FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
X
COVID-19 RESPONSE
DEAL OF THE DAY
ALL SALE ITEMS
SHOP CLOSEOUTS
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(0)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(78%)
(0%)
(11%)
(0%)
(11%)
Good shorts
rating
by Herc
Competitive Racer
D.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Dependable shorts, and great for long ride. 225lb size xl.

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite bibs
rating
by SaaSy Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These bibs are fantastic! Comfortable and supportive for training or racing

Reviewed 6/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite bibs ever
rating
by Kory
Hillsboro, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Most comfortable bibs I have ever worn. Great cushion, but it doesn't feel like a diaper. Tight fit, so it doesn't move while riding. I got a size medium and have a 32" waist.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
better leg gripper, better seat pad
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

It's an improvement on the old Free Race bib. I like the new seat pad. Still fits the same way.

Reviewed 7/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good idea, poor execution
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

New bib strap fabric is very uncomfortable especially at the waist. Doesnt stretch and cuts into your sides when in an aero position. The seamless chamois moves around and ends up in the wrong place.

Reviewed 7/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Leaves a bit to be desired
rating
by MeesterE
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I own a couple of Castelli pro bibs and shorts (Nano flex pro, the free aero race shorts and bibs) and would classify myself as more of a casual rider and in my experience using Castelli products, I have been nothing but impressed - not so much with these bib shorts. The fit is typical of Castelli, tight with good compression where it is needed - it's a comfortable fit with seams properly concealed or thoughtfully placed to reduce chafing. The straps, which are touted to enhance airflow, durability, and smoothness against the body are too narrow and end up twisting. The material is too thin and no matter how much I tried to keep them flat, they would bunch up and become uncomfortable on the shoulders - so much so that I mostly ride with the straps down. After my first ride - about 40 miles - I also noted there was pilling in the seat area from rubbing against my saddle - no holes, but still a bit disconcerting given the price I paid for the product. The chamois material and pad is comfortable but interestingly, the material doesn't completely cover pad - there is an area toward the back of the chamois, where you can see the pad and actually move it around. I initially thought the opening was there so you could take the pad out and case you wanted to wash or replace it, but it's sewn into the lycra. The pad still does what it's meant to do, but aesthetically, it's not nice to look at. With all that said, I still wear these mostly for my trainer sessions at home. They're comfortable and the dark steel blue color is a nice change from all the black shorts I have. Still a fan of Castelli, just not of this short.

Reviewed 6/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top of the line bibs
rating
by Persico
Connecticut
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Ive been wearing Castelli free Aero bibs for the past 5 years and every year they improve their shorts that much more.

Cant say enough about the Chamios for great comfort on the saddle and the leg grippers are very compressed and aero and feel like your wearing nothing at all. The only thing I would like to see Castelli improve on these are the shoulder straps. I would like to have a more wider strap that stays flat, these start out ok but seem to narrow around the chest.

Reviewed 4/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs, very comfortable for long rides.
rating
by Redshorts
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID

Great compression helps me stay in the saddle longer, riding harder. Castelli bibs have been my favorite for years, and these are the best so far!

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improved Pad and More Breathable
rating
by John Twist
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using Castelli bibs (Body Paint 12 and Free Aero) for 10 years. I wear the large size (5'8, 150 lbs, 32 waist). The new Aero Race 4 bib-short shows Castelli's dedication to continually improve their shorts. The pad feels more substantial and comfortable when on the bike. The shell materials just fit great and feel more breathable. The grippers are vastly improved with excellent hold (vertical series of tacky stripes). The stitching on the seams and attachment point on the shoulder straps are improved- no frayed threads. I wash them in a mesh bag using detergent with no fabric softeners and dry on a towel warmer. After 20 rides all good- even the Castelli logo shows no flaking. The blue and the grey colors are subtly different than the standard black and compliment many of my team jerseys. I prefer these colors over the black. Highly recommend. JT

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable to wear & comfortable on the bike!!
rating
by Mike Hutcheson
Chicagoland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First time with the Progretto X2 seat pad - love it. Went with the compression version of these bibs & they are more work to get on, but after 50 miles of pedaling you can tell a difference.

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing
rating
by KC
Seattle area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shorts are very well made as well as extremely comfortable even for women.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and performance but poor stitching
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am a fan of Castelli bibs. The fit and compression on these bibs are perfect. I am 5'9' 160lbs and ordered a medium. The reason for not giving the bibs five stars is due to the fact that the stitching was coming out before I wore them. I only realized it about two months after buying them because I ordered in the winter when they were on sale and did not get them out to wear until the spring. Thankfully they are double stitched so they are no serious issues.

Reviewed 6/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfortable
rating
by Hebrew Hammer
New York
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent product. As with all casteli Gear order one size up as they run small. Good shammy.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fit, nice pad
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The new pad is very nice, and I like it better than the previous Castelli pads. The fit up front is much better too. Straps are comfortable and work well. I'm 5'7 132 lb and have worn medium Castelli bibs in the past but this one is a small and fits perfectly. Snug, but that's my preference.

Reviewed 9/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bib shorts
rating
by Lamar
Bothell
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Castelli continues to improve on the bib shorts. Cant go wrong with these. Great for century rides.

Reviewed 9/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love 'em
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very comfortable and provide good cushion-light weight.

Reviewed 3/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and light
rating
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Can barely feel this chamois on my skin, and the chamois insert is comfortable. No numbness on long rides.

Reviewed 7/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A hole in the bib
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anaheim Hills, CA
1 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered 4 of these bibshorts but 1 of them had a little hole near the stitching on the front right leg.

Reviewed 5/20/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.