Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental SuperSport Plus

ContinentalSuperSport Plus(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(34 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(8)
(5)
(1)
(2)
(53%)
(24%)
(15%)
(3%)
(6%)
Best tire for the price
rating
by PDXKat
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I commute 6 miles to work through many construction areas. The first SuperSport Plus tire I bought last me over a year before I needed to replace it versus 6 months for other more expensive Continental tires. The first time mounting these tires is a bit challenging, but well worth it since I didn't need to do it very often over the course of a year.

Reviewed 2/28/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely difficult to mount!
rating
by Wanderlust 66
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota Mississippi Hills
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The are without a doubt one of the hardest tires to mount I've had the misfortune to deal with! Now I'm not new to mounting tires as I've been riding and doing all of my own mechanical work for over 40 years. It is almost like they are a half size too small. I would never buy them again because of this. I cannot comment on how well they ride or wear because I haven't ridden on them yet (I was too exasperated to even go out after mounting them).I do hope I never have a flat on the road because I would hate to try and remount them along the side of the road! I have used Continental tires for years and never had this sort of trouble with any other model.

Reviewed 4/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Complete Satisfaction
rating
by Daniel Lee
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

A very well constructed, durable, general purpose tire that seems especially well suited for urban commuters and other riders regularly putting on a lot of miles in tougher environments. Prior to the SuperSport Plus I had been using the GatorSkin (also a Continental product) but was disappointed by its sidewalls, which are not only relatively vulnerable to punctures but also seem to break down rather quickly, apparently simply as a result of general environmental exposures (UV, temperature variations, general wear, etc). This weakness has been fully addressed with the SuperSport Plus. Western Bike Works has the best price that I could find, and my shipment arrived quickly and in excellent condition.

Reviewed 10/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Commuter and Racer
rating
by Ben K
Competitive Racer
Boston, MA
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I commute to and from work every day and race on the weekends.

A few months ago, I purchased a nice set of tires, hit a pot hole and destroyed both new tires in a short time. I can't afford to purchase tires every few months. I went with the SuperSport Plus tires becuase I can purchase two for the cost of a nice tire and I won't feel so bad when I tear it up. I keep my nice ones for racing.

The downfall with these tires is their weight penalty. I noticed the weight in the first 100 feet and continue to notice the weight every mile I ride, but yet, it's making me stronger.

Reviewed 8/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What's not to like?
rating
by Bob G
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Peninsula
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've bought this tire for a friend that isn't well versed in bike parts in general. She just wanted a good value, reliable, replacement tire. There are many to choose from and the array of choices can be overwhelming. I've used many brands (Vittoria, Michelin, and Hutchinson, all good) but one stands out. That is Continental. I've had incredible luck with their tires (2 flats in 4 years, 10k miles). The SuperSport Plus lasted 2k miles on my wife's bike with no flats. They're a little heavy, a little hard, but a great value for the price and for those expecting a no nonsense tire, so I didn't hesitate buying one for my casual riding friend looking for a good value.

My favorite though is the GP5000/4000, What a tire! Supple, serious traction, lightweight, great price and great mileage.

Reviewed 10/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hard to install
rating
by Padreone
Dover, PA

Have only put on a few miles so far. Hardest tire I've ever had to put on. I went to bike shop to get new levers because I broke 3 trying to get it on. I had brought the tire and rim with me and they tried putting it on. They did it but pinched one tube and fought like hell as well.

Reviewed 1/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excelente producto
rating
by Carlos
los angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Me encanto el producto

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top Notch Super Heavy Duty
rating
by Grizzly1
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Cal
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Top notch flat protection, although Very heavy. However they roll very well on flats and down hills, good stability and confident feel in cornering. Slow and sluggish on climbs, and or headwinds. like pulling a sled.

Best for commuters or anyone interested in flat protection, with some performance values.

Reviewed 10/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Negative-Tire was hard to put on rim. Positive- Extremely happy with tire performance
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
11040

Negative-Tire was hard to put on rim. Positive- Extremely happy with tire performance.

Slightly better size allows for more comfort while riding.

