1.800.651.4050 Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
WISH
0
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(84%)
(3%)
(6%)
(0%)
(6%)
My new favorite bibs
rating
by SaaSy Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These bibs are fantastic! Comfortable and supportive for training or racing

Reviewed 6/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite Short, in my opinion best shorts you can get for the price.
rating
by David R
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri

I use the shorts for my longest rides. Very comfortable 4+ hour rides. Only negative recently is that

Castelli is making their straps a little short. I have several versions of these shorts and it seems the straps

are getting shorter with each pair. I'm a tall rider so not a problem if you are average sized.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shorts
rating
by Herc
Competitive Racer
D.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Dependable shorts, and great for long ride. 225lb size xl.

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
better leg gripper, better seat pad
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

It's an improvement on the old Free Race bib. I like the new seat pad. Still fits the same way.

Reviewed 7/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite bibs ever
rating
by Kory
Hillsboro, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Most comfortable bibs I have ever worn. Great cushion, but it doesn't feel like a diaper. Tight fit, so it doesn't move while riding. I got a size medium and have a 32" waist.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good idea, poor execution
rating
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

New bib strap fabric is very uncomfortable especially at the waist. Doesnt stretch and cuts into your sides when in an aero position. The seamless chamois moves around and ends up in the wrong place.

Reviewed 7/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Leaves a bit to be desired
rating
by MeesterE
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I own a couple of Castelli pro bibs and shorts (Nano flex pro, the free aero race shorts and bibs) and would classify myself as more of a casual rider and in my experience using Castelli products, I have been nothing but impressed - not so much with these bib shorts. The fit is typical of Castelli, tight with good compression where it is needed - it's a comfortable fit with seams properly concealed or thoughtfully placed to reduce chafing. The straps, which are touted to enhance airflow, durability, and smoothness against the body are too narrow and end up twisting. The material is too thin and no matter how much I tried to keep them flat, they would bunch up and become uncomfortable on the shoulders - so much so that I mostly ride with the straps down. After my first ride - about 40 miles - I also noted there was pilling in the seat area from rubbing against my saddle - no holes, but still a bit disconcerting given the price I paid for the product. The chamois material and pad is comfortable but interestingly, the material doesn't completely cover pad - there is an area toward the back of the chamois, where you can see the pad and actually move it around. I initially thought the opening was there so you could take the pad out and case you wanted to wash or replace it, but it's sewn into the lycra. The pad still does what it's meant to do, but aesthetically, it's not nice to look at. With all that said, I still wear these mostly for my trainer sessions at home. They're comfortable and the dark steel blue color is a nice change from all the black shorts I have. Still a fan of Castelli, just not of this short.

Reviewed 6/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top of the line bibs
rating
by Persico
Connecticut
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Ive been wearing Castelli free Aero bibs for the past 5 years and every year they improve their shorts that much more.

Cant say enough about the Chamios for great comfort on the saddle and the leg grippers are very compressed and aero and feel like your wearing nothing at all. The only thing I would like to see Castelli improve on these are the shoulder straps. I would like to have a more wider strap that stays flat, these start out ok but seem to narrow around the chest.

Reviewed 4/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great race bibshort and surprisingly comfortable
rating
by glenn
Competitive Racer
Buffalo, NY

This bibshort is a great addition to my cycling clothing, because it fits great, is comfortable, doesn't move around in the legs, and is fairly minimalist when it comes to the straps. The seat pad is comfortable even at the 50 mile point, and I've ridden in some fairly hot weather without any sense that they're too hot. The only downside is that they're a bit pricey, but if you can catch them when Castelli is running a sale, they're definitely worth it.

Reviewed 8/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improved Pad and More Breathable
rating
by John Twist
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using Castelli bibs (Body Paint 12 and Free Aero) for 10 years. I wear the large size (5'8, 150 lbs, 32 waist). The new Aero Race 4 bib-short shows Castelli's dedication to continually improve their shorts. The pad feels more substantial and comfortable when on the bike. The shell materials just fit great and feel more breathable. The grippers are vastly improved with excellent hold (vertical series of tacky stripes). The stitching on the seams and attachment point on the shoulder straps are improved- no frayed threads. I wash them in a mesh bag using detergent with no fabric softeners and dry on a towel warmer. After 20 rides all good- even the Castelli logo shows no flaking. The blue and the grey colors are subtly different than the standard black and compliment many of my team jerseys. I prefer these colors over the black. Highly recommend. JT

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most comfortable functional bibs I've ever owned.
rating
by Gary Walters
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

I ride about 200 miles a week in pancake flat Florida and these bibs have been the most comfortable shorts I've ever worn. Very pricy but in my opinion they are worth it. They wash and wear well and have held up for a few months now. I do not put them in the dryer and I think that gives them a longer life. The leg grippers are the best I've experienced functional and comfortable. These shorts are also very stylish and good looking. I now have a total of 5 pairs for each matching Jersey.

Reviewed 6/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
sublime
rating
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These bibs fit me so well I feel like they make me a better cyclist. They certainly help me cycle greater distances in comfort. They cost a lot, but the quality does not disappoint. Your lower regions deserve the best shorts you can get, so be good to yourself and don't cheap out! Fit is a personal thing, but the pad shape, texture, and overall construction are perfect for me. A word on sizing. I'm 5'9", 152lbs. I tried to go with a medium, but the bibs were too short for my torso. The shorts were pretty tight too, but I think they would have broken in. I exchanged for a large, and haven't regretted it.

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love them, they run small
rating
by Jeff
utah

Great bib, so comfortable! I normally wear medium and had to return for a large. The large is even slightly small, but I like tighter vs baggier, so I'm super happy. I just ordered a second pair.

Reviewed 8/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable to wear & comfortable on the bike!!
rating
by Mike Hutcheson
Chicagoland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First time with the Progretto X2 seat pad - love it. Went with the compression version of these bibs & they are more work to get on, but after 50 miles of pedaling you can tell a difference.

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs
rating
by Old fart
Il

I think Castilli are great bibs always order a size up these ran a little smaller than normal but they are still great

Reviewed 8/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wonderful bibs!
rating
by PedalOnward
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

They are soo good! I've had a hesitancy ordering Castelli clothing online because everyone always gripes about the sizing. The first pair I bought I did size up. To be clear they still fit and I thought everyone was right but since then I've ordered a couple more bibs in my normal size medium. I'm here to say that you should order your normal size if you feel you have a slimmish build. They are snug. It takes an extra second to pull them into place while getting them on but that is how they're designed to be. The right size feels a million times better once your into a bike ride. The pad is wonderful and probably my favorite I've come across in my cycling life. For reference I'm 5'10" and 160lbs.

Size bought: Medium

Reviewed 3/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Comfort and fit of these bib shorts make me feel like a stronger rider.
rating
by Old Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Coast, FL

These are my third pair of Castelli bib shorts but my first set of Free Aero. They were an upgrade for me but I bought them on sale at a great price. I'm 5'7" at 150 pounds. Like my previous two pairs of Castelli bibs I went with the mediums. Yes, like all Castelli bibs they are really tight when I first put them on but soon after the first ride, they seem to conform to my body. Most of my rides are in the 30 to 50 mile range and the comfort of the Free Aero bibs is really great. The combination of comfort and compression kind of makes me feel like a better sand happier rider.

Reviewed 1/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these
rating
by Anonymous

Order a size bigger than normal, but they are very comfortable, so I bought again

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs
rating
by Old fart
Il

I think Castilli are great bibs always order a size up these ran a little smaller than normal but they are still great

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing
rating
by KC
Seattle area
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These shorts are very well made as well as extremely comfortable even for women.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.