FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Gatorskin 26 Inch Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin 26 Inch Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(11)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(63%)
(29%)
(5%)
(0%)
(3%)
Previous Page
durable but a little harsh
rating
by dganchorage
Cycling Enthusiast
brooklyn, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

difficult to install on my ritchey rims and the ride is a little harsh but rolling resistance is good and so far so is durability.

Reviewed 9/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super fast rolling MTB street tire with excellent flat protection.
rating
by Chris R
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these tires for a folding mountain bike that I travel with all year. Previous tires I had were ok, but I got too many flats. Plus running them at 115 psi makes keeping up with my roadie friends much easier. These tires are fast and durable.

You wont be disappointed.

Reviewed 9/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are the best tires for a 26" tandem by a wide margin.
rating
by MP
Competitive Racer
Colorado and Washington
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

My wife and I have a Santana tandem and finding a tire that can handle the added load and still ride smooth and fast has been difficult. After trying several different tires from Specialized and Ritchey (Tom Slicks don't hold a candle to these,) the Conti Gatorskins are a revelation. Great tire, reasonably quiet, feel supple with good feedback from the road, and able to handle high pressure and load. Good in both wet and dry conditions. Buy these!

Reviewed 8/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are tough tires
rating
by Kurtmugin
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley, OR

This is my 3rd set of these tires. They are extremely puncture resistant, have low rolling resistance, excellent traction in the corners, and long life. I've had other puncture resistant brands that did not hold up nearly so well. Great tires.

Reviewed 8/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire for long trips.
rating
by Dave
Colorado
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I go one 500 mile trips once or twice a year, as well as, participate in 60-100 mile one day events throughout the year. Of course there are a lot of training miles to prepare to do these things. The Gatorskin tires have proven to be the longest lasting, most durable, and best ride of the tires I have tried.

Reviewed 6/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuter - very fast and very durable
rating
by Anonymous D
Casual Cyclist
Washington DC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Got these on sale, so the price was right. Love how they make my mountain bike handle pavement, especially hills and turns. A little tougher to mount than others, as the wire bead is quite strong. Also, make sure you get the high pressure rim strips to go with them (sucks to have super tough tires only to get flats from the inside).

Reviewed 6/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tires, but weak sidewalls.
rating
by L Price
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires as everyday tires as well as touring tires on my recumbent bikes. I use these 26 x 1-1/8 on two of my recumbents and the 650C size on another recumbent. This size is fairly easy to mount compared to the 650C size. I can do it without using a tire lever. These tires give me about 2500 miles on the rear, and about 4000 miles on the front. It pays to rotate them every thousand, or so. The tread grip is good, wet or dry. I almost never flat from road debris through the tread, but I have blown out several sidewalls on these and the 650C tires. If the sidewalls were stronger I would have given them 5 stars.

Reviewed 5/6/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not really puncture resistance as mention on the box
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Second day, i have a glass puncture. Not really what I expected

Reviewed 1/18/2013
WesternBikeworks.com Comments

Even the most puncture resistant tires can get flats from road hazards. While the Continental Gatorskin tires are designed to ward off most punctures - and are reported to do a great job most of the time - we do suggest taking care to avoid riding over hazards whenever possible.

Thanks,
Theo
Customer Service

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I bought the tire to improve the speed Capability of my KMX trike.
rating
by 1 old triker
Casual Cyclist
Phoenix, AZ

I ride a 2007 recumbent trike and it felt like the wheels were glued down. In Arizona we also have small thorns shed from certain local plants that are EVERYWHERE. The 26 X 1-1/8 Gatorskin, along with two other narrow tires improved my cruising speed about 2 miles an hour. I have not had flats either, even after riding over 100 miles in the last few weeks.

The joy of riding has been restored.

Reviewed 1/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
wish it folded
rating
by Bob Henne
Cycling Enthusiast
home is roseburg or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Im in Phoenix for the winter and im using 26 in gatorskins because of the thorn issue. last time i used contis, and i believe these flat less. mounting (at least on my rims) i believe would be much easier with a stretched folding version.my bike is and old r.m. altitude with a rigid fork, (all road riding).i really wish schwalbe still made a 26x1 folding slick,the best overall road mtn. tire ive ever used.STELVIO

Reviewed 12/31/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I race handcycles and these tires are fast and reliable.
rating
by Kenny
Competitive Racer
Goldsboro, N.C.

I use this tire on my handcycle, I am in a wheelchair and race marathons in the handcycle division. Theses tires are reliable, light and roll well.

Reviewed 12/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires for commuting
rating
by Francisco
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I was using my old hard tail with the 26 fat tires as a commuter. Friends had recommended slicks, but I ignored their advice for a long time. I finally saw the light and asked a friend who is an expert for a recommendation and he said Gatorskins. I read reviews and decided to go for it. It has been such an improvement! The bike feels lighter and easier to maneuver. The tires have great grip and do well in rainy Portland. My only regret is not having made the switch sooner.

Reviewed 11/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice tire
rating
by vincent
Cycling Enthusiast
albuquerque

use it on a single speed bike for commuting.

pros-

fast rolling,

kevlar helps with punctures from goatheads

con-

hit a pothole and blew out. may have been my fault-tire may not have been fully inflated.

Reviewed 11/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Recumbent Tire
rating
by bentguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Hills
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on my recumbents as rear tires. They are good long-mileage tires with excellent flat protection. I would have given them 5 stars, but I did get irreparable damage to one from hitting a gravel that lacerated the sidewall. I would recommend the tires without hesitation.

Reviewed 11/22/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looking for higher mileage with fewer flats?
rating
by Xstream
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Kansas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am using these tires on both my Rans recumbents Stratus XP and Xstream. The tires are close to slicks with very little tread. I have dropped the Xstream on wet asphalt during a turn at apparently too high a speed. (I didn't think so at the time). They are light, relatively high pressure (110 psi), nice rolling and I am expecting higher mileage with fewer flats. So far, so good, but I have less than 500 miles on either set.

Reviewed 5/31/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not bad
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are surprisingly fast given the extra armor (I sometimes use my MTB for the local hammerfests). They roll about as smooth as the 26x1 Ritchey Tom Slick, but they wear much better IMO. I've also rolled right over broken glass at 110 PSI with absolutely no puncture. I'd say the only thing that beats these are the Conti 26x1.x GP4000 for slightly faster rolling.

Reviewed 5/3/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great 26in tire
rating
by carider
Cycling Enthusiast
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

best 26in slick tire around, and can be inflated to 120lbs for the road ride

Reviewed 2/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A dream tire for commuters on 26 rims
rating
by LA-Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
25 of 25 customers found this review helpful.

With all the puncture and wear protection, I expected a rough harsh ride from this tire, but was amazed to find otherwise! The tire rolls with ease and has the suppleness of a silk sew-up. I shaved 5 minutes off my commute the first day with these tires over Continental Cross-Countrys that I had ridden for a year and a half. They were comfy, but slow. These Gatorskins give the winged feet of Mercury and even with the reduced air volume, a very comfortable ride.

Reviewed 8/11/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.