FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(569 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(461)
(70)
(12)
(9)
(17)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Still the best
rating
by Gene Kriegsmann
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using GP4000 tires since their introduction, for a total of somewhere in excess of 25000 miles. They are tough, light, and terrific at cornering in all road conditions. I generally get about 3000 miles out of a set of these tires before the wear dimples disappear. This riding over largely chipseal roads. The only problem with these tires has been pointed out by a few reviewers, has to do with the sidewalls being somewhat fragile. I have only had to throw away one tire due to a sidewall puncture. It was upsetting due to it being a brand new tire, but I doubt that any tire would have survived that particular road hazard. I consider these to be about the toughest tire out there. I will continue to use them as long as they are available.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brand new & put to the test!
rating
by uXpected62
Competitive Racer
Flower Mound, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just purchased these in April - 2nd set on my Trek Emonda SL6 w Aeolus 5s - I purchased the reflective tires this round - they are awesome at making you even more visible & my first ride out, I picked up a carpenter's finishing staple. No tube puncture or anything! I highly recommend these. I'll probably upgrade to the 5000s on the next round.

Reviewed 5/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go-to fav
rating
by BBcross
Bellingham

I love these until I start getting flats....then I get a new one.

Reviewed 11/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tires, great price
rating
by GR Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI

I like the 4000 S II 700C tires well enough that they're the only ones I buy. I bought two on sale at half price to keep in reserve for when the others wear out-eventually. The price was too good to pass up on tires I prefer.

Reviewed 7/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Anonymous
Fremont, CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Conti 4000S II as my go-to tire for years. It offers both durabilty and speed. The tires were also at a good price at Western Bike Works

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
rating
by Anonymous

I have used these for 5 years, no issues

Reviewed 9/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all purpose tire
rating
by Dsquared
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go-to tire. It's a fast tire and they feel stable when I'm screaming down a descent. I've tried other tires that are more puncture resistance but I find that the Conti 4000S tires are faster. I ride in the SF Bay Area where the roads (and bike lanes) are in terrible condition with a lot of debris. I've had a run of bad luck lately with this tire though. In the past 2 months, I experienced 12 flats, mostly from broken glass and one flat from a goathead.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive
rating
by SramShimanoCampyrider
Daily Commuter
Utah
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Our rough roads have eaten every tire I have tried (Michelin, Panaracer, including previous Continentals and a list of others). These were on sale and decided to give them a try, they are holding up better than expected with the use of kevlar liners and puncture resistant tubes-I spend time riding not repairing. I have been very impressed with the road feel of these tires and after a long ride I usually have slight cuts in the outer tire casing and so far no cuts.

Reviewed 9/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around, high mileage tire
rating
by William
CAMAS

Great tire for the money. I rode these tires hard for 1500 miles. Great performance and minimal flats. But once they're done, they're done. Just pulled the rear tire off this week as I had a slow leak in the tire. It was time to replace.

Reviewed 6/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great balance- training vs durability
rating
by RoboKrause
Competitive Racer
Manhattan, KS
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tire doesn't disappoint. It offers a perfect balance of durability but is still light enough for quick training. It could even be a solid tire for race days.

Reviewed 8/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to get on and handled really well in the rain

Reviewed 5/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it
rating
by MC
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

A friend recommended these tires to me and I've loved them. They have tiny marks in them for you to be aware of how much wear they've gone through and know when to replace. Didn't get the reflective kind but I think I will when shopping for new tires. Also rode in rain and they performed GREAT.

Reviewed 3/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Grand Prix 4000 s LL.
rating
by tokelly12
Memphis
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This a great tire. Rolls very well. Good training tire or racing tire. Very fast.

Reviewed 2/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A proven favorite!
rating
by chrisvelo
Competitive Racer
Dallas TX

Well, out comes the GP 5000 for 2019, but I still look to the 400 for proven performance. You can't beat this tire reliability, grip, strength,....it has it all. I'll tell you how it lasts when I reach the 10,000 mile mark!

Reviewed 2/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires hands down - fast, resistant to punctures and super durable.
rating
by JZar
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ

I've ridden several tires and these are the best i've used. They are resistant to punctures and last a really long time. Highly recommend.

Reviewed 8/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My tire of choice!
rating
by roadbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Powder Springs, GA

These are the tires I have been using for years and I love them! I used another brand before that I was happy with, but they were a pain in the a$$ to change, especially while out on a ride. The Conti's are great tires. They are fairly puncture resistant, the last a pretty long time (I have actually gotten several thousand miles on a set), and they are easy to take off in case of a flat.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for training and racing, this is my all around tire
rating
by CycleRod
Cycling Enthusiast
Kennewick, WA

I used to switch to lighter tires for a long ride or race. After several flats in crucial rides, I have decided it is smarter to just stick with my tried and true GP 4000S tires, they are good for 2,500 miles without a flat.

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Prone to puncture
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tire perform well but if you are an urban rider, they surely are not worth the trouble of repairing repeated punctures.

Reviewed 7/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all purpose tire
rating
by Dsquared
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have these tires on both my touring bike and my road bike. They are tough tires, I find numerous cuts in the tire from road debris but I rarely get flats. I use the 25mm tires and they give a comfortable and fast ride.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page