FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(186 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(155)
(30)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(16%)
(1%)
(0%)
(0%)
Looking to prevent flats on the glass filled streets of San Francisco!
rating
by SFDailyCommuter
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I recently installed these tires to try and prevent flats on the glass filled streets of San Francisco. There is so much car vandalism here that there is glass everywhere! I hope to prevent some flats with these tires. Need some time to see the results!

Reviewed 6/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny!
rating
by rickintx
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX United States
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was hesitant about spending a lot on a tire for a long time but after trying all kinds of tires and getting sick of flats I decided to try these. Well 1800 miles later I love them! No flats so far! I ride in Houston, about 50 or more miles a day pending weather, I come across bad roads, there is all kinds of crap on these streets, cans, bottles, glass, nails, screws, rocks, wire, wood, steel, a rake, a shovel, no kidding,, anyway these tires still look new, I ride a road bike and ride pretty hard, I love the ride, the grip, all of it. I will buy these tires always from now on.. Try them you will love them!

Reviewed 11/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THE commuter tire (for 700c)
rating
by ORjt
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have an 11 mile (one way) commute that varies from rural to city (bike lane) routes. As you might imagine, lots of debris (rocks, glass, metal, you name it) from time to time in the bike lanes. New commuter bike this year, and on the first ride in, picked up something that cut through the rear tire. In the past, I've used Gatorskins as my go-to robust tire.

This time, went with the Hardshell, I was happy to find it in 32mm folding, and on sale. I've been riding on this for a couple of months. Tread still looks great, no signs of cutsbreakswhat not. I expect to get many, many worry-free commute miles.

One oddity - this tire must run very slightly small, my commute went from 10.7 to 10.8 miles. The 10.7 value was based on three bikes, three different tires. They were all consistent at 10.7, this tire has been consistent at giving me 10.8.

Very happy with this tire, I'll grab one for the front once I either wear out, or flat, the tire that came on the bike.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet proof
rating
by Anonymous
Anaheim

In 17,000 mile riding with Gators I've had four flats.Two of them were dry wall screw in side,Staple T50 deflected through side wall.

Reviewed 10/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
EXCELLENT Tire!
rating
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, WA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had been running Continental Grand Prix All Season, kept getting flats. Bought a pair of the Gator Hardshells, so far no flats. Ride quality is better than expected. I found rolling resistance is also very comparable to Grand Prix All Seasons, I had expected a slower tire. I'm running 25's. Turn in on fast downhills is stable. Tires have excellent rain traction. I really the tread wear indicators as well, to know just how worn the tire really is. Extremely happy with the tires!

Reviewed 3/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth every penny!
rating
by rick riner
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX United States

I was hesitant for a long time to spend the money for these but, after trying a lot of other cheaper tires and getting tired of flats I decided to Go For It and see what happens, well 1800 miles later I will never buy another kind of tire, I haven't had a flat, no problems at all and still lots of life left in these tires. I ride a road bike, about 50 miles a day providing good weather, in Houston, bad roads, all kinds of crap in the streets, I have run over almost everything, glass, nails, rocks, wire, a rake, everything,, no flats, no cuts, still riding like new. This is a excellent tire and I will always buy this one from now on...

Reviewed 11/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wonderful product.
rating
by Anonymous
Pdx OR

My buddy has the same ones, three years going. No flats. Even found a Staple in is rear but didn't pop the tube!

Reviewed 9/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nearly bomb proof
rating
by drdgkerr
Cycling Enthusiast
Corpus Christi, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I went with the 25s vice the 23s. They are heavier but they roll so much smoother over the chip seal roads around hear. I just had my first flat after 2700 miles. All the other tires I've used haven't even lasted that long. Still lots of rubber and hoping to get at least 4000 miles before replacing them.

Reviewed 7/26/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
solid commuter tire
rating
by airus78
tacoma
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bike in rainy weather and through city streets that have lots of glass, construction junk, and lot of gravel. I have only had one flat since i got this tire and that was cause i hit a nail!! The tire is still looking great. The only down side is that it does not roll as smooth and it does feel slower, but that is alright. I prefer to be slower than being faster and having to change a tire in 35 degree temp. and getting soaked!!!. Overall very satisfied!!