Extremely happy with the tire.

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't flat unless you want sore hands and frustration
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Arizona
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires were cheap and worked fine for training. Durability is about average and puncture protection is OK, which is a good thing because getting these suckers back on is an ordeal. I thought it was just me, but my father with some 35 years riding experience struggled when he tried replacing a flat with these. Probably lasted close to 2000 miles but won't be getting these again.

Reviewed 4/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Too hard to get on the rim.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga Springs, NY

The bead and sidewall are too stiff. Wound up switching to another brand.

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you do not need race quality..... This is a good, tough tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Durham, ME
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I average one hundred miles per week once the snow is gone and I hate flatting. I ride in Maine and some roads are rough in Spring with left over frost heaves, cracks and chunks of pavement missing from plow activity...While these may not be race tires they are plenty fast. More importantly, they are rugged and will last....

Reviewed 6/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
rating
by SMBiker
Daily Commuter
Phoenix, AZ, US

I was looking for a puncture resistant tire as I the area has lots of cactus needles. This tire has worked well.

Reviewed 8/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy install, very smooth rolling.
rating
by Goatman59
Cycling Enthusiast
Oneonta, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Training and some competition.

Reviewed 5/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Okay So Far ... BUT
rating
by Rich
Casual Cyclist
Woodburn, OR
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Tire seems sturdy if rather stiff. It's OK so far but .... WOW Hardest tire to mount I've ever bought. I typically carry just one tire iron on rides but with this tire you'd better have two or be prepared to walk. Hope it's as flat proof as they claim because fixing a flat on the road will be a challenge.

Reviewed 1/23/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great city tires but fast, stable, free rolling for country roads.
rating
by Ironman-Giant
Cycling Enthusiast
Hocking Hills, Logan, OH
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to mount although others complained. WIRE beads, they are a tough tire. mounted with bare hands, no tools. When dismounting you will need a tire tool. These tires have stood up to uneven brick streets, limestone both large and small, rough sidewalks in town and surprisingly broken glass with NO problems. No flats and No leaks (Continental Race Road Tubes). I am retired and ride every day weather permitting, which has been every day but one since purchasing them. have been on my road bike only one week bit have ridden just over 250 miles. Repeating myself, no leaks and no flats. one more note if you like 23c tires try the 28c and you will get a little better ride. 100 psi and my weight is 229 lbs.

Reviewed 6/24/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough city tire
rating
by Anonymous
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I bought it for my daughter she uses it for city riding and loves the toughness of the tire. Personally I think it's one of the hardest tires I've ever had to put on the rim.

Reviewed 2/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Heavy duty!
rating
by Lisa Eb
Cycling Enthusiast
Upper Peninsula of MI
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

As others have said, these tires are a tank. Very thick, gonna take a lot to puncture. Also need tire levers to put them ON. Hope I never get a flat out on a ride, I'll have to call AAA. Having said that, I feel quite confident riding these tires. I don't worry about getting a flat with these. I just go!

Reviewed 7/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for the price!
rating
by SEMOBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Jackson, MO
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these for my sons road bike, the first time we rode across Kansas. The year before he had 13 flats in 475 miles. That year, he had none, even with the goat heads, shredded retreads, and glass, not a single flat. This year we rode 555 miles across Kansas on the SAME TIRES! Not a single flat, even had great grip in the rain. Have put 1300 miles on these and they are still going....the next set will be these. Good low roll resistance, great durability!

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Faster than the Continental Sport Contact.
rating
by K C biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City Mo.
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride to work everyday that i can. Recently switched out a pair of 2 year old Continental Sport Contacts, that were in 28 cm. Just like to say great tire 2 years 2 flats on the back tube not tire related the tire is a tank nothing ever penetrated the tire. But i was looking for a little more speed and the Continental Super Sport Plus fills the order, i got it in 25 cm. And i most say climbing the hills of Kansas City Mo. Has got a lot easier now if they are as tough as the Continental Sport Contacts they will probably be the my tire of choice, this was helpful. My bike a hybrid Dawes Eclipse 3.0.

Reviewed 5/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page