1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Search
WISH
0
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(219 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(182)
(33)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(83%)
(15%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Great Service and Fair Prices
rating
by Anonymous

WBW always provides excellent service and fair prices. Items always delivered quickly. WBW is always my first choice when looking for bicycle parts online.

Reviewed 4/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rickintx

Worth every penny!
rating
by rickintx
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX United States
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I was hesitant about spending a lot on a tire for a long time but after trying all kinds of tires and getting sick of flats I decided to try these. Well 1800 miles later I love them! No flats so far! I ride in Houston, about 50 or more miles a day pending weather, I come across bad roads, there is all kinds of crap on these streets, cans, bottles, glass, nails, screws, rocks, wire, wood, steel, a rake, a shovel, no kidding,, anyway these tires still look new, I ride a road bike and ride pretty hard, I love the ride, the grip, all of it. I will buy these tires always from now on.. Try them you will love them!

Reviewed 11/10/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SF Biker

The gator hardshells provide excellent flat protection!
rating
by SF Biker
Daily Commuter
San Francisco

I am a daily commuter and these tires are super durable and provide excellent flat protection. I have been using them for years and will never go back to other tires! Thank you!

Reviewed 11/27/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ORjt

THE commuter tire (for 700c)
rating
by ORjt
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have an 11 mile (one way) commute that varies from rural to city (bike lane) routes. As you might imagine, lots of debris (rocks, glass, metal, you name it) from time to time in the bike lanes. New commuter bike this year, and on the first ride in, picked up something that cut through the rear tire. In the past, I've used Gatorskins as my go-to robust tire.

This time, went with the Hardshell, I was happy to find it in 32mm folding, and on sale. I've been riding on this for a couple of months. Tread still looks great, no signs of cutsbreakswhat not. I expect to get many, many worry-free commute miles.

One oddity - this tire must run very slightly small, my commute went from 10.7 to 10.8 miles. The 10.7 value was based on three bikes, three different tires. They were all consistent at 10.7, this tire has been consistent at giving me 10.8.

Very happy with this tire, I'll grab one for the front once I either wear out, or flat, the tire that came on the bike.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SF commuter

Excellent, durable tires prevent flats!
rating
by SF commuter
Daily Commuter
San Francisco

I use on my daily commute....prevents flats!

Reviewed 2/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Tires
rating
by Anonymous

fast service

Reviewed 7/25/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tim

EXCELLENT Tire!
rating
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, WA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had been running Continental Grand Prix All Season, kept getting flats. Bought a pair of the Gator Hardshells, so far no flats. Ride quality is better than expected. I found rolling resistance is also very comparable to Grand Prix All Seasons, I had expected a slower tire. I'm running 25's. Turn in on fast downhills is stable. Tires have excellent rain traction. I really the tread wear indicators as well, to know just how worn the tire really is. Extremely happy with the tires!

Reviewed 3/2/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rick riner

Worth every penny!
rating
by rick riner
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX United States

I was hesitant for a long time to spend the money for these but, after trying a lot of other cheaper tires and getting tired of flats I decided to Go For It and see what happens, well 1800 miles later I will never buy another kind of tire, I haven't had a flat, no problems at all and still lots of life left in these tires. I ride a road bike, about 50 miles a day providing good weather, in Houston, bad roads, all kinds of crap in the streets, I have run over almost everything, glass, nails, rocks, wire, a rake, everything,, no flats, no cuts, still riding like new. This is a excellent tire and I will always buy this one from now on...

Reviewed 11/10/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Wonderful product.
rating
by Anonymous
Pdx OR

My buddy has the same ones, three years going. No flats. Even found a Staple in is rear but didn't pop the tube!

Reviewed 9/11/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drdgkerr

Nearly bomb proof
rating
by drdgkerr
Cycling Enthusiast
Corpus Christi, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I went with the 25s vice the 23s. They are heavier but they roll so much smoother over the chip seal roads around hear. I just had my first flat after 2700 miles. All the other tires I've used haven't even lasted that long. Still lots of rubber and hoping to get at least 4000 miles before replacing them.

Reviewed 7/26/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by airus78

solid commuter tire
rating
by airus78
tacoma
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bike in rainy weather and through city streets that have lots of glass, construction junk, and lot of gravel. I have only had one flat since i got this tire and that was cause i hit a nail!! The tire is still looking great. The only down side is that it does not roll as smooth and it does feel slower, but that is alright. I prefer to be slower than being faster and having to change a tire in 35 degree temp. and getting soaked!!!. Overall very satisfied!!

Reviewed 6/2/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TampaRider

Long lasting durable tires.
rating
by TampaRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

On the road or on the trail these tires provide a smooth and trouble free ride for many miles. Don't want to ride anything else. Worth the extra weight for the peace of mind.

Reviewed 5/26/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DeeBiker

Works as advertised
rating
by DeeBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Hard to go wrong with this tire. It's very durable, fast-rolling, and very puncture-proof. My only complaint is that ride quality begins to suffer drastically in wet conditions after you've put about 500-600 miles on them. Then again, ride quality is entirely dependent on rider style, weight, and setup pressures. I opt for the 700x25s and 100psi.

Reviewed 4/15/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by 51biker

Nice tires
rating
by 51biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Edwardsville, IL

I have ridden Continental Gator Hardshell 23 mm tires for a couple of years with only one flat in over 4,000 miles. I was curious about the claim that these 25 mm tires ride a little softer than the 23 mm tires and finally decided to try them. The ride is noticebly smoother, particularly when going over expansion cracks in bridges and similar types of uneven pavement. I don't notice any difference rolling resistance or weight so the smoother ride made these tires a great purchase.

Reviewed 4/17/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tire that solved constant flatting
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I ride rough roads with and flatted every other ride with other tires - I put 3,000 miles on this tire with no flats - I won't run anything else.

Reviewed 2/27/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by YOLObiker

Very durable tires that roll well, but are initially quite difficult to get on the rim because of their stiffness.
rating
by YOLObiker
Daily Commuter
Davis, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Daily 20 mile commutes to work. They roll very well in fast pacelines (around 20-21 mph), but are very difficult to get on the rim the first time.

Reviewed 8/29/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mrchrisd

No flats! ride firm oh and NO FLATS!!
rating
by mrchrisd
Cycling Enthusiast
las vegas nv

my 2-3 times a week 22 mile ride I love these tires! No flats!

Reviewed 10/16/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SFDailyCommuter

Looking to prevent flats on the glass filled streets of San Francisco!
rating
by SFDailyCommuter
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I recently installed these tires to try and prevent flats on the glass filled streets of San Francisco. There is so much car vandalism here that there is glass everywhere! I hope to prevent some flats with these tires. Need some time to see the results!

Reviewed 6/22/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Bullet proof
rating
by Anonymous
Anaheim
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

In 17,000 mile riding with Gators I've had four flats.Two of them were dry wall screw in side,Staple T50 deflected through side wall.

Reviewed 10/3/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reliable with strong performance
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Conejo Valley
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For riding a reliable option that feels smooth on the road.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
Thank you for your feedback.