Reviewed 6/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long lasting durable tires.
rating
by TampaRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

On the road or on the trail these tires provide a smooth and trouble free ride for many miles. Don't want to ride anything else. Worth the extra weight for the peace of mind.

Reviewed 5/26/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised
rating
by DeeBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Hard to go wrong with this tire. It's very durable, fast-rolling, and very puncture-proof. My only complaint is that ride quality begins to suffer drastically in wet conditions after you've put about 500-600 miles on them. Then again, ride quality is entirely dependent on rider style, weight, and setup pressures. I opt for the 700x25s and 100psi.

Reviewed 4/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tires
rating
by 51biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Edwardsville, IL

I have ridden Continental Gator Hardshell 23 mm tires for a couple of years with only one flat in over 4,000 miles. I was curious about the claim that these 25 mm tires ride a little softer than the 23 mm tires and finally decided to try them. The ride is noticebly smoother, particularly when going over expansion cracks in bridges and similar types of uneven pavement. I don't notice any difference rolling resistance or weight so the smoother ride made these tires a great purchase.

Reviewed 4/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire that solved constant flatting
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I ride rough roads with and flatted every other ride with other tires - I put 3,000 miles on this tire with no flats - I won't run anything else.

Reviewed 2/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire for flat free riding
rating
by jeffro
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

these tires do exactly what they say they do miles and miles of flat free riding. Not only that they ride well. What more could you ask for in a tire. My bikes wont ever have anything else.

Reviewed 7/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I don't like flats. I don't race. I just keep buying these.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal

Superior durability

No loss of comfort

Handles fine even cornering at 35mph

Reviewed 12/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Total Reliability
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have roughly 1700 FLAT FREE MILES on the set I currently have mounted. I love these tires. They feel much slower than a traditional Race Tire, but I would have a very hard time being convinced to buy a different tire. They grip well in the rain, and handle the training miles with ease. The wear (lack of) is incredible. They have held up perfectly. I train regularly, and would reccommend these to anyone.

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They are bullet proof.
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Greater Syracuse NY area. Lots of hills and back r

I ride 5 days a week training in variable conditions. I ride a lot of back roads and hills. Rolling resistance is great. I have had no flats since going to these. I use them in races as well as training. They are bullet proof

Reviewed 9/10/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wet traction seems improved over the previous model
rating
by JamesD
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I didn't have a lot of confidence in the wet performance of the previous generation of these tires. This version seems to be a bit stickier when there's water on the pavement. I've only got about 100 miles on them so far, but it's a pretty good tire for my commute. I'll trade a bit of traction and weight for puncture protection if it keeps me from having to change a tube on the way to work.

Reviewed 7/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Security, Stability, and Speed Guaranteed
rating
by Jake the Beagle
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I rode the length of the Katy Trail across Missouri on a new set of these tires. The surface of that trail is crushed limestone that had been softened by early Spring snow and rain. The hardshell provided tread and sidewall protection. The width provided superior stability. The PSI rating was higher than similar tires so my ride was faster, and the tread pattern was ideal for the trail surface. In addition, the tires were easy to mount, which hasn't always been my experience with hardshells.

I've ridden Gatorskins for over 20 years with no problems, and these are just the thing for an older rider or a long distance tourer who wants stability and security without excessive rolling resistance.

Reviewed 5/31/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing cut and puncture resistance
rating
by Westover Slacker
Competitive Racer
portland, oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like Conti tires, but usually they died a quick death of a thousand cuts in the Portland area. I blame the local basalt rock that is crushed and used for roads, winter, construction, etc. It is very hard, and when crushed usually has very sharp edges. I rode a set of Hardshells all winter over this stuff without a single nick. I've gotten to where with the bike I have these mounted on, I don't pay much attention to small debris short of nails anymore.

The overall ride with these is the same as a regular Gatorskin - a little harsh - with a little more rolling resistance. You can't race them, and if your manhood is at stake on weekend training rides you shouldn't use 'em then either. That said, the only real down I've experienced with them is that for a tire I want to use on a rainy day, they don't grip as well as a more cut-able tire. So no more 40 mph descents on curvy roads in the rain...

Reviewed 5/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page