1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Continental Contact Tire

ContinentalContact Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(75 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(23)
(1)
(4)
(3)
(59%)
(31%)
(1%)
(5%)
(4%)
Damn fine tires
rating
by Anonymous

Tires arrived earlier than projected, well packaged. No complaints would buy again.

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Making my commute faster
rating
by Ironic Stompin''
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced the 35mm wide tires on my Kona Dew Plus with these. The stock tires wore fast and rolled slow. The Conti's are showing little sign of wear a few hundred miles. The handle the wet of Seattle without any problems.

Reviewed 3/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy Touring Tires with great traction
rating
by Louisiana Clydesdale
Cycling Enthusiast
North Louisiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are great to ride on a regular ride or a tour. This tire rides well, rolls well and has great traction in all conditions that I have rode in. I had been riding slick tires, but the tread and tread pattern really gives me a much more secure feeling when the road gets wet. As a Clydesdale, I run these tires at 100 psi and they have rolled very fast on regular rides solo or with the group.

Reviewed 1/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rolling touring tire
rating
by Serious Clydesdale
Cycling Enthusiast
North Louisiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these tires to ride during the wetter winter months and I was surprised to see how well they roll. I am a Clydesdale-sized rider and tire pressure is important to get a good rolling tire. I have the 700x28 and run these at 100 psi and I feel little to no resistance and they roll very easily. They have great traction and roll easily over rougher sections of pavement. I will buy these tires again.

Reviewed 1/8/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a tough tire, and it provides good traction while cornering.
rating
by clayTX
Casual Cyclist
ATX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this tire on a single/fixie setup on a Centurion Super-Elite frame. I'm a big guy, 6'4 230 lbs. The tire holds me very well. I recommend this tire for daily street abuse.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good protection, not long lasting
rating
by FarmCountryRoads
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Started with Contacts 4 years ago on a Giant TCX1. On my 4th pair now, getting about 2000 miles out of 'em. Not the longest lasting. On the flip side, not one flat in almost 9000 miles over 4 years. I will not buy another model tire until I start getting flats, so far it hasn't happened. I've been on rides where guys have gotten 2 flats on the same ride. Not sure what Conti is putting under the tread, it must be some sort of armored material. I have to intentionally flatten a tire every winter and go through the tire removal and tube replacement process just to keep fresh in my mind how to change the tube, in case i ever need to do it on an actual ride.

Reviewed 10/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Visible. Durable. Affordable.
rating
by Seattlecommuter
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

An affordable tire, that gives flat-resistance and visibility. Commuting in Seattle, all three are a must.

Reviewed 1/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
rating
by Daily Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The decreased rolling resistance of these tires has knocked minutes off my commute and the added puncture protection provides greater peace of mind.

Reviewed 3/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dependable and reliable.
rating
by Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Good flat resistance. I put on a lot of miles. I'm a repeat buyer of this model, now on my fifth tire. My front tire (rotated from rear after one year of service) is still looking good at 10,000 km.

Reviewed 8/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flats, flats, and more flats
rating
by Stuart
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

5 flats in 2 weeks of touring around Southern Denmark with new Conti Contacts - 3 in back, 2 in front, all in different locations on the tire. To be fair, we did hear from some Danish cyclists that they tend to get a decent number of flats, especially when it rains and flint that is for some reason mixed in with other materials tends to flip over and puncture tires with the sharp point.

Reviewed 8/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keep on rollin
rating
by Anonymous
Maine
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tires. They came on my stock Surley bike and I got a new set to start fresh on my xc ride from Washintgon to Maine this summer.

Reviewed 6/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for my Rans Rocket
rating
by Guenther
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I use this as the rear tire on my recumbent. So far, it's working well. The width means that the tire absorbs socks and bumps well. It's not too draggy on pavement and it gets okay grip on gravel. In extremely slick spots, I have lost traction, but its never slid otherwise. The construction overall seems sturdy and likely to hold up for awhile.

Reviewed 3/31/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Trusted brand tire
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Oakland, CA

Installed the 20 inch Conti Contact as a replacement front tire and also rainy days were approaching and I certainly weren't going to ride on a front worn tire. So far, it has performed just what I wanted and that's good traction and grip turning corners. Just having the new tired gave me ease of mind riding in wet conditions. Price is good too!

Reviewed 1/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great everyday commuting and touring tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
21 of 26 customers found this review helpful.

These donuts tasted horrible, but I found them to be excellent replacement tires for my bike. They're pretty ideal for commuting and the occasional weekend trek. They handled all that DC has thrown at them potholed streets, slick pavement, leafy bike lanes, shuttered government roads with aplomb. Great price, fast shipping.

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good commuter tire
rating
by Anonymous
NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Put these on a bike that I am commuting to work with. I wanted a heavier all weather tire that would also resist punctures. So far so good. Even though they have an aggressive tread they roll quite nicely.

Reviewed 11/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good all around tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Northern Minnesota
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this tire as an exact replacement for the rear tire on my Surly Long Haul Trucker. The tire I'm replacing has just over 2,000 miles on it right now. My plan is to just replace the rear, thats the only one that shows significant wear at this point. It appears that the front may go another 2,000 miles before needing replacement. It's a heavy bike, and I'm a heavy rider. I ride about 90% pavement, paths, steets and rural highway, and about 10% gravel roads. Zero flats in over 2,000 miles. The reflective strip on the sidewall is a nice feature as well.

Reviewed 6/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Value for the money
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Des Moines, IA

II ride 100 to 200 miles a week on mostly trails and they work great

Reviewed 2/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Goodroad feel
rating
by MAC
Cycling Enthusiast
Left Coast

Bought the 20 x 1.75 for my recumbent front wheel. Fairly light, fairly supple, seems fairly sturdy. Good cornering and road feel.

Reviewed 1/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tires for the price
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

These tires work well on wet and dry roads, I've also used them on dry hardpack trails with great success. They feel a bit narrower than advertised, but I'm not bothered by that. I also really appreciate the reflective bands on the tire for night rides.

Reviewed 4/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Commuter's Second Set of Continental's - 3.5 Stars
rating
by Rob
Daily Commuter
Oakland CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This was my second set after the first similar model set lasted 2 years. Would give 3.5 stars. Read on.

Commute Year Round City driving 20 milesweek to and from Amtrak Train over asphalt, broken asphalt, along side railroad on railroad rocks, past homeless encampments, over broken glass, gravel, potholes - typical Oakland CA. By the start of rainy season the tires get dirty and the reflective tape wears and becomes more dull. A small part detached (13 inch) but that's it. Cleaning moderately helps but it's less reflective especially compared to specialized tires I see on the Amtrak bike storage car and the reflect tape is applied cattywhompus (made in India). Reflective tires are an important function due to dark morning commutes. Well over a year in use and cracks appear in the tread. I use a tire liner to protect the inner tube but even so, with both sets, I've never had a puncture - pulled glass shards out, but no puncture. Very similar wear and tear compared to specialized Armadillos but cheaper. Unfortunately I anticipate this set may fall short of a full two years of tread wear. I'm going to try another brand.

Reviewed 2/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.