FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Crank Bros Candy 3 Pedals

Crank BrosCandy 3 Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(59%)
(41%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
I've used them for years and love them
rating
by Jeffrey
Portland

as above

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Pedals
rating
by Andy
Competitive Racer
Ohio
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced a pair of 3 yr old pair of Candys (with the plastic/composite wings) with these new Candy 3's. So far, I really like the new design. They seem to feel more solid, and more durable while not be much heavier. I ride typical east coast rocky, rooty, singletrack and they have held up to rock strikes, etc, without any problems.

Some people knock Crank Brothers for durability, but this is my 3rd pair of Candy's and I've never had problems with them.

Reviewed 4/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bought them for the durability and not disappointed.
rating
by Pugs
Amarillo Texas
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Had the original candy pedals and bent the egg beater part which lead to drag on the spindle shaft. I was unable to straighten the bent eggbeater for smooth operation. I bought these as a replacement and the durability factor is appreciated even with the weight gain. Durability usually comes at a cost.

Reviewed 8/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Finally, aluminum and bearings
rating
by chris (WesternBikeworks.com Staff)
Vancouver, WA
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

For better or worse, I'm pretty much stuck with Crank Bros. pedals. I grew attached to the mud shedding and then got used to the feel. I like the engagement on Crank Bros. pedals more than Time ATAC and Look's Quarz. They're just very natural to me now, and once you have cleats on shoes for more than a year and pedals on multiple bikes, it's tough to turn that ship around.

I liked the minimal pedal body of the old plastic Candy-except the part where the plastic body (I think I'm supposed to be calling it "composite") got pummeled into an ugly plastic ball after a few dozen trips through rock gardens. (Actually, the first thing to go wrong was always the end caps falling out, which led to crud getting into the pedal.) It's much better so see an aluminum body and some actual ball bearings in there now-two improvements that make this a much better all-around pedal.

Have to see how many punches the aluminum body can take, and what bearing life is like after a year, but at least bearings give you options for experimentation that a plastic sleeve just doesn't. Still a pretty great-feeling pedal and one of the easiest to clip onto and out of.

Reviewed 9/3/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Geat Pedal
rating
by Rusty
Cycling Enthusiast
Mt. Shasta area
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Crank Brothers Candy pedals on my two road bikes and cyclocross bike for over 10 years. I wear Sidi Dominator MTN bike shoes and I find these pedals to be easy to clip in and out of, work great with my shoes, have the right amount of float for me, look good, and are easy to maintain. In all honesty I have found these pedals to be so good that I have never wanted to venture into other pedals. I wear mountain bike shoes as they are more functional when off the bike in all conditions.

Reviewed 5/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality Pedal - Easy To Clip Out
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding these pedals for about a month, several days a week. Initial quality is good. No problems yet. They are just like any pedal and you have to learn how to clip in. Clipping out is the easiest of the five or so types of pedals that I have used. I'm using them with Sidi Dominator Fit LTD and Crank Brothers Shoe Shield

Reviewed 3/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals offered in cool colors.
rating
by AKBiker
Competitive Racer
Anchorage, AK
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a good basic no frills pedals. I has some float. No adjustments to fiddle with. It is offered in some cool colors. It has held up much better than the Candy 2. I would definitely recommend this pedal for most every use except long road rides and racing as it has a small surface area and it is not very light.

Reviewed 6/26/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than the egg beaters but definitely heavier.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Las Vegas
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals

I've ridden these well over 10 times now and have to say the engagement is way better than my egg beaters. They are definitely more durable but it come with a weight penalty. Overall I'm pretty happy!

Reviewed 3/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These work great for cyclocross.
rating
by CNY CX Rider
Competitive Racer
Syracuse NY
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these to use with cyclocross bike. Entry is easy for race starts and remounting. Clipping out for barriers is very smooth. Work well with mud too. Overall a great product.

Reviewed 11/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not Bad
rating
by Jonas
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using these pedals on my CX commuter, they have a pretty neat design and are extremely easy to clip and the weigh is a hard-to-beat factor.

I have found only two disadvantages

1) Spring tension can not be adjusted.

2) Egg beater mechanism is particularly annoying when using regular shoes (It's always rotating and moving your feet back and forth).

As a commuter you may need to use regular shoes for short distances once in a while.

If you want to be able to ride your bike on regular shoes I would recommend you to go for a SPD. Otherwise you will be fine.

Reviewed 8/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
easy to get in and out, light, durable, sexy and cheap compared to the other pedals
rating
by yoslater
Competitive Racer
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals

Great value, lightweight, not super expensive and they work. Easy to get in and out of, light action on the pedals. They seems durable, I have hit them pretty hard on some rock and no wear or issues. I will buy these again.

Reviewed 8/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does it's job. Holds your foot in when it's supposed to, releases when you need it to. Reltaively light weight and rugged.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Colorado
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals

I bought these for my mountain bike. For my road and cross bikes I use eggbeaters. I was running eggbeaters on my mtn bike until I broke one. I like the extra stability the platform on the Candy's adds for mountain biking. The platform also helps guard the cage from rocks that can bendbreak it or cause it to release. The Candy 3 seem a bit better built than previous generations (less play).

Reviewed 8/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy in, easy out!
rating
by Cindy R.
Cycling Enthusiast
Kenosha, WI
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These pedals are by nice and easy to clip in and out. Great beginner pedal. I have not ridden them on cross trails yet, but that is my plan. I liked how the release worked so much I bought another pair for my mountain bike.

Reviewed 4/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals.
rating
by Jorsh
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These pedals are great. I own multiple pairs. My feet stay connected for as long as I want and yet there's a bit of float which makes things a bit easier on my knees. They work equally well on a mountain bike out on the trails and a commuter bike in the city.

The only downside is that my shoes tend to rub the 3 off relatively quickly. Just cosmetic.

Reviewed 1/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good product
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York state
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the third set of Candy pedals that I have because of now owning three bikes. They work really well. They have double sided entry and with the recessed cleat you can easily walk when not riding.

Reviewed 9/18/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best commuter pedal ever
rating
by jamesINpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

18 miles a day and these are going strong. Easy as pie to clip in and out of, never an adjustment. Good float for my knees. Never a pre-release. Should be a go to for a commuter or a first time clipless pedal purchaser.

Reviewed 4/16/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First Crank Bros. - solid
rating
by Leapfrog54
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Review for Crank Bros 2013 Candy 3 Pedals
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

These are I think the easiest, most reliable inout SPD-style pedals I've tried on my road bike. I prefer a MTB pedal because I like to walk around wo falling on my ass, as most road (Look-style) pedals will do. Great construction & durability. I expect bearings will never be an issue. First 1,000 miles all good. Why can't everything be this solid?

Reviewed 11/17/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.