FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(402 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(320)
(50)
(10)
(10)
(12)
(80%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Durable and Fast
rating
by CYB
Cycling Enthusiast
Pensacola, FL.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

You cant go wrong with this Continental tire. It is one of the most durable tires on the market and it easily compares to the S-works cotton tire in speed

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a very, very fast tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tire has treated me very good thus far, feels very fast and has been solid (knock on wood).

Reviewed 6/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast but may cause flats
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these to ride for the May bike more challenge to swap out my wider winter conti 4 season tires. They feel faster with less rolling resistance (28mm) and are lighter than the 32mm 4 season ms I ride during the winter but Ive experienced 3 flats during the month of May with 464 miles on them. The inside of the tire feels a bit rough (you can see the ridges if you turn the tire inside out) and I think they rub the tube quite a bit which have caused my flats. They arent pinch flats or true punctures but look like more frictionrub causing the flats. May put tireliners on or switch over to slimmer 4 seasons instead.

Reviewed 6/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The most dependable and light tire for fast club riding!
rating
by Cervelo R3sl
Cycling Enthusiast
Twin Cities, MN

Conti 4000s tires have been the most puncture resistant of any high performance tires I've ridden. They are grippy, easy to mount and light weight. I run these tires on nearly all my bikes. Western Bike Works always has great prices and fast service. Thanks!

Reviewed 6/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are my go-to tires
rating
by jenny
Competitive Racer
NJ

these tires are strong, have good grip and last long!

Reviewed 6/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rolling resistance with puncture protection
rating
by jrdavis65
Cycling Enthusiast
Hillsboro, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding Conti Gatorskins and Hardshells for years. I've found the 4000 SII as a better all around tire. They still have excellent puncture protection with the benefit of better rolling resistance. Highly recommended

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best road tire from the best bike store.
rating
by Rich North
Cycling Enthusiast
Western North Carolina

Not only total faith in how these tires perform but also the total faith I have in shopping with Western Bike Works

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far, good
rating
by Anonymous
MN

Put them on my wife's road bike....she is happy with the performance thus far. Early days.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Anonymous
Fremont, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Conti 4000S II as my go-to tire for years. It offers both durabilty and speed. The tires were also at a good price at Western Bike Works

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the fast rolling, hate the sensitivity to flats
rating
by Daniel
Cycling Enthusiast
Tualatin, OR

I cycled 13,000 miles in 2017 and am on track for 11,440 miles in 2018. Fitness is my goal and I belong to two cycling clubs for weekly rides. I ride the GP 4000 tires in the dry season in Oregon, and the only downside is the propensity to flat and gash-out before the tread is worn down on the rear tire.

Reviewed 4/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
rating
by Ronald Borgwardt
Conejo Valley California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got 3000 miles on these tires with no flats.

Reviewed 4/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
rating
by Ronald
Thousand Oaks
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've put 3000 miles on these tires with no flats.

Reviewed 4/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the best road tire now with high visibility stripe. Good grip with relatively low rolling resistance.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Omaha, NE

The tires are on a set of ENVE wheels. Regular road use. Great grip. I use the 4000 S tires on all my clincher wheels

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire
rating
by Thomas
Vegas Valley

I always stock up on a few of these tires whenever they are on sale. They are light and durable. I use them for races and training. Rarely will they flat, and that is usually caused by steel wire from steel belted tires that litter our roads.

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Boise Idaho
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is not the smoothest rolling tire. It My last set made it over 3000 miles. For the money, to get a durable fast rolling tire, this one is hard to beat.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GP 4000 tires are my favorite tires for racing.
rating
by MBA266
Competitive Racer
Tennessee and Arizona
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this product for crit racing. The tire conforms to the corners well and have good flat resistance on the open road.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best road tire
rating
by Chad
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Conti 4000 S II are the gold standard. Been riding these tires for 10 years and can't find anything better. Great price at Western Bike Works too!

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are sweet riding
rating
by gdavis
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio

For past 5 years or longer I have ridden on another brand tire, I was satisfied. Bought a pair of the Grand Prix S II's, and have only one of the two currently installed (on the rear). I immediately noticed a nicer ride, felt stickier too. Definitely a better ride than what I was accustomed to.

I'll go out on a limb without any empirical evidence at all - the tire seems faster. Just a a couple rides and will be changing the front soon - so we'll se about that. Have to give them a season to see how they hold up. But so far - nice tire.

Reviewed 2/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Why change, they're great
rating
by Marc
Cycling Enthusiast
Va

Will try the 25 but have ridden 23 for 1000s of miles with rarely a problem.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page