1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Continental Contact Plus Travel Tire 26"

ContinentalContact Plus Travel Tire 26"(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(30%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great puncture resistance
rating
by Rick
Daily Commuter
NYC,NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So far after almost 300 miles I can say that the tire for city dwellers is excellent , traction is good on both hard pavement and dirt trails, hard cornering you do feel those grooves but hasn't slip, only slippage I had was hoping a metal curb on a raining day at a 45 degree angle. Overall an excellent commuter tire.

Reviewed 8/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Replacement tires for Mt bike
rating
by Rodger
vancouver wa
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had wide nobby tires on 2 Mt Bikes. Wanted tires to run through neighborhoods. These are great. Much better rolling and lighter in general. Nice up grade for my bikes..

Reviewed 9/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all round road tire, great for mountain bikes or commuters.
rating
by Bikeguyx1
Cycling Enthusiast
San Juan Bautista, Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire, not too heavy. No puncture worries out on the road, rolls fast and holds the corners.

Reviewed 7/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, smooth ride for roadway surfaces.
rating
by Kavin
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina

Mainly roadway use on sidewalks, streets and golf cart paths. Smooth comfortable ride with little to no road noise.

Reviewed 11/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
rating
by Anonymous

Searched for good tires but realized these were the best for my situation.

Reviewed 11/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Noticeably heavier, but tough, and ride well.
rating
by Colin
Daily Commuter
Toronto, Canada
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these to replace the slicks I used to have on my MTB. it's a hardtail I use for commuting. These tires are quite a bit heavier than the slicks I was using - but seem to be very durable, and ride very well. I'd say I probably go about as fast on these as I did on my old tires. These are heavier, but I think rolling resistance is less. I'm happy to make the upgrade for the peace of mind - I was getting the occasional flat with my old tires, and it's a huge inconvenience when commuting.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Goodbye knobbies
rating
by guitarist
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My mountain bike has never seen a mountain. It came with knobby tires and when it was time to replace them I searched the internet and discovered the Continental Contact Plus. These tires were a great find. The bike feels faster, lighter and closer to a gravel bike than I ever imagined. The price was great and these tires are terrific. I don't ride at night but I still enjoy the reflective sidewall.

Reviewed 6/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ride
rating
by Anonymous
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Needed a tire for road rides on my mtb and this really delivered a smooth, comfortable ride. No longer feel the need to purchase a road specific bike. The tires have proven capable for light trail riding as well.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Surprising combination of desirable qualities
rating
by RicOdo
Cycling Enthusiast
VA
20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered a pair of these to replace the knobby tires that came with my MTB. Had no problems with mounting, barely had to use levers at all. It was late, and scheduling and weather were such the next few days that I had to wait to try them out. When time and weather allowed, I took a bike trip. Man, was I surprised at the huge difference between using the bike with the former knobbies and now with these Continental Country Plus tires! The effort in taking hills was dramatically reduced, and on level stretches, the tread design seemed to make the bike feel almost self-propelled.

I got the tires because I wanted something that had a sturdy build weight and durability with a tread that would facilitate easy, rapid roll on streets and still have enough tread design to handle cornering that may not be severe, but will need to project confidence at higher speeds. I have not been disappointed in tire travel and traction performance, and have had no problems with road debris, air loss, or flats as of yet. I especially wanted to buy a tire that had anti-flat properties, and this tire has a hefty weight and sturdy build with some puncture prevention built in, and this tire has all of those qualities. The material forming the tread seems to have this magic ability to both hug the road for grip and roll fluently for speed, a pleasantly surprising combination. Since I ride a little past dusk into early night, the reflective trim on the sides are a nice touch for visibility and safety. I had people commenting on how much they liked the bike before the tire switch, but now they comment on how much they like the way the new tires look, too.

The website said the tire size was 26x1.95, but what was on the tires that were shipped was 26x1.9. Five one-hundredths of an inch I'm not sure makes any substantive difference. I have them inflated to just barely under 60 psi, and have been fighting the urge to go to a little over 60 psi. I waited until I had some road time on them before reviewing, and now after experience I can say that I've been quite happy with the tire. Thumbs up.

