FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Touring Plus Reflex (700c)

ContinentalTouring Plus Reflex (700c)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(67 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(11)
(3)
(5)
(4)
(66%)
(16%)
(4%)
(7%)
(6%)
Previous Page
Excellent Wear and Flat Resistance
rating
by Dave in Murrieta CA
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have accumulated 3,206 miles on a set of these tires. I rotated them once about 1,500 miles ago.

No flats, run true, mount easily (for me at least)and are only now showing wear in the center. No visible warning treads as yet.

Mine are 700 X 37's.

Price and weight are very competitive with Panaracer's and other similar no flat tires.

All of my mileage is in bike lanes where the usual trash accumulates from cars. Have run over glass, nails, staples, tin cans, et al, with no issues.

Reviewed 9/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth riding for commuting
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

Seattle is in the midst of a building boom and my daily commute takes me through the heart of the rough pavement, steel plates, gravel, gratings and more. The tires are great - smooth riding through all these challenges. They work well in the dry summer months and our three other very damp seasons.

Reviewed 8/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Long LastingTire!!!
rating
by Crankin Grandpa
Cycling Enthusiast
Independence, Iowa
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I am a great fan of this tire. In 2010 I bought my first Continental Plus, 700 x 28 and got 5463 miles on it. The second one I bought I got 6990 miles. I have used the Schwalbe HS240 on the rear of my bike for the past 2 years and can honestly say that they both ware about the same. I ride about 3500 miles per year, mostly on roads. Best of all, I think I have had only two flats in the past 5 years. I would highly recommend this tire for the money.

Reviewed 8/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great touring tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this for touring. I already put about 500 miles on this, and it's still in great shape. At 100 psi, there's little friction, but I still get some good road contact. A very tough tire.

Reviewed 8/1/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire So Far !!!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these to replace the stock tires on a bike I recently purchased. So far I've got about 300 miles on them and they have performed great. I ride good and bad roads, paved trails, gravel trails, sidewalks, dirt paths, etc. Been over glass, pot holes, broken pavement, curbs, a chipmunk (no kidding, ran right over it), and road garbage of every kind. The tires have held up splendidly with no flats! They have good grip but roll real easy. The reflective sidewalls are a plus. I didn't have any more trouble installing these than any other tire I've had.

Reviewed 6/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GREAT TIRE
rating
by Messenger38
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are amazing! excellent purchase. A great all-around tire. Anything nature can throw at a you, these tires can handle it. I will say this, they are a pain to get on. Once they are on, your set. I'm a bike messenger in Chicago, and Chicago roads can get pretty torn up. I accidentally in a massive pot hole. I thought I'd get a flat for sure, but these tires pulled through and continue too. For the miles and the terrain I go through, these tires are worth every penny!

Reviewed 1/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One tough tire
rating
by Bike mule
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL USA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

As a bike delivery person in Chicago I needed a tire that could keep me going all day and night without worry of a flat. The Continential Touring Plus is living up to that billing. I recently took a large screw in the rear tire near midnight - in the rain while on a delivery. Not the best situation to be in. I was worried when I removed it the tire would got flat. I was amazed when I took the screw out and the tube still held the air in.

While it tire rides hard in cold weather, the grip is great in the rain. Easy tire to put on the rim, unlike the Schwalbe Marathon I was using before.

Reviewed 11/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
rode the road
rating
by wah
Cycling Enthusiast
central rockies and all points west,north and sout
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

best tires out there for touring in all kinds of weather and conditions. i did a 5400 mile tour, and they held up(without a gun).spectacular value. the only thing i don't like about them is i have to pay for them.if you're touring this is your tire. been riding all incarnations of them since 1987, just buy 'em!!!!

Reviewed 10/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent service, efficient company.
rating
by PAUL
Chico
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got my product quickly, competitive prices.

Reviewed 11/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Unusually narrow at the road, incredibly difficult to install and remove.
rating
by PBD
Daily Commuter
Detroit, MI
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Full-time bike commuter in Detroit. Ride somewhere around 150 miles per week. There's plenty of road debris around here to slice through tires and these resisted punctures fairly well. They are also moderately fast. Those are really the only compliments I can think of, though. They contact the road about as wide as a 25mm tire would. By far the narrowest 28mm labeled tire I've owned. They also feel a little squirrely. Perhaps due the the limited tread hitting the pavement when I'm used to 28mm & 32mm tires on most of my bikes. I prefer a stable-feeling tire when riding in the city, especially with a somewhat heavy load in my panniers. I also feel like how narrow they are, in comparison to their rim contact width, is what makes them ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO MOUNT OR REMOVE. I literally wore my thumbs raw each time I had the displeasure of working with them. Seriously, I've owned almost every commutingtouring tire you can name, and these are the least user friendly, BY FAR. Just inexcusable. Even using a Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack, which makes easy work of tough-to-mount tires, these tires are a beast to mount. The last time I got so frustrated I literally gave up and tried again the next day. And, to top it off, they're incredibly ugly tires, from all angles. I'd by no means pick a tire just due to it's appearance, but I'll definitely choose an attractive tire over an ugly tire of equal performance for my vintage bike. So, I'm going back to Panaracer Paselas for now. Fast, stable, grippy, lovely. With the new ProTite version, they may just have enough flat protection for Detroit streets.

Reviewed 10/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This a great tire
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago

This is my fourth set of these tires,and have never had any problems at all. The price is great and always get them them delivered to me really fast.So as long as they are available i will be purchasing them! I live in chicago so they are a great street tire.

Reviewed 10/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very good tire for our long distance touring trips, performs well loaded, and provides good traction.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Use on long distance bike touring Ohio to Erie trail Cleveland to Cincinnati, Katy Trail MO, GAP & C and O, Erie Canal,

Seattle to Portland twice, Seattle to Florence Oregon, SF to Cedar City UT. Good load carrying characteristics, good traction in all conditions and riding surfaces. My go to tire.

Reviewed 10/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Design - Nearly Impossible to install
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Maryland
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding working on bikes for nearly 40 years and this is by far the toughest tire to put on the rim I have ever dealt with. I had to use two carpenters clamps to hold the tire in place as I pried popped the tire over the rim. I used my heaviest tire tools and put on safety glasses because I thought the tool would snap in my face. A decent tire once installed but I am not sure what I will do if I ever get a flat out on the road.... ?!?!?

Reviewed 10/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exelent tire. Already saved me from a couple of flats.
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Glendale AZ
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I take a 4mile bike ride every day.

Reviewed 9/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely difficult to mount
rating
by Bill A
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I swear by Conti tires and have had Gatorskins on several over many years, but these don't measure up. In fact, I think they are manufactured to a smaller diameter or are made of extremely tough rubber with shorter wire bead. I have just received these tires and broke 3 tire levers trying to get them on. Twice, so far, pinched the tube and had to remove the tire. It is a real wrestling match, broke a Pedro's tire lever (that's 4) and finally resorted to an old, blunt screwdriver to lever them off. I see no way to trust these on the road, even though the tread is thick and durable looking - I'd likely never be able to fix a flat successfully. Suggestions of heating them in the sun or using Simple Green are of little help when I ride in Colorado and can't count on hot days riding. I also can't believe that others aren't having the same problem. Searching the reviews there are many complaints

Reviewed 8/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The continental touring plus reflex have been wonderful for me
rating
by Anonymous

I've been on tour for 1-month with these tires and have yet to experience any sort of issue. I've taken my bike on road, rough pavement, gravel and dirt, and the touring plus have dealt with all surfaces tremendously. I'd recommend these tires to any cycle tourist.

Reviewed 5/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great replacement for stock hybrid tires
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Indiana
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My GT hybrid came with knobby tires that only lasted about 500 miles. These Continentals mounted easily, offer less rolling resistance, and greatly improved corneringhandling. Since I don't ride dirt or gravel, these tires are a great solution.

Reviewed 5/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great!
rating
by Michael
Tallahassee
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great!

Reviewed 4/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Tire But Much Too Tight To Mount
rating
by Big Dave
Daily Commuter
Murrieta CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This review is for the Continental Touring Plus Tire, 700 X 37.

I am 70 years old and have mounted many different brand name tires on various bikes. This tire was like trying to fit a size 11 foot into a size 8 shoe. Extremely tight even to mount the tire without the tube! I note this particular tire was made in India and perhaps they are using some different layups than in Taiwan.

I was forced to remove the tire on the side of the road due to a flat. It was very difficult to remove the tire. When I tried to install the tube and tire I was forced to use a tire lever to force the tire onto the rim. Towards the end it was even worse as the tire lever got stuck in several places leading to a lot of needless frustration.

I have used other styles of Continental tires and never had such a problem. If you want to buy this tire beware and be certain to bring a set of plastic tire levers as I doubt the tire can be mounted using hands alone.

The tread pattern is exactly the same as other models and yields a nice ride on roads. It also seems to last quite a long time.

Reviewed 2/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for commuters
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These were a very worthwhile upgrade for my commuting bike. Grippy in the corners but fast rolling and no flats so far. The reflective sides are a nice added feature.

Reviewed 11/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page