FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(463 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(373)
(56)
(11)
(8)
(15)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Impressive
rating
by SramShimanoCampyrider
Daily Commuter
Utah

Our rough roads have eaten every tire I have tried (Michelin, Panaracer, including previous Continentals and a list of others). These were on sale and decided to give them a try, they are holding up better than expected with the use of kevlar liners and puncture resistant tubes-I spend time riding not repairing. I have been very impressed with the road feel of these tires and after a long ride I usually have slight cuts in the outer tire casing and so far no cuts.

Reviewed 9/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great balance- training vs durability
rating
by RoboKrause
Competitive Racer
Manhattan, KS

This tire doesn't disappoint. It offers a perfect balance of durability but is still light enough for quick training. It could even be a solid tire for race days.

Reviewed 8/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wow. Get'em while they're hot.
rating
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had previously ridden on Vittoria Open Corsa clinchers. These ride as fast as the Vit's but not as supple. The Vit's are good for a 1500 miles max. and seem to cut very easily.The speed advantage the Conti's provide more than makes up for the less supple ride quality and so far I've experienced no punctures. When on sale I usually buy a pair.

Reviewed 8/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big fan
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

The Gold Standard

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tried and true
rating
by iammikeDOTorg
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

Super fast, super grippy, relatively long lasting. These have been my go-to tire for as long as I can remember. New bikes get them installed near immediately. I use these daily and no complaints on longevity, but the 4-Season isn't a bad option if you're not racing.

Reviewed 7/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Anonymous
Fremont, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Conti 4000S II as my go-to tire for years. It offers both durabilty and speed. The tires were also at a good price at Western Bike Works

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Been using these tires for years, because I believe them to be the best tire available for cycling
rating
by bynalski
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

Good light weight, that handles the road well

Reviewed 7/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Supple and Durable
rating
by Cyclespeed
Northern Virginia

I have raced and trained on these tires for many years and they enspire confidence. With average of about 3800 miles a year, I only get one flat per year. Great traction on both dry and wet surfaces.

Reviewed 7/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best overall tire for Fitness rider
rating
by Freight train
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster Pa.

Durability , ride and speed are all at high level.

Reviewed 7/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for the money
rating
by Anonymous
seattle, WA

This has always been my go to tire. After riding the Gaterskin tire for the winter its even more of a pleasure to get back on the 4000S tires.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely a watt saving tire.
rating
by brad824
Competitive Racer
Loganville Ga

I usually ride the Gatorskin's, but no more. This tire is around a 10 watt saving.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sidewall failed
rating
by CG
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

Nice tire except the sidewall failed (tear) after only 1200 miles. No obvious cause - smooth road. Too bad - I liked it otherwise. Seems like it had goodlow rolling resistance on my kind of roads. Won't buy it again because of the failure.

Reviewed 7/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont

Love the feel and ride of these tires.

Reviewed 8/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really wanted to like this tire... but can not recommend
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I decided to switch over to the 4000S after reading all the positive reviews for a summer of riding in the Mountains of Western North Carolina. The tires felt fast and smooth... very nice riding. Unfortunately, after a few hundred mikes I had a sidewall blowout (very dangerous on mountian rides!). I purchased another 4000S from a local LBS, only to have a 2nd sidewall blowout about 7 weeks later. After my first blowout, I started regularly checking my tires for cuts prior to rides and saw nothing. Talking to 2 members of my cycling group they also experienced sidewall blowouts before on these tires. Maybe just bad luck, but based on personal experience and comments form others I will not use these tires again. I have been riding Michelin and Specialized tires (both prior and after) on the same wheels without incident...

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great handling and reliability!
rating
by Anonymous
Denver, CO

I decided to try these tires instead of the 4 Season. They handle better and are still very durable and puncture resistant.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Mileage, Best Puncture-Proof, Best Grip
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles,CA

Use on the front and rear road bike...best tire in all respects... maybe only drawback -- THE WEIGHT....

Reviewed 6/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best
rating
by JPL
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

I have tried many tire brands over the years but in the end I always come back to the 4000 S. Rolls great and is far more puncture resistant than almost anything else I have tried except perhaps for Conti's Gatorskins

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable and Fast
rating
by CYB
Cycling Enthusiast
Pensacola, FL.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

You cant go wrong with this Continental tire. It is one of the most durable tires on the market and it easily compares to the S-works cotton tire in speed

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
rating
by Anonymous

Great

Reviewed 6/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page