Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(118 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(105)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(89%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Good ride, for a reinforced tire
rating
by Coblerone
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is one of the best puncture-proof tires out there. I live in goathead country, and my conti's do quite well at keeping me on the road. The ride is not as plush as some, but not as stiff as others, works for me.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ride fora great price.
rating
by Clydesdale Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The ride of these tires is really good. I have about 500 miles on them now with no flats. Wahoo!

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable and puncture resistant.
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is the best puncture resistant tire I've used. I have been riding for over 50 years and this tire for it's price point is definitely worth considering. Highly recommend it.

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire
rating
by Al
Competitive Racer
Boise, ID
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not the most supple tire out there, but if you have goathead (thorns) problems in your area this is your tire. I've been using these for a year now and no flats so far. They are long wearing too. They stand up well to chip sealed roads.

Reviewed 8/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent No Flats
rating
by JV
Florida
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

My 4 th set. No the lightest or most confortable but Great tires.. But above all worry free from flats. Use it daily rought road , no problem. Never had a flat and ride daily over 40 miles. Would no use it for racing or if looking for a light tire. But if you want a quality dependable tire no better choice.

Reviewed 9/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires, like the ride and durability.
rating
by Hckj
Cycling Enthusiast
Smyrna, de

Have been running gator hardshell for years, however, the past tires were 23mm wide, wanted a wider tire, and this tire worked perfectly.

Changed to gator hard shells after a three week tour, the riders with tire had fewer flats than the rest of us using various brands.

Reviewed 7/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough & Reliable - Commuter's Delight
rating
by CDLvelo
Daily Commuter
Surrey, BC
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Solved my problem with my flats on commutes! After 2 flats in 8 years using Gatorskins (even ran on rear tire through to the cords), I had forgotten how important it was to have a tough tire for commuting! I got a new bike last year, flatted twice on the Schwalbe tires that came with the bike, so I changed to Conti GP -Season (great handling tire) but flatted 5 times in 8 weeks!! (lots of tough paths, sidewalks, etc.) - so I wanted Gatorskins, but decided to go to the new, even tougher Gator Hardshell tires - 12 weeks later no flats, no worries - perfect for my commute! A little difficult to install compared to other Conti tires, but well worth the effort. Highly recommended for commuting, tandem, and any application where durability is paramount.

Reviewed 2/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to long distance tire
rating
by Louise
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this tire on my endurance 7 day bike rides for the past 5 years. Not one flat ever.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great protection, fast enough ride, no complaints!!
rating
by Crystal
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia

Have yet to get a flat with these. Granted not riding thru NYC or anything, but... One time, found a huge staple in the tread, pulled it out but it had not punctured the protective layers. My every day, go to tires when don't want to worry about stopping to change a flat! Very satisfied.

Reviewed 12/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire for tandems
rating
by Warren G
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

Using on a tandem, and like the lower pressure that a 700 x 32 tire allows. Gatorskins provide a good ride with durability and flat protection.

Reviewed 5/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires!!
rating
by likes2workout
Sandy, utah

The Continental Gator tires are great!! I had them on my first road bike and now on my second road bike. Very durable and feel confident that I won't have flat tires. Highly recommend them. Also put them on my husband's bike and he likes them too!!

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply amazing!
rating
by Anonymous
St Pete Beach Fl
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a new Schlitter recumbent and on one of my first rides I encountered something I neve experienced in Maryland....sand spurs! Got two flats in one ride. A friend suggested Gatorskins and now I laugh at you nasty sand spurs.

Reviewed 2/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable
rating
by Anonymous
virginia

Dependable. Lasts reasonsably well.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough tires!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I rode these tires up Mt. Tam on fire roads 3 times in last month and no issues. 2X Eldridge and 1X Railroad Grade and they performed very well despite being taken over rocky terrain that they were not designed for. Zero punctures or cuts and other than a little scuffing they are doing fine. They held better than I expected on loose rocky terrain with minimal slippage. Swapping on some CX tires and will keep these for pavement.

Reviewed 5/20/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tires
rating
by Odie
Aurora CO

These tires are great easy to put on and a joy to ride on

Reviewed 8/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Unbelievable tire!
rating
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
all across the country
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Cont. 4000 II, Verdestein and Michelin Pro 4 and this by far is the best I have found for wear and durability. I teamed them up with puncture resistant tubes and have yet to have a flat. They ride a little stiff but the roll is great. I would not use if racing, but I am a rider who just loves riding. I do about 200-250 a week and all in asphalt roads. I like they have now begun to include the wear indicator dots on the tire. It looks like I will get at least 2500-3000 out of these tires. Very, very satisfied!

Reviewed 2/14/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires money can buy
rating
by Anonymous
Hawaii
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Hands down test best tires I ride and now the only ones....fast last thousands of miles and no flats

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rolls great!
rating
by tim1457
Aiken, SC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Wanted some peace of mind from road hazards while training on our not so perfect highways. Tires roll great and ride well. Very satisfied with purchase.

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best puncture proof I've found
rating
by Rourkenroll
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These were on sale and a great deal as they are my favorite puncture resistant road bike tire I have found...

Reviewed 5/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best long distance tire I've ever used
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I have used this tire specifically for long distance multiple day rides. Not one flat on a 7 day ride with over 550 miles!

Reviewed 4/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page