1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(570 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(448)
(106)
(9)
(5)
(2)
(79%)
(19%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
These are very reliable tires.
rating
by Titanium Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington

I use these tires in Eastern Washington. Most of our rural roads are chip seals. These tires wear better than most on chip seals. A bit heavy for racing but very reliable and durable for training.

Reviewed 8/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always a good value.
rating
by timmconnelly
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, WA

I use the Gatorskin tire for road rides. The CONTINENTAL GATORSKIN 700C ROAD TIRE (WIRE BEAD) is the best tire for our county chip seals. It's durable and smooth. It's a bit heavy, but I don't care as I don't race.

Reviewed 7/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All Surface Tire!
rating
by SF Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco

I have 5,000+ miles on a set of these tires any only one flat caused by piece of wire. Great for all surfaces including gravel. Definitely worth the price.

Reviewed 8/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tougher than a $2 dollar steak
rating
by BearGnaw
Daily Commuter
portland, or

Currently it's my front tire on my daily rider. Includes an occasional by-weekly work commute of 16 miles round trip through NW industrial streets, picking up groceries and the running of random errands in the neighborhood. I've used this brand of tire for the past six years and have never had an issue. I'm not the most technical or demanding of rider, but for what I throw at it, it's rock solid.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Stop looking!
rating
by Bdhasson
Evans, Georgia
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I had been recommended these tires by a riding buddy for some time now. I have always been partial to Michelin tires. Well not any more. These tires hold the road better and have a much more durable sidewall than any other tire I have ridden. I have already put over 600 miles on these and they are doing great. I won't be buying anything else. I will be sending a pair to my dad when he runs his current tires down.

Reviewed 8/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough Tire with OK Ride
rating
by ShastaTour
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I have a couple thousand miles into a set of 32mm and though they are starting to wear a bit square the wear indicators would seem to indicate i have another 2K left at least. The two flats so far were both wire from delaminated truck steel belted tires that would flat almost any bike tire. I have ridden these extensively on gravel roads as well without issue. So, for toughness I rate these tires 5 stars for a sub 300 gram 32mm tire. If you want bulletproof then take the weight penalty and run Schwalbe Marathons.

Ride quality though is just average. Not bad but not great either. They felt better when new but are now starting to feel a little squirrley when cornering probably from the way they are wearing - nothing terrible, but just average.

I am reluctant to change tires because these have proven themselves out on the road to be trustworthy and get you through rides. And, when buying on sale, the price is very competitive.

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Company
rating
by Armyrob
Mission Viejo

Great tire. Always buy a set when they are sale. Western Bike Works is a great company to buy from. Fast delivery and products are always what's promised.

Reviewed 5/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires
rating
by Anonymous
Little Rock, AR

I got my tires in quickly after ordering. They were easy to install and the ride is smooth. After a couple a hundred miless they still have the bead in the center so I expect them to last a really long time. I will be back for other equipment from you as I need it.

Reviewed 10/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good All Purpose Tire For Training
rating
by YPHawaiian
Cycling Enthusiast
Kaneohe, Hawaii - Wet and muddy at times.

I used the GatorSkins on my Kestrel bicycle for training and general riding for approximately 2 months. It rides fairly smooth and prevents flats fairly well although, I've had one flat already.

Reviewed 4/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire
rating
by Distance Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupress, TX

Durable, almost totall puncture resistant, smooth riding

Reviewed 1/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Western Bike Works Delivers
rating
by Biker Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Honolulu

Not only have I ordered Continental Gatorskin Tires for our Tandem bike but also Continental Grand Prix 5000 for my road bike. Continental Tires are simply the easiest tires to mount on your rims and their superb ride and long wear make them a GREAT VALUE!

Reviewed 10/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
westernbikeworks always the best price ,fast service and no tax
rating
by stevenlevesseur
Cycling Enthusiast
kent, washington

tires are very good for any street or paved trail.

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
virtually indestructible and impervious to all city and country roads throw at you! My last set saw 5k miles before failure and that was a wear hole!
rating
by SFBiker
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

see review headline! No other alternative for city streets

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent wearing tires
rating
by jonathan
New Jersey

Best tires I've ever had on my bike. Highly recommended because of the great wear and great traction

Reviewed 9/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product.
rating
by 160497
Cycling Enthusiast
South TX

Only have about 300 hundred miles on tires so far. No flats. Smooth ride, great service.

Reviewed 2/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent, high mileage & puncture resistant over the high mileage use.
rating
by BikerBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cypress, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am a long distance rider( 3 -400 miles per week) and totally like this tire especially for its durability. I easily get 6 to 7000 miles on a pair of these tires - more if I take the time to rotate them every 1500 miles.

Reviewed 6/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
3 flats in 3 months
rating
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
0 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

Enough said.

Reviewed 8/22/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great mid priced tire
rating
by John
New Brunswick, New Jersey

I have been using the Garorskin rires and another similar brand for years. I have put thousands and thousands of miles on them and they last forever. I change out a set on my wheels(I have two sets) every year and these hardly show wear

Reviewed 4/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental makes great bike tires
rating
by Keith
Daily Commuter
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've consistently used Continental bike tires for the past 20 years. I'm a commuter and recreational rider year round in all weather. Gatorskins are easy to put on, wear well, handle well, and rarely get punctured.

Reviewed 1/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all-purpose tire
rating
by htxtreme
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This is my third set of Continental Gatorskin tires. I use them on my training bike (as my carbon bike has tubeless tires) and they're very durable but not terribly heavy and roll nicely. I ride with a lot of confidence that I won't get a flat with every piece of glass or other debris on the road. I've only gotten one flat tire over the years which was a freak occurrence - ran over one of those thin wires that comes off of bus or other large vehicle tires.

Reviewed 5/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.