FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Special Edition Black (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great all around tire
rating
by Anonymous

These are my go to tire. Love the 4000s which just retired and have the new 5000s. The 4000s sidewalls has a tendency to blow after so many miles though. These 4 season have good flat protection, good roll and great grip. Rode 4000s and dura skin for years. These are all I ride now. I put on 10000 miles or more a year between commuting and weekend rides and good wheel sets, tires and saddle make all the difference.

Reviewed 7/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The commuter standard or close to it.
rating
by Doug L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville ,TN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride gravel trails with the grand kids and occasionally commute on debris laden deteriorating city streets with inattentive drivers. Good side wall protection is a must and thus have avoided many opportunities for punctures. Adjust the air pressure to the terrain 40 - 55 lbs. and ride with confidence. I have not made a direct comparison with comparable Compass tires but I think they are close in speed and comfort - on sale well worth the price. Had been using 32 mm Gatorskins and these are better for all weather traction, comfort and speed. The black edition actually improves the appearance of my beater VO campeur. To sum up, A tire that does its job very well.

Reviewed 12/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuting tire
rating
by John
Portland Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are fantastic for commuting in the PNW. Lots of grip in the rain, fairly light and great durability. I got over 3k out of my rear tire going over rough roads and. lots of broken glass. Just picked up a new set on sale from Western. Great bike shop!

Reviewed 5/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
rating
by John
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tires for all season riding. These tires have great road feel and fend off flats even when riding through the gravel.

Reviewed 4/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoulder season tires
rating
by Bikes 4 Pizza
Competitive Racer
Portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second pair of these Grand Prix tires. They roll fast, come in several sizes and have fantastic flat protection. They are great for Spring and Fall conditions when the roads might be rather nasty. You might want to swap for something a bit lighter in the Summer.

Reviewed 3/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great tire at a great price!
rating
by Tal
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I cant think of anything to add to all thats been said about this tire. Its been my go-to for years.

Reviewed 3/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The tougher version of the best all around road clincher available.
rating
by PDXKing
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've used 28mm GP 4-Seasons tires for years - for winter training, commuting, touring, gravel, and on a tandem. I think of them as a tougher version of the 4000S. Great grip, durability, and puncture resistance. The black side walls on the Black Edition make 'em look a bit cooler than the old gum-wall version, too!

Reviewed 2/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
rating
by Bill G
Cycling Enthusiast
Mass

These are awesome. No flats on my last pair that Im still using.. they also look nice..

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far very happy with tire choice
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago suburbs

Very happy with choice of the Grand Prix 4-Season tires. The feel is good, reasonably weight, and hoping the puncture resistance lives up to expectations.

Reviewed 1/20/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All season tire rides well in winter.
rating
by Anonymous
Idaho
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I usually ride Conti's 4000 Grand Prix in size 23 mm and purchased the Grand Prix 4 Season in 28mm for winter riding. Like the 4000 these are folding tires and are lighter than I thought. They corner well, and are more durable. I am a fan. Great success!

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best of all worlds tire
rating
by Short Legged Cyclist
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

Almost as smooth and fast as the Conti GP 4000 IIs and almost as puncture resistant as a Gatorskin, a beautiful compromise that is no compromise at all in terms of durability and quality.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best all round tire
rating
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa Ca

I run these tires on all my road bikes

Reviewed 1/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires have great traction, ride well, and look great.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

As a daily commuter in Seattle I needed tires that could withstand lots of road debris, wet weather, and plenty of hills. These check all those boxes. I've only had them a few months, so can't really judge them on how they wear and how much puncture protection they have. So far so good though.

Reviewed 11/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best all-season tire on the market!
rating
by CDYZL
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The limited edition all-black tire will simply take the aesthetics of your bike up a notch!

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast. Durable. Versatile. Supple. My go to tire.
rating
by Col Flaneur
Cycling Enthusiast
Truckee, CA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

In June I rode these tires (28mm) in the Haute Route Rockies - over 500 miles and 50,000 ft. of climbing on a mix of pavement and gravel. They were bullet proof and comfortable. No punctures, no problems. They performed flawlessly in heat, hail, rain and snow. They tracked with confidence on the descents and didn't hold me back on the endless climbs. I've also put countless training miles on these tires without a single flat. Pricey - maybe. Worth it - definitely.

Reviewed 7/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough Tire
rating
by Hard Road
Cycling Enthusiast
St.louis
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Rode the Katy Trail. 250 miles of gravel. The tires look unscathed

Reviewed 7/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super solid
rating
by Rjhollinger
Sonoma county
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Ive been running these tires for years, I love the all black edition. I live in Sonoma County where the roads are not so forgiving. And these tires are Bullet proof.

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Conti Gran Prix 4 season
rating
by RickArgon
Denver
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden these tires for a few Seasons, and they perform well in all conditions.

I am happy with the limited release Black edition, as they look super sharp.

I have ridden Michelin Pro 4 in the past, but bring a heavier rider, I had more than usual side blowouts, I enjoy the more durable casing of the Conti tires, and this 4 Season covers all my needs!

Reviewed 5/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Tires have served me well racing and training for 35 years
rating
by Toby
Competitive Racer
Cincinnati, Ohio
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are great for training. They wear very well and handle in good and bad weather. I usually get 3 years out of a set of Continental tires. I average 12 thousand miles a year. I'm a light rider weighing between 128 and 130 lbs. The last set I went 3 years without a single flat. A lot of the roads in southwestern Ohio and Indiana are not the greatest either.

I highly recommend these tires.

Reviewed 4/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Flats Stopped When I Got These!
rating
by COLObiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Broomfield, CO
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

When I got my new Trek Domane, it came with 32s which I just wasn't ready to go to. I had always run Continental GP 4000S IIs - 23s or 25s, and I saw they made 28s in that tire also, so I got those. I loved the softness of the wider tire and lower air pressure, but I got 4 flats within 200 miles. All goatheads. I lost confidence in the ability of those tires to fend off a couple teeny tiny goatheads, so I went with these 4 Seasons. So far, 300 more miles on the same roads, zero flats. They are a hair stiffer, but I'll take the stronger durability. The black edition was a little splurge but does look better with my partly black bike.

Reviewed 12/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page