1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Cat Eye Padrone Wireless Bike Computer

Cat EyePadrone Wireless Bike Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(7)
(1)
(3)
(2)
(59%)
(22%)
(3%)
(9%)
(6%)
The Cat Eye CC-PA100W is a excellent Cycling Computer so easy to operate and an extra large screen.
rating
by SentryDog
Cycling Enthusiast
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina 28659
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Cat Eye daily in my ride, love the ease of operation and the size of the screen. This is my 2nd Cat Eye CC-PA100W I have purchased this year just recently bought a Giant Content SL Cat Eye works perfect.

Reviewed 3/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big display for MTB rides
rating
by DallasMTBer
Competitive Racer
Dallas, TX
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

I needed a larger display for my MTB and this was perfect. I use a smaller wireless version for my road bike.

Product is easy to setup and even easier to use.

Reviewed 6/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
rating
by Anonymous
PDX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy set up. Large numerals to read while your on gravel roads.

Eaxtcly what I was looking for.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very easy to read and functional computer.
rating
by Laxguypdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go to, on-bike computer. Easy to install and use.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't buy it
rating
by NJ Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Very cryptic user interface. Poor installation instructions . Keeps on loosing sensor data when in sensor only mode. Can't switch easily from Smartphone to sensor only mode. Why do I have to drain the battery on my iPhone just to see speed and cadence???

Reviewed 5/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BIG Display
rating
by Ned Ludd
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico

I'm on my 4th Padrone. Their electrons seem to get confused after a couple of years/10,000 miles, and I just buy another one. There are probably other options, but I've stuck with the Padrone.

a) BIG display. Easy to read.

b) Effectively one button operation once it's set up. Easy to reset the computer between rides and easy to cycle through the screens during a ride.

c) At about $2/month by the time I replace them, it's not going to put me in the poor house.

d) I've got several spare mounts and some other pieces now that I'm on my 4th Padrone.

e) It took a while, but I've finally figured out which buttons to press and for how long when I do the initial setup. I don't want to have to go through that again with another computer.

Reviewed 6/25/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Intelligently designed and accurate.
rating
by Ardadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This is my 3rd Padrone. The first one lasted forever, the 2nd shot craps in a couple weeks. I bought a different Cateye model, and that one also failed in a few weeks. For awhile I relied on my bike-mounted Garmin 64, but missed the backup and accuracy- checking of two units, so I bought my present Padrone. So far, so good. Compared to most other bike computers, the display on this model is huge and easy to read, which I like. And the fork mounted sensor has much greater adjustment range than the oher Cateye model I tried. If you have a bike with a wide fork, like me, you may need this. One caveat with the Padrone, a quirk which makes it either irritating or endearing, depending on your temperament: to reset it you press the lower edge of the unit. This is fast and easy, but it means the unit can accidentally be reset by incautious movements. Most of the time this is not a big deal, but if you're on a long or fast ride and you need your data.... Still, I would not discourage the purchase of this computer, it is extremely accurate, usually showing within a few hundredths of a mile what my Garmin shows, and my Garmin is very accurate.

Reviewed 11/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Complaints
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
31 of 32 customers found this review helpful.

Roadie here I bought the Padrone because it has the same features as the Strada RD300W, minus the pace arrow, on an easier to read screen, for less money. Setup went smoothly and the mounting hardware is all top notch quality. The unit size is large enough that I believe it might be a little clunky mounted on the handlebar, seems more in its element on the stem or with out front accessory. I have it mounted on the stem and it looks great. The sensor can be mounted on the right side of the fork facing backward (not recommended, as it would be sucked into the spokes should it be knocked inward) or the left half of the folk facing forward. Magnet has stayed in place so far with bladed spokes. Sensor size is average.

Other than its perceived quality and doing what any no-frills computer is supposed to do, some specific pros

- Mounting system (but would be nice to provide two extra zip ties)

- Unit clicks into its mount very securely.

- No delay as you're scrolling through the unit's basic functions (this is a complaint in one Strada review)

My two complaints

- Padrone is single touch, glove friendly operation. The button on the back of the unit is activated by pressing the lower edge of the unit, rocking it on its mount and depressing the button you cannot see. This is great, except that I accidentally reset my trip data three times on my first ride. You may not realize it, but when you're off your bike making a pit stop, the stem is often what you grab to walk/hold your bike. I reset it twice off the bike and once while riding. I would love if they added a hold switch to the side so that two things need to happen for data to be lost.