Reviewed 12/29/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Turn your MTB into a long-coasting commuter and explorer with these badboys.
rating
by veloreb
Casual Cyclist
Northern Virginia
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

I tested these on a long stretch of asphalt-paved multi-use path (namely the Warrenton Branch Greenway) with little need to worry about vehicle traffic. These tires rolled and rolled without much input from the pedals. When they say these tires have low rolling resistance, they mean it. Puncture protection is a big plus though it makes the tire look and feel bulkyheavy. Nevertheless, an excellent all-rounder for pavement, gravel, hard-packed dirt.

Reviewed 6/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
one smooth ride
rating
by 619mreyes
Daily Commuter
San Diego, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I can't believe how much these tired have improved my enjoyment of riding. Silky smooth on the asphalt. It feels like I'm years younger. They are probably a little heavier than the average commuter tire but they are reflective and they resist punctures so I'll making that trade. We finally got some rain so I'll see how it handles the wet stuff. I'm very satisfied as of today.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
durable gravel or pavement
rating
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

great tire for turning an old hard tail mountain bike into a gravel bike.

Reviewed 1/3/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As good as reviews said it was
rating
by bikerlarry
Casual Cyclist
Iowa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I read the reviews before buying and after some research, I bought this tire. I love this tire, it's everything the reviews said, great grip and good handling even on gravel. I am very pleased with this tire!!

Reviewed 8/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install, great riding on asphalt, roads ands crushed gravel.
rating
by forger
Cycling Enthusiast
Wiconsin
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Peddling on local asphalt and concrete roads is nice and smooth. Took on a couple crushed gravel, wet and dry and still had good traction. Good all around tire.

Reviewed 6/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
About as bomb proof as they get...
rating
by Flying Fortress
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe, NM
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Yup...these are heavy, stiff tires. Weigh about the same as my Schwalbe Marathon Plusses. These are about as flat resistant as those are as well...none so far, and this in goat head capitol of the country. The tread is definitely a bit better for dirt roads than my Marathon Plusses as well. For street use with occasional dirt road forays, it'd be hard to go wrong with either tire, if durability and flat resistance are important to you. Not for single track use. You ride mud, get knobbies.

Reviewed 1/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
rating
by J Cox
Albuquerque
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These tires mounted easily. They feel good riding. I've only been riding them for a month but no problems with flats so far, I live in the southwest with thorns everywhere.

Reviewed 3/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great smooth ride
rating
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, wa
3 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

No complaints

Reviewed 1/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
smooth ride. easy install
rating
by Pappy
Casual Cyclist
St. Louis
3 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

great, high quality. Easy installation

Reviewed 12/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire for trails or country/urban obstacles
rating
by TyAllred
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
20 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

The tire is stout and thick. It looks inflated even with it is not. I have great confidence in it's puncture resistance. The high visibility paint on the sides make me more comfortable in the early mornings.

I'm a clydesdale rider coming in at 250 and they handle it well. I've done 100 miles of dirt trails and 250 miles on the roads so far and couldn't be happier.

Finally a tire with high visibility, real puncture protection, low rolling resistance and hybrid ability!

Reviewed 9/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire.
rating
by t-b0ne
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Cascadia
21 of 23 customers found this review helpful.

I picked up a set of these tires last week to replace my badly-worn tires, so as you could imagine, anything is a step up from that! But this tire handles well. I went with the 1.9 width and have both front and rear set 50psi. It handles very well on my 15 mile roundtrip commute and hasn't had a flat (yet). Trust me, they would've gone flat by now if it didn't have any sort of protection (been there, done that on the route I normally commute). The reflective stripe is great for commuting during darker hours, increasing your visibility to otherwise absent-mindedoblivious vehiclists.

The only downside is that they're definitely on the heavier side, but the slick profile provides for smooth rolling, and the fattiness of the tire provides for some shock absorption, which is very nice. Overall, I'm very satisfied with this tire.

Reviewed 12/7/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.