swapping cleats since we have temperature swings from 20F to 65F and back a few times a week.

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Thank you for your feedback.