1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(546 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(426)
(104)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(78%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Previous Page
IT IS ONE GREAT TIRE
rating
by DENNIS
Casual Cyclist
08077

I USE THIS TIRE FOR TOURING

Reviewed 11/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all-purpose tire
rating
by htxtreme
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This is my third set of Continental Gatorskin tires. I use them on my training bike (as my carbon bike has tubeless tires) and they're very durable but not terribly heavy and roll nicely. I ride with a lot of confidence that I won't get a flat with every piece of glass or other debris on the road. I've only gotten one flat tire over the years which was a freak occurrence - ran over one of those thin wires that comes off of bus or other large vehicle tires.

Reviewed 5/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good training tire
rating
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson city- Lake Tahoe area of the Sierra Nevada
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

After purchasing the Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tires 25/28 recently , I have about three hundred miles on them. They roll smoothly and running them at 88 of pressure they absorb road vibs quite well. Descending a mountain pass of six miles from Lake Tahoe, the Garmin recorded a top speed of 53.8 mph and I felt secure rolling through the high speed turns. I shall continue to monitor their performance and hope to get many miles in return.

I raced mountain bikes until age 55 with state championships and one national downhill title in 1994 and I still log over 4000 miles a year on my bicycles.

Reviewed 4/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough tire and rides smooth
rating
by JPL
San Diego CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Using the 28 on my training bike. Fits and I run it at 75 psi. Really smooth ride for those 50 plus mile days.

Reviewed 3/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great winter commuting tires
rating
by Anonymous
Oregon
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Stick to the ground, even when it's wet. No flats on the morning commute yet.

Reviewed 1/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
32 not 32
rating
by B
WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Ride these tires, or the 4 season, almost always. I prefer the 4 season, but it only comes no larger than 28, and the 28 is about 26. these 32s measure about 29 on an open pro rim. Overall a good tire, and they last me a long time, 2000 mi

Reviewed 1/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire, great price
rating
by MuscleSuitBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This tire was phenomenal on my Rivendell touring bike and I now use them on my Specialized Roubaix. Great, comfortable ride, good traction, and wear like iron. I went over 2000 miles without a flat before replacing the tires because the back was work more than front so I decided to change out both. I told my brother about them and he's sold now, riding over 8000 miles yearly and far fewer flats.

Reviewed 10/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One Tough and Durable Tire
rating
by Poor Pop
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus Oh
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Just completed a four day ride on the Ohio to Erie trail. We had lots of rain and wind resulting a trail filled with leaves, sticks, walnuts, branches, and at one point broken glass. My Gatorskins don't even have a cut on them. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 10/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellence And Slightly Pocket Book Concious
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

By all means try out the best that money can offer but these tires do a decent job. They do run a bit high for pressure requirements (recommended 110psi to 120psi) but still feel comfortable on a short rides (4 hrs) (with fairdecent pavement).

In the past, I have had Continentals that are impossible to read (what is the rotational direction, pressure, size), these are not a complete improvement but you can read them after a fashion (do not install in poor lighting).

Reviewed 10/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the only tires i'll use!
rating
by wpw76
Cycling Enthusiast
rancho palos verdes

i don't want to be stopped by flats - so i stick with Gatorskins. i can get 5,000 miles on them.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What's not to love
rating
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If superman had tires on his bike he'd use Gatorskin. Superior roll, nearly bullet proof, long lasting... what else should you expect from a tire? A longtime buyer of Schwable Marathon tires, I made the switch to Gaterskins and have not looked back. I could tell almost immediately how much smoother the ride was. Great quality at a fair price.

Reviewed 8/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tired of flats? need a durable long lasting tire? Gatorskins are my pick.
rating
by TK
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire, i use for training and some racing when road conditions take you on rough or off road. I road these for both Rapha's Gentlemen's Ride and the Belgium Waffle Ride (same pair) and did not get get a flat in either.

Reviewed 6/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent in 32c
rating
by JSC
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington State
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love the plump 32c tires that I recently purchased.

They mounted up perfectly and roll extremely smoothly. Grip is also in both wet and dry.

Weight is not an issue on my commuter/touring bike and wear appears to be good (I have only been riding them for a few months).

Reviewed 5/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far.. so great!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anaheim, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have put 300 miles on these tires as of writing this review. Off the bat, I'm very impressed with these. I haven't tried out 700x28s before and was initially hesitant to purchase because of the extra weight and perceived slowness. Happy to say that I haven't noticed a weight difference very much, if at all. I also don't believe these to have slowed me down. The gatorskins corner really well and feel like they easily roll over everything. I especially like how grippy they are on wet pavement. I hope these last as long as some of the other reviews I've read

Reviewed 4/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best endurance tire out!
rating
by Brenton
Cycling Enthusiast
United States
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'v been really happy with the Gatorskin tires, they may not be the lightest but very flat resistant and I get a lot of miles on per set. Pretty much the only tires I run on my road bikes.

Reviewed 4/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty durable, long lasting
rating
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Clayton, OH
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got over 4,000 miles on these tires. I DID get a couple punctures, though. One puncture was from a splinter of wood, which I was surprised that it was able to penetrate the tire. On other sets I've seen threads start to unravel and get tangled up in the axle. I'm told this is a common problem but I haven't seen it on my Michelin Pro4 Endurance tires.

Reviewed 4/1/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire and great price
rating
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
California central coast

I have been riding these since a transcontinental ride 5 years ago. They greatly reduce the chance of puncture flats and the last nearly forever.

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Never had a flat on these
rating
by Anonymous

Second set of these I've purchased. Rode 3-4k miles on the first pair without a flat.

Reviewed 11/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire ever!!!
rating
by Anonymous
Aliso Viejo, Southern California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a straight forward tire. 3000 miles on it and I have even pulled staples out of it without a flat! It is a little harder compared to racing softer tires but I will take the bullet proof reliability for training and gran Fondo rides. This my tire of choice by far after being a Michelin guy for years.....

Reviewed 12/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable tire
rating
by Anonymous

I think the last one I had at least 3000 miles on it.

Reviewed 10/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.