1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Challenge Gravel Grinder Race Tire

ChallengeGravel Grinder Race Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(51 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(7)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(78%)
(14%)
(6%)
(2%)
(0%)
Out of the saddle in loosey goosey gravel...no problem
rating
by PDX teacher biker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I just put these tires on my CX bike to get some rides in before the Oregon Stampede (130 miles, 70% GRAVEL). I am a 5'3 woman so I was reluctant to put this big of a tire on my bike for fear I would think it was too slow when not riding gravel. The tires feel fine on the road but they really do shine in gravel. After riding for a few hours in Forest Park (Portland, OR, gravel roads are fire roads) I was most impressed with how I was able to get out of the saddle and accelerate in gravel, especially up steep uphill grades, without that sinking in or spin out feeling at all. The tire also feels very secure through corners (even if one has to brake through the corner to avoid a dog that should be on a leash). On pavement, the tires feel faster than traditional cross tires. If I do any early season CX racing in dry conditions I would even consider leaving these tires on for racing.

Reviewed 8/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon

I use this tire to commute(20 miles a day) and also hit the logging roads nearby. Fast on the pavement and grippy on the hard pack.

Reviewed 1/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire for Gravel, Road or Mud!
rating
by Tinbender75
Cycling Enthusiast
Oklahoma City
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

When I got my cyclocross bike I primarily got it for gravel and after riding with the stock 32 tire on gravel I decided to try something different. The stock tires walked a lot on gravel and were slow when I was on the road. I read a review of the Gravel Grinders by Guitar Ted and decided to try them. I have rode about 500 miles on them and I love them. No more walking on gravel unless it is very loose. They are fast on the road as well despite their size due to the file tread pattern in the middle of the tread. I had a lot more control on mud as well with them. Mud does like to stick to the sides due to tread on the sides. I highly suggest them and I haven't found anyone who doesn't like them.

Reviewed 1/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all rounder for all-road riding
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I ride lots of dirt roads and rail trails in New England. These are the best all round ones I've found so far (have ridden Vittoria XG, Maxxis Mud Wrestler, Clement MSO 40's). They are light for a 38mm, wide enough to avoid pinch flats, quiet and fast enough on pavement, and provide great traction on a wide variety of surface and allow you to stand on graveldirt hill climbs. They dampen the ride without being too bouncy.

Reviewed 9/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love these tires! I always go with Challenge
rating
by Jeremy
Richmond, Va

Challenge never lets me down, they have a wide range of tires, some with gum wall options. The tread on the gravel grinders is just what I want between commuting on pavement or hitting off road.

Reviewed 3/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice rolling
rating
by Aaron
Lincoln, NE
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

As the hosts of the unofficial Gravel Worlds, you'd imagine we've got plenty of gravel around Lincoln, Nebraska and we do. I settled on a 38mm set of these to roll on my CX to give me a little more width, but still roll well. They do their job well. Riding on pavement, they're smooth. Riding all types of gravel they handle well too.

Reviewed 9/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrible problems with Punctures, Flats, Tears.
rating
by Matt B.
Daily Commuter
Boise, ID

Of all the Gravel Tires I've tried, these are hands-down the worst for punctures. I had punctures in the sidewall right out of the box. B.T.D. graciously replaced that. I bumped up one star because I had no problems setting them up for tubeless... but I had sealant spraying out of both tires the first time I rode on gravel, so tubes in them after that. Even running tubes with sealant, I averaged approximately 1 puncture per 5 miles of gravel. By 250 miles, (6 tubes, 15 CO2s) inspecting the center track of the tire shows numerous small cuts. I have /never/ had this issue on other gravel tires. The Sidewalls are thin and supple and vulnerable to cuts. The Center track has small nubs, low rolling resistance and is vulnerable to cuts and punctures. The side knobs provide decent traction cornering, as long as that sidewall doesn't get cut. I don't know what they were thinking, but by me gravel is made of rocks which frequently have sharp points or edges. I /never/ rode these tires "off road" and rode 90% on smooth pavement.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent budget tires
rating
by Anonymous
Central Indiana
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've got a few hundred miles on these tires now-a pretty even mix of good aged chip & seal, fresh loose chip & seal, crappy patched and potholed chip & seal, and plush marble-sized river-rock gravel. I don't notice any real rolling resistance on pavement, and they stick like Velcro even in the really deep gravel. I haven't climbed much, but the bit of climbing I've done was fine and more importantly I had full control on the descent. I am running them with tubes at 55ish psi, haven't had any flats (punctures aren't likely here, no thorns or sharp rocks) and they do a pretty good job at smoothing out all but the worst bone-shakers. I'd definitely recommend these as a good all-around tire.

Reviewed 8/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good traction, comfortable on road and gravel, problems with punctures
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise ID
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have the MTB on the dirt so the gravel bike actually spends much more time on the road. Road performance is nice -- the mostly flat central tread is quiet and doesn't rob your speed on the pavement. Cornering on gravel and hardpack is great thanks to the corner knobs. 5 stars so far. But the few stretches of gravel I've had them on invariably ended in punctures -- I am now running tubes in both front and back. The pair of tires currently has about 150 miles on them, with less than 5 miles gravel, and I've had punctures in each. For a tire /named/ the "Gravel Grinder" I can't help but be dissatisfied.

My search for the "perfect" tire for my gravel bike continues.

Reviewed 11/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go To Gravel Tire
rating
by Kahola Kahuna
Cycling Enthusiast
Flint Hills KS
22 of 24 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Kansas and am from Emporia, the heart of Dirty Kanza and Flint Hills territory. I have used these tires thru 3 Dirty Kanzas, 2 Almanzos, 1 epic fail at Landrun(mud and weather, tires were fine) and countless other rides and races through Flint Hills Gravel. Two flats, both were pinch flats and totally my fault for running too low of pressure under my 190 lbs. About 53-55 PSI rear and 48 PSI front seems to keep me out of pinch flat trouble even in the Flint Hills Gravel. Rolling resistance is minimal on hard pack, yet traction remains great in the loose stuff. They do tend to wear a little fast, but at the price and weight well worth it. As a side note, on the two flats I did have, they go on and off the rims using no levers for a quick change under the stress of race conditions. In gravel cycling the tire of the moment always seems be in every conversation, but I have found no need to experiment or go tubeless with these tires around and will continue to run the Gravel Grinders.

Reviewed 5/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent gravel tire for all conditions
rating
by Jeff M
westchester, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is outstanding in its ability to provide reliable traction on loose gravel, hard pack, single track and pretty much anything you throw at it while somehow feeling road race tire fast and supple on pavement. It�s been literally perfect for everything I do on it. I highly recommend this for anyone seeking a gravel/cyclocross tire you never need question or think about. I don�t even bother changing it when taking the gravel bike on a road ride as it rolls fast. A great choice after many disappointments prior.

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked well for me
rating
by TK
Ohio
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Got these for my CX bike and a gravel race. Running them with latex tubes. Race had some single track with hills and some mud. Surprised how well the gripped. Have now been running them on pavement and see that my average speed is not much slower than on my road bike. No flats. Very pleased.

Reviewed 1/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lives up to it's name admirably!
rating
by Bnystrom
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
22 of 22 customers found this review helpful.

I needed tires for a dirt road event in Vermont and after reading a lot of reviews, I settled on the Gravel Grinders. I wanted something wide, with reasonable rolling resistance on paved roads and hard-packed dirt, but aggressive edge lugs for cornering in looser conditions. This tire has all of that and excellent durability, too. I couldn't be happier with their performance.

FYI, at 174, I ran these at 50/55, frontrear and that was perfect on a hard-packed course. My 110 girlfriend ran them at 30/35.

Reviewed 10/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go-to adventure tire
rating
by deebiker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This tire is my go-to tire from May-mid September. I opted for the Gravel Grinder after realizing that a 40mm MSO just didn't fit right in my bike. Sacrificed 2mm of width, but gained a hell of a lot of acceleration and versatility of use. Really like that I can use this tire for the early-season races and it's super-puncture protective.

Also, even though it's not technically a tubeless tire, it hooks up like a dream on both my Stan's NoTubes wheels and my DT Swiss rims on my Asylum Meuse.

Reviewed 10/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Tire
rating
by Anonymous
norcal

These tires are a good choice. They set up easily. I have used them for a few dry CX races and run them at low pressure and they perform well. They are also nice on a graveldirtpavement ride at a higher pressure of 35-40 psi. They roll well and have good cornering qualities. I have over 500 miles on them and they are wearing ok.

Reviewed 1/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfection for commuter-training or Outright Gravel Road Racing!!
rating
by Chicago J
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago IL
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

Prior to this I have been racing on Challenges high end open tubular Grifo XS in 33mm and soon its high end open tubular Gravel Grinder in 700x36mm tire. For training and commuting I do not want to burn through [$] high end tires when I can burn through the same tread for less than half the money and have an even tougher casing than the open tubular design saving them for race day! For training I have been riding every type of nail file tread pattern I could buy, My favorite up until this tire was released was in this order, Clement Las 33mm (actually a 36mm)for fast gravel country roads and finer gravel, or for rougher gravel Clement USH 35mm, Vittoria Pro XN 32mm(actually 30mm), Schwalbe Sammy Slick 35mm (actually a 31mm), and for rougher gravel and dirt Kenda Happy Mediums in 35mm or 40mm (both slightly undersized as well. I hope that Challenge continue to make Vulcanized Versions of its already top OT tires like The Grifo Pro now, as I wish they would make a Grifo XS 32mm vulcanized soon for my wife as this is her favorite tire! Do your self a favor and get this tire, it is the best!

Reviewed 7/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to gravel tire for 4 years
rating
by Dick Dastardly
Cycling Enthusiast
NEMO
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using this tire since 2016 in the DK 200, Almanzo 100 (twice), Cuban Gravel Crisis and the Tour of Hermann Gravel Challenge to name a few. I finally went tubeless and ordered the TCS this time.

Reviewed 11/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good pavementgravel tires
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Enterprise, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After riding with these tires for a few weeks I am quite pleased. I ride probably 75% pavement and 25% gravel and appreciate the fast rolling qualities of this tire with ability to ride at a variety of pressures depending on conditions. So far so good!

Reviewed 10/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not too impressed with durability
rating
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Rear tire got 2 punctures (both sealed with sealant) within the first month of use. One was on rounded fine gravel, second on rail trail. I liked the ease of mounting and sealing, but 2 punctures on what I'd consider easy gravel have me wondering about long term durability and getting stuck in the boonies.

Reviewed 7/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Tires - Love the knobbies, but the mid-flat area could use a little more grip
rating
by Brendan O.
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tires, however, mine both came with a bulge from being so tightly folded and I could not work it out with or without tubes. The beads did seat nicely for tubeless use however. The side knobbies are awesome in deep mud and set these apart from some other gravel tires, but I think the mid section, while fast on super smooth dirt or pavement, are a little slick on sandy gravel. I think they need some grooves.

Reviewed 6/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.