FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
SHOP NEW ARRIVALS
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Continental Contact Tire

ContinentalContact Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(59 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(20)
(1)
(4)
(3)
(53%)
(34%)
(2%)
(7%)
(5%)
Making my commute faster
rating
by Ironic Stompin''
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced the 35mm wide tires on my Kona Dew Plus with these. The stock tires wore fast and rolled slow. The Conti's are showing little sign of wear a few hundred miles. The handle the wet of Seattle without any problems.

Reviewed 3/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy Touring Tires with great traction
rating
by Louisiana Clydesdale
Cycling Enthusiast
North Louisiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are great to ride on a regular ride or a tour. This tire rides well, rolls well and has great traction in all conditions that I have rode in. I had been riding slick tires, but the tread and tread pattern really gives me a much more secure feeling when the road gets wet. As a Clydesdale, I run these tires at 100 psi and they have rolled very fast on regular rides solo or with the group.

Reviewed 1/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rolling touring tire
rating
by Serious Clydesdale
Cycling Enthusiast
North Louisiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these tires to ride during the wetter winter months and I was surprised to see how well they roll. I am a Clydesdale-sized rider and tire pressure is important to get a good rolling tire. I have the 700x28 and run these at 100 psi and I feel little to no resistance and they roll very easily. They have great traction and roll easily over rougher sections of pavement. I will buy these tires again.

Reviewed 1/8/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a tough tire, and it provides good traction while cornering.
rating
by clayTX
Casual Cyclist
ATX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this tire on a single/fixie setup on a Centurion Super-Elite frame. I'm a big guy, 6'4 230 lbs. The tire holds me very well. I recommend this tire for daily street abuse.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Visible. Durable. Affordable.
rating
by Seattlecommuter
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

An affordable tire, that gives flat-resistance and visibility. Commuting in Seattle, all three are a must.

Reviewed 1/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good protection, not long lasting
rating
by FarmCountryRoads
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Started with Contacts 4 years ago on a Giant TCX1. On my 4th pair now, getting about 2000 miles out of 'em. Not the longest lasting. On the flip side, not one flat in almost 9000 miles over 4 years. I will not buy another model tire until I start getting flats, so far it hasn't happened. I've been on rides where guys have gotten 2 flats on the same ride. Not sure what Conti is putting under the tread, it must be some sort of armored material. I have to intentionally flatten a tire every winter and go through the tire removal and tube replacement process just to keep fresh in my mind how to change the tube, in case i ever need to do it on an actual ride.

Reviewed 10/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
rating
by Daily Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The decreased rolling resistance of these tires has knocked minutes off my commute and the added puncture protection provides greater peace of mind.

Reviewed 3/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dependable and reliable.
rating
by Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Good flat resistance. I put on a lot of miles. I'm a repeat buyer of this model, now on my fifth tire. My front tire (rotated from rear after one year of service) is still looking good at 10,000 km.

Reviewed 8/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flats, flats, and more flats
rating
by Stuart
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

5 flats in 2 weeks of touring around Southern Denmark with new Conti Contacts - 3 in back, 2 in front, all in different locations on the tire. To be fair, we did hear from some Danish cyclists that they tend to get a decent number of flats, especially when it rains and flint that is for some reason mixed in with other materials tends to flip over and puncture tires with the sharp point.

Reviewed 8/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keep on rollin
rating
by Anonymous
Maine
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tires. They came on my stock Surley bike and I got a new set to start fresh on my xc ride from Washintgon to Maine this summer.

Reviewed 6/28/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice tore
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like the tire for my Canyon Grail as I spend the majority of my time on ashphalt. Dont ride at night, hate the reflective stripe...

Reviewed 8/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great everyday commuting and touring tire.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

These donuts tasted horrible, but I found them to be excellent replacement tires for my bike. They're pretty ideal for commuting and the occasional weekend trek. They handled all that DC has thrown at them potholed streets, slick pavement, leafy bike lanes, shuttered government roads with aplomb. Great price, fast shipping.

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bike tires
rating
by Jerry s
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Tires appear well made but are not the width size as stated. I ordrered 70037 and after mounting they are closer 70032 as measured with a caliper.

Reviewed 4/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great commuting tires!
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Sturdy, not too heavy, and great visibility at night. This is my second set, but the first lasted more than two years of regular commuting and weekend road light gravel adventures.

Reviewed 3/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More road than trail
rating
by Bpkellypa
SE PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great on road and packed earth. This is where I do most of my riding, so I am very happy. Not so hot in the soft stuff. I have only ridden about 125 miles, so I can't address durability

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
14,000 miles. 'Nuff said.
rating
by John In DC
Daily Commuter
Washington DC
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I commute on my bike to and from work every day, year round. It works out to between 3,500 and 4,000 annual miles on that bike. I installed a Contact II 26 x 1.75 on my front wheel in June 2012 - and finally replaced it last week (September 2016). Four years at 3,500 () miles per year works out to - well, if I didn't keep meticulous maintenance records, I wouldn't believe it myself.

Most of my daily ride is on a reclaimed rail bed (so no glass, gravel or potholes) and the tire was worn nearly to the threads when I did replace it. To be honest I probably should have swapped it out a year earlier, but I wanted to see how far it would go and finally did only when the rubber began to separate from the threads in places. A couple of times in the latter stages of its life I suffered a couple of flats from debris that a newer tire probably would have repulsed, but I was still going several weeks or months without a problem.

I have to change out the rear tire every couple of years, but 6,000-8,000 miles is nothing to sneeze at either.

Anyhow I really like this tire - it's perfect for my uses and I'll keep buying them as long as Continental keeps making them.

Reviewed 9/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
fast comfortable ride!!
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Los Angeles, CA

Purchased the 700x37 size. As others have said, they seem not as wide as the specified. Other than that they run smooth as silk and absorb the bumps really well!! Well worth the upgrade from stock Trek FX tires which were already great.

Reviewed 2/19/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for Dirt and Pavement
rating
by EricP
Daily Commuter
Vermont
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a pair of 700x37's 2 years ago for a 70-mile gravel road ride on my Specialized Tricross. Liked them so much I left them on for commuting. They feel faster than the 700x32 Specialized Borough tires that came on the bike and smoother too. After about 2000 miles there is still good tread on the back tire. And no flats, too. I'll definitely buy them again.

Reviewed 8/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality, Value, and Easy Installation
rating
by Frank M
Cycling Enthusiast
Nash County, NC

I purchased these tires as part of a revival of my daughters vintage Trek 800 Sport. These tires really added some pep to her rides over the old knobby tires as she mainly rides it now for fitness, in the neighborhood. The reflective strip is a nice touch as we typically get out and ride near, during, and after dusk. These tires are well made and were installed along with new rim strips and tubes without a hitch. Now, my wife wants a set for her bike, but she will have to wait until spring!

Reviewed 10/17/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Come up Narrow
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Ordered the 700x37c size, They arrived marked as 1 38 inches wide, which is 35c, not 37c. I could immediately tell they looked narrower than my Top Contact II tires, which measure a true 37c even though the labeling reads 35c. Finally swapped out one of the Top Contact II tires for one of these. Ta Da! It is noticeably narrower than the Top Contact II which is still on the other wheel. If I could post a photo showing the difference I would. I am not even certain the thing is 35c. Seem trivial to you? It's not for those of us who do loaded touring over various surfaces, including unpaved mountain passes.

Reviewed 7/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page