- Yes the screen is considerably larger than your average basic computer, but, in operation, there's a considerable amount of screen space that is wasted. Padrone form factor with ANT capability would be sweet.

Random tidbits

- The odometer will reset when you replace the battery, but there is a way to manually enter a desired odometer reading after the new battery is installed.

- 2 yr warranty

- Sensor range is advertised as 70 cm

- I have not ridden enough to judge its susceptibility to interference.

Reviewed 6/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Didn't measure the speed accurately.
rating
by scottSJ
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice display. Setting my 700x23 tire size caused the speedometer to grossly overstate the speed by 2 to 3 times actual speed. Even using the default tire setting, the reported speed was too high. Setting the tire size down to 1500, the reported speed is fairly close to actual speed. :-((

Reviewed 4/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple easy to use.
rating
by Dahrens
louisiana

I�m not a gadget guy so I really like the Padrone. Large easy to read numbers, easy to switch between screens and the speed sensor is pretty accurate delivering the basic info. I wish it had a cadence sensor.

Reviewed 9/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent bike computer
rating
by Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This is a fantastic computer, easy to install and set up.

Reviewed 9/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent bike computer
rating
by Anonymous

Large screen is easy to read. Shifting between modes is so convenient too.

Reviewed 9/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works for me....
rating
by trublucali
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacto, CA

Little tricky to get installed and configured, but the directions are pretty good. When you install the mount, be aware that the little plastic wheel has to be tightened down so that you can have a tight cable. Not 100% clear in directions. Once I got that, things came together. Very large display for us old folks! I like it.

Reviewed 11/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big Cateye Screen Is Just Wasted Space
rating
by LoneRider
Cycling Enthusiast
USA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Road use on stem and out front mount. PROS Color choices, price if on sale, works as well as other Cateye wireless computers, and instructions are getting a little easier. CONS Biggest Cateye screen but it just shows the same data as all other Cateye computers (except the Smart or GPS ones). Cateye should have gone with 3 rows of data on a screen this size. Cateye should have made a GPS Padrone with this big screen instead of the Smart model with tiny screen. Cateye just doesn't get the obvious.

Reviewed 8/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
for display size, it needs a bigger mount
rating
by ibikeswimrun
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

While I have two other cat eye products I really like, I bought this one for a hybrid bike I own. However, it seems that the extra mass of the huge (easy to read) display just overwhelms the base and it falls out. I have resorted to electrical tape to hold it into position, which does seem to work, for awhile. In the end, because of concern for losing it bouncing down trails, I moved it to another road bike that sees less bumps that might dislodge it.

Pro very easy to install, easy to read display, price not bad

Con the mount is undersized for the display weight, needs a redesign

Reviewed 8/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
hard to program
rating
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.

Hard to program wheel size ,time, etc. but once done the unit works pretty good. I have had interference from my headlight which caused erratic numbers on the unit. I changed lights and it worked ok again.

Reviewed 11/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple and Easy - maybe too much so.
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Padrone Cycling Computer works flawlessly for me. I love the big display.

If I have a single complaint, it would be it's almost too easy to reset the ride measurements. Pressing and holding MODE (the only button on the face of the unit) when on the measurement screen resets all measurement data to 0 (excluding Odo) - something I have accidentally done several times.

Reviewed 12/1/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
this is a great cycling computer
rating
by Marko biker
Cycling Enthusiast
KY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love the bigger screen . I can see it without my reading glasses

Reviewed 8/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best cat eye yet
rating
by laird
Cycling Enthusiast
lincoln, ne
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

this is the easiest set-up - easiest to read cat eye computer I've ever owned - enlarged read-out helps my old eye see what I need at a glance

Reviewed 6/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disappointed. Have yet to get it to work. Speed sensor not communicating with computer!
rating
by Nick
Casual Cyclist
Martha''s VIneyard
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have written the company in Japan for further trouble shooting advice, but I have been messing around with this thing since I have gotten it.

It sure has a lot of potential,,,,,but not for me!

I would like my money back please.

Reviewed 5/21/2014
WesternBikeworks.com Comments

Hi Nick,

Thanks for your review! I'm sorry to hear you're having trouble with your computer. We haven't heard of this issue happening. Please get in touch with our customer service department at [email protected] -- we'd love to see if we can help you out, or arrange a return of your potentially defective item.

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.