FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Gatorskin 27 Inch Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin 27 Inch Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(41 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(6)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(83%)
(15%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Good fit for an old Raleigh.
rating
by Boomer 10/45
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville,TN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these for my daughter's bike an old 19 Grand Prix after she finished college. She has ridden this bike in town for the better part of a year rain or shine. No problems what so ever with these tires and she likes the comfortable ride. I also bought her a patch kit and tire levers but the tires will probably wear out before they get a puncture. Great tires for the price and if you have an older bike with 27 wheels give these a try before buying 700C wheels and tires.

Reviewed 7/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much improved solution for replacing Xtra thick tubes for avoiding flats.
rating
by Anonymous

A great all purpose tire that I use on most all roadstreet surfaces.

Reviewed 5/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent! I love these tires!
rating
by rickintx
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love these tires, I ride in Houston and have never had a flat yet, I have worn them out and never had a flat, for the money and the good ride I will buy these 27 tires as long as they keep making them. I ride about 1,000 miles a month on all kinds of roads, they handle great and look pretty decent, you will like them if you try them!!

Reviewed 9/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
strong, dependable- perfect for commuting
rating
by jlaformab
Casual Cyclist
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this for my bike-about-town, the gatorskin is really tough, and I don't doubt that it will last me a long time. It feels great and rides smoothly. Much better than the average tire.

Reviewed 5/6/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great upgrade for an old bike.
rating
by Rich G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont

I should have bought these ages ago. They do a great job of soaking up buzz from the road. There's less rolling resistance than cheaper tires. They are worth the extra bucks.

Reviewed 6/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
smooth ride, good grip
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
suburban Chicago
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I like the run flat protection while riding.

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tire is too wide
rating
by SyncroBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Irvine, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I picked up these tires thinking that I would be all set on my vintage Della Santa racer. It turns out that these tires sit kind of wide on my rims. At least a lot wider than my previous tires (27x14). I had to remove the brake shoes to install the wheel back on both front and the rear. My racing frame has narrow stays at the bottom bracket. The rear wheel has so ever slight out-of-true and the tire rubs on the frame. These tires are great but I'm going to swap them out for some narrower ones because they are not practical on this bike.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire. Would recommend.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Valley Forge, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second set of Gatorskins I own. The first are the Hardshells I put on another bike. I liked them so much I thought I'd try these when looking at new tires for a 27 fixed gear. After speaking to one of the customer service reps I decided to try the regular Gatorskins.

While I know Conti's have a reputation of running small, these measure 32mm (1.25) on my rims. The rims are regular square cross section, not aero's. They leave a mm or two under the rear brake and plenty of room under the front on the Schwinn Traveler frame. Mounting was fine though I did need tire levers for the last bit of both the front and rear. My front rim is an 80's era Weinman without a lip and there have been no problems with this tire pulling off. I run them around 90-100 psi and find them compliant, comfortable with low rolling resistance and good road grip in both wet and dry weather.

I've put a couple hundred miles on them and the front still has the mold line and the rear is showing no wear. I don't skid stop so have no data on their slide characteristics or wear rate in that capacity. Over all I am very pleased with the tires and would recommend them to others.

Reviewed 3/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long-lasting, great performance
rating
by andres paway
Daily Commuter
Washington, DC

I haven't had these tires on my bike for long, but I did have Continental's cheaper model Ultra Sport on my bike for eight years of daily commutes and touring through gravel, glass, and mud. Once I put some tire liners between the tires and the tubes, I literally never got flats through years of riding. And the Gatorskins are a step up! They were easy to get on and look great. These models look a little bald and slick brand new, but the grip seems find and I expect them to last longer than my 1982 frame at this point.

Reviewed 1/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A quality 27 tire for the long haul
rating
by Rich L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I was glad to find Continental still provides a quality 27 inch tire that was purchased for our tandem. This should give good service for safe riding.

Reviewed 9/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskins are the way to go
rating
by Anonymous

Great tire for the cities. Good tread, Can't beat the puncture resistant features of this tire.

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great value at any price paid! The best out there for 27" wheels!
rating
by Jason
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The most durable, easy to mount, longest lasting, and bullet proof (no flats), 27 inch tire available! Higher cost than some other options but lasts longer so evens out. )

Reviewed 5/1/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
puncture-proof (so far) tires
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Reviewed 3/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a high quality dependable tire for everyday road use!
rating
by Bikerdon
Cycling Enthusiast
N.E. Ohio
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the 27 x1 14 size for about 5 years on my Franklin tandem, riding about 7-8,000 miles per year. The front tires lasts about 4500mi, & the rear about 2500mi. You can dependably wear these down to the chord before changing them. This tire gives a reassuring grip on the road, wet or dry (not loose gravel). The Gatorskins are not puncture proof, but are way above average in resisting flats. I have never had a blowout or chord separation with these tires. They mount easily, but not loose. A GREAT tire!

Reviewed 9/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic tires for commuting and weekend riding.
rating
by Alex
Casual Cyclist
Sherman Oaks, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride almost every weekend around 50 miles or so and these tires are fantastic. Never punctured a tube while using these for several years. Decent grip on wet and excellent traction on dry surface. They also last for a very long time. Definitely recommend.

Reviewed 8/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing Tire
rating
by NYC Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So far I have only used this tire for about 2 1/2 months and 1000 miles but these tires have been great! I use my bike to commute to work which is about a 23 mile round trip between Queens and Manhattan. Certain roads are in terrible shape and are littered with glass and other debris. It has handled extremely well under these conditions and has an excellent grip on the road. I did have one puncture a couple weeks ago from a small piece of copper, but I doubt any tire could have stopped it. It still runs great and seems like it will last quite a bit longer. Once these come back in stock I will be buying another set of these!

Reviewed 8/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
rating
by jasonkrw
Casual Cyclist
Chicago

Put these tires on my 20 year old Ross road bike and now it feels like a brand new bike.

Reviewed 8/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire, a little hard
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Reno, NV
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this to help prevent punctures from what northern Nevadan's call goatheads, little thorny bastards that kill your tires and tubes. since putting these on i haven't had a single puncture. i mostly ride my Schwinn Traveler as a towny, to the bars and parks and just pleasure rides but have had no issues with these tires. they are a bit hard though and definitely feel the road surface more with them. i would buy again and recommend for puncture resistant tires.

Reviewed 4/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire for the money!
rating
by RickinTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I didn't want to spend a lot on tires, but I took a chance on these and am glad I did. I have about 3,000 miles on them so far and not one flat! Needless to say the flat protection is awesome, and the ride is as good as it can get. Great grip, I run 95 lbs. in them, they are fast and I love them. I will buy them again when I wear these out. Very Satisfied!!

Reviewed 4/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome!
rating
by RickinTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a good tire, I ride 52 miles a day, everyday, and since I started using these I haven't had a flat, they ride good, firm but not to hard, great grip, they even look good. When I wear these out I will get another set, no doubt at all, I love them!!

Reviewed 3/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page