FREE SHIPPING on orders of $50 or more.* Same day shipping before 3PM Pacific.
X
Questions? Call our experts!
1.800.651.4050
Brooks Proofide Tin

BrooksProofide Tin(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(0%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Easy to apply.
rating
by Anonymous

A small amount goes a long way.

Reviewed 9/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
There is no cheap substitute for Proofide.
rating
by Grollend
Amherst, NH

Although it might cost a bit more than any other treatment one could substitute. There is no logical reason to chance something else with such a working piece of traditional bike art. Remember that cheap is one letter away from what you would be left with for poor treatment of your leather saddles. Heap of st.

Reviewed 5/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy
rating
by Wayne
Hugo

I have tried many other brands, when I heard about this.it did exactly what it said it would

Reviewed 10/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
this pruduct is fantastic.
rating
by tony
Cycling Enthusiast
Yuba City

works great

Reviewed 1/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Polishing my Brooks saddle
rating
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

Easy to apply to the leather Books saddle. I just need to remember to do more often to better protect the leather.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saddle care
rating
by douquihar

I purchased this produce, Proofide, when I purchased a Brooks -B17 saddle. I have followed their recommendations and applied a coating after each ride to protect the finish and suppleness of the saddle. The saddle is comfortable and is breaking in nicely. Just shy of 100 miles riding.

Reviewed 11/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
You really need this for a brooks leather saddle.
rating
by John Combs
Trenton, Ohio

You need this to protect your brooks saddle. It is a little expensive. But, so was the saddle. Goes on, no problem. Lasts a decent amount of time before having to apply more.

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The original!
rating
by Old Steel Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Cambridge, MA

It takes a while to break in a Brooks saddle so you want it to last as long as it can. Make sure to read the instructions well - don't wait until the leather is looking thirsty to apply, and don't apply just before you ride. You shouldn't need the big tin unless you're a shop.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect to protect my Brooks Saddle.
rating
by Biker Jeff

Perfect to protect my Brooks Saddle. I wish I had this product for old bike saddles. I probable still have the saddles today.

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works
rating
by Hoosier Al
Cycling Enthusiast
Mishawaka, IN

It is leather conditioner formulated for the Brooks saddles and it does its job.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Essential for Brooks-type saddles, and great for many leather products
rating
by Great Plains Biker
Lincoln NE
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Started using Proofhide decades ago to break-in Brooks saddles, now use it to periodically condition many leather products, including saddles, belts, leather ski gloves, work and snow boots, etc. The smell is an acquired taste ...

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Found a different way to apply this product.
rating
by TTS
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA

I use this product on all my Brooks saddles, top side & underneath, very happy with it. I liquefy it by using a hair dryer on high heat and low speed (to keep the tin from being blown around)...then use a small foam paint brush to paint the underside pretty effectively...then use the blow dryer to help penetration, Can use the same technique on the top side as well. Careful, don't overheat the leather.

Reviewed 1/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I trust Brooks products.
rating
by TTS
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA

There a other products that are used for leather saddles, but I use Brooks' Proofide for its ease of use...been using it for decades and stay with a proven product.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks saddles last 20 to 30 years with proper care. Proofide is the best product to keep the the leather from dryip
rating
by Jeff
Long Beach Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Brooks saddles are full grain leather and thick-they are hard and need proofide to make them soften up for the breaking process. I have 2 Brooks Special saddles and the leather is extra thick. Apply the proofide more the first 2 months until the breakin is complete at about 20 rides. Then use it every few months to keep the leather soft. They will be very comfortable and look great. I have a total of 4 saddles and ride about 100 miles a week with no discomfort They also look great on old vintage Schwinn bikes. Enjoy the ride

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
De Good Stuff
rating
by Tom Catt
Lake Hamilton FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Penatrates good n smells good too !!

Reviewed 12/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
TC n Snoball
rating
by Thomas
Lake hamilton

Penatrates good,, smells good too !!

Reviewed 12/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks Proofide is a must.
rating
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

Easily soaks into the Brooks Saddle and helps with the breaking in process.

Reviewed 10/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product, fast drying, easy to use!
rating
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Ohio

It works great. Easy to use. It helps the saddle wear a little easier, and changes the color a bit. I have about 100 miles on my brooks saddle and I can tell the proofide helps.

Reviewed 5/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This stuff will last a lifetime.
rating
by SteveB
Nashville

Just a few dabs of this on you fingertips will pretty much cover the entire saddle top.

Reviewed 5/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good conditioner to maintain flexibility of saddle
rating
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This Proofide is easy to use. Can be difficult to apply to bottom of saddle due to rails and attachments. Once applied it seems to absorb quickly and dry. No smell like other leather products which is nice. Doing another application this week. Love my Brooks B17.

Reviewed 12/24/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page