FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Touring Plus Reflex (700c)

ContinentalTouring Plus Reflex (700c)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(66 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(43)
(11)
(3)
(5)
(4)
(65%)
(17%)
(5%)
(8%)
(6%)
this is a rugged tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Pennsylvania
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this tire on the racing sulkies at the Meadows race track. They like this tire for its long lasting wear. Good all around tire

Reviewed 4/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuting tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I commute to work everyday throughout the year. The last thing I want is to have to fix a flat on the road. These tires are extremely durable and resistant to punctures from glass and road hazards. Not a light tire, but they roll pretty well. When you catch them on sale, you can't beat the price.

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked well on tandem road bike on variety of road surfaces.
rating
by Karl
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Very pleased with puncture resistance, ability to ride on both paved and unpaved surfaces, and overall ride quality (actually I also like the reflector strip). Put over 1000 miles in a variety of conditions without any punctures or other issues. I would recommend and buy again.

When riding on good surfaces we run 28mm Gatorskins as they have much lower rolling resistance, but when we are unsure of the conditions these tires are great.

I purchased a pair of 37mm and mounted them on Mavic A719 rims on our road tandem prior to a two week self-guided tour of Puglia, Italy. Our team and lightly loaded tandem exceeds 400 lbs so I am always concerned about punctures. We had several days of heavy rain and road on cobblestones and even granite surfaces and the traction was outstanding. We rode on gravel and even on a single track unpaved path ...

We used these tires prior to the trip and after our return for winter and gravel surface went back to Gatorskins this summer.

Reviewed 8/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires
rating
by Frank O.
Sacramento, Ca
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Just finished a tour ride on the California coast and these tires rode solid through a lot of garbage that you'd find on highway bike lanes. The ride was comfortable and had no mechanical issues.

Reviewed 5/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go out and shred!
rating
by Alex Supertramp
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good quality for the price.

Gravel, mud, snow, ice... this tire is ready to take it all.

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires. Not the lightest, but the flat protection is great and I love the reflective sidewall!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Put these on my Surly Cross Check and love them. They roll fast and look great.

Only problem I had is that the fenders I was using wouldn't fit over the, but oh well. )

Reviewed 5/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Absolutely great tires!
rating
by Tom
NJ
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Love this tire for all around--will buy another set!

Reviewed 7/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Blend of Durability & Performance - But They Run Small for Size
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairport, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these for my 2 road bike ('05 Specialized Sequoia Comp) which will accommodate 28 cm tires - so as to make that my ride for mixed road bike path use. I wish I had selected the 32's (assuming they run small too) - as these are only 25 cm when inflated and I still have lots of clearance. Other than that, they are the right mix of serious durability and performance that I wanted. The reflective sidewall is a plus - that I wish was more widely available for road bikes. They were not particularly easy to install - My Kool-Stop tire bead jack was essential. Pricing was right at WesternBikeWorks!

Reviewed 3/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great tire
rating
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
CT
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I Used these for my x country ride, I did have a couple of flats as to be expected but I still have them on my Navvarro safari with at least 3500 miles on them,

Reviewed 12/3/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Inconsiderate Lack of Produvr Marking
rating
by Ipsociety
SF Bay Area

My tires fail to visually indicate recommended psi OR even diameter. (Do I look like a walking tape measure???)

Reviewed 8/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tire, great value
rating
by BostonBiker
Daily Commuter
Boston, MA

I got this tire with winter city riding in mind. I wanted to balance aggressiveness of the tread, price, and what could fit on my bike (limited by the brake bridge to 32mm). this tire has done great for me in city riding throughout the winter, light snow (1-2in), slush, or hard-packed snow this does handles the conditions pretty well - so very pleased with its value.

Reviewed 2/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Tire for Casual Riding on Paved surfaces as well as packed stone trails
rating
by BornAgainBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Garden State, New Jersey
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased the 700c x 42mm tires. Tire grips the surface well and appears to be of good quality. Have not ridden much since getting the tires but the few times I have the ride seemed solid. Also, I purchased Continental tube and installed both at same time. Tire fit snug on the rim, more than my prior tires. Had to use tools to install them. Anyone not familiar with right way to install tubes in tires should read and follow the directions on the website. It was helpful to me. Since putting air in the tires over 2 month ago, I am still riding on the same fill. Hardly lost any air which is surprising. I bought the tires on sale, I think 25% off list, so definitely a good deal for me.

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good grip for a utility tire
rating
by Joe H
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NY

Have these on my hybrid around town bike. They have worked well on wet roads. Can't comment on durability yet but Conti's are generally good quality tires.

Reviewed 12/31/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite commuting tire.
rating
by Long Haul Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

I use these tires on my commuter bike. They look great. I have the 37mm width ones, and they measure 34mm with 70 psi. If they are as good as the Continental Country Plus tires I've used, flats will be very rare.

Reviewed 5/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent service, efficient company.
rating
by PAUL
Chico
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got my product quickly, competitive prices.

Reviewed 11/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Unusually narrow at the road, incredibly difficult to install and remove.
rating
by PBD
Daily Commuter
Detroit, MI
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Full-time bike commuter in Detroit. Ride somewhere around 150 miles per week. There's plenty of road debris around here to slice through tires and these resisted punctures fairly well. They are also moderately fast. Those are really the only compliments I can think of, though. They contact the road about as wide as a 25mm tire would. By far the narrowest 28mm labeled tire I've owned. They also feel a little squirrely. Perhaps due the the limited tread hitting the pavement when I'm used to 28mm & 32mm tires on most of my bikes. I prefer a stable-feeling tire when riding in the city, especially with a somewhat heavy load in my panniers. I also feel like how narrow they are, in comparison to their rim contact width, is what makes them ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO MOUNT OR REMOVE. I literally wore my thumbs raw each time I had the displeasure of working with them. Seriously, I've owned almost every commutingtouring tire you can name, and these are the least user friendly, BY FAR. Just inexcusable. Even using a Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack, which makes easy work of tough-to-mount tires, these tires are a beast to mount. The last time I got so frustrated I literally gave up and tried again the next day. And, to top it off, they're incredibly ugly tires, from all angles. I'd by no means pick a tire just due to it's appearance, but I'll definitely choose an attractive tire over an ugly tire of equal performance for my vintage bike. So, I'm going back to Panaracer Paselas for now. Fast, stable, grippy, lovely. With the new ProTite version, they may just have enough flat protection for Detroit streets.

Reviewed 10/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This a great tire
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago

This is my fourth set of these tires,and have never had any problems at all. The price is great and always get them them delivered to me really fast.So as long as they are available i will be purchasing them! I live in chicago so they are a great street tire.

Reviewed 10/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very good tire for our long distance touring trips, performs well loaded, and provides good traction.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Use on long distance bike touring Ohio to Erie trail Cleveland to Cincinnati, Katy Trail MO, GAP & C and O, Erie Canal,

Seattle to Portland twice, Seattle to Florence Oregon, SF to Cedar City UT. Good load carrying characteristics, good traction in all conditions and riding surfaces. My go to tire.

Reviewed 10/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Design - Nearly Impossible to install
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Maryland
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding working on bikes for nearly 40 years and this is by far the toughest tire to put on the rim I have ever dealt with. I had to use two carpenters clamps to hold the tire in place as I pried popped the tire over the rim. I used my heaviest tire tools and put on safety glasses because I thought the tool would snap in my face. A decent tire once installed but I am not sure what I will do if I ever get a flat out on the road.... ?!?!?

Reviewed 10/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Doesn't Fit 700c
rating
by DB1bybike
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I personally maintain my own fleet of bicycles, have built bikes and wheels from the ground up. I've mounted tires hundreds of time. This tire I bought for my commuter because of the reflective side walls and thick tread. But I have ruined dozens of tubes trying to mount this tire which frankly does not fit a 700c rim. Regular tire levers just snap so went with steel reinforces ones. They are plastic covered so they don't snap but it's nearly impossible to mount the tire without cutting the tube. Finally threw the tire away after using up 4 others on the road. So I gave them a chance. The Continental Gatorskin mounts perfectly fine on the same rims. I don't know why Conti got this tire so wrong, but they won't change it. Save yourself a lot of frustration and do not buy this tire.

Reviewed 1/19/2016
WesternBikeworks.com Comments
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback on the tires! This is the first we have heard of someone having extreme difficulty installing these tires. It sounds like you disposed of them at this point, but we would be happy to answer any fitment questions you may have regarding tire/rim options in the future. Please give us a call or email at your convenience and we will help get you back on the road.

Best, Derek

